贝宁

社区学前班作为普及贝宁初等教育的基石

薇薇安.徐报道

贝宁西囊得, 2010年11月26日– 尽管贝宁遭受了近年来史上最严重的洪灾,今秋有约三分之二的西非国家受到此次洪灾影响,但联合国儿童基金会支持的教育项目在洪灾过后持续蓬勃发展着。

视频:联合国儿童基金会记者薇薇安.徐报道贝宁在近期遭受洪灾影响地区的社区学前班项目。  在Realplayer中播放

 

在贝宁,接受教育是一项挑战。作为世界上最贫困的国家之一,有约一半人口的日均消费在1.25美元以下。

1994年,联合国儿童基金会及贝宁政府发起了以社区为本的学前班项目,旨在为儿童获得初等教育打下基础。该项目发起时有六所学校参与,如今,在指定的偏远区域已落实的学前班项目超过200所。

提高入学率

四岁的瓦赫在贝宁中部的西囊得地区就读于一所这样的学前班。他的父亲,加奈斯.奥若友(Gnansi Orou Yo),以务农为生,非常支持他的儿子获得早期教育的机会。他未曾有过上学的机会,“我的脚从没踏进过校门。”他说。

学前班教育让瓦赫及其他孩子有机会各抒己见,在有益身心成长的环境中培养他们的自我意识及各种能力。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/Benin/2010
4岁的瓦赫和他的家人。他的父亲,加奈斯.奥若友支持儿子接受早期教育的机会。他本人并没有机会上学。

“在联合国儿童基金会支持的这个项目开始之前,贝宁的教育系统非常糟糕。” 联合国儿童基金会驻帕拉库办事处主任贝尔坦.达维德(Bertin Danvide)在提到贝宁的低入学率、高辍学率,以及男孩入学率高于女孩的情况时评价道。这些指标后来都有所改进,使得贝宁有机会按时完成联合国千年发展目标的第二项——在2015年到来之际,对适龄的男孩和女孩普及基础教育。
 
对家长提供额外帮助

并不是只有瓦赫受益于学前班项目。他的母亲,玛玛托. 奥若友(Mamatou Orou Yo) 也获益匪浅,因为该项目还给家长提供能带来收入的活动,如制作牛油等食物。

奥若友女士说,她感到学前班项目给予了她力量:“这些活动带来的收入可以帮助我维持日常生活,同时也能给我的孩子一些津贴,并且有助于培养我的理财能力。”

除了帮助母亲之外,联合国儿童基金会还为贝宁的师生建造厕所、提供教师培训以及教育相关设施和资源。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/Benin/2010
学前班教育让瓦赫及其他孩子有机会各抒己见,在有益身心成长的环境中培养他们的自我意识及各种能力。

贝尔坦.达维德(Bertin Danvide)先生说:“多亏了社区的学前班,一些年纪稍微大一些的孩子,原本在他们的母亲忙着工作时必须承担照顾年幼弟妹的责任,如今也能从中解放出来,继续他们自己的学业。”

降低辍学率

尽管该项目目前取得不少进展,但还有许多工作要做,来保证一些偏远地区的孩子不但能够注册入学,而且不会中途辍学。

贝宁大约有一半人口是儿童。其中,有三分之一是五岁以下的幼童。提供学前教育机会实现他们的个人潜力有至关重要的作用。近期的数据显示,有大约45% 的五岁至十四岁儿童在工作,而不是上学。性别差距,尽管有所减小,但依旧存在。

“现在,上学的男女生比例差距已经降低到10%以下,这是一大进步。”联合国儿童基金会贝宁的教育主任伽瓦思.哈维亚日玛那(Gervais Havyarimana)说,“政府及其合作伙伴正在专注于为全部适龄儿童提供教育,重点关注对象依旧是女孩,但是所有弱势儿童都会被寄予格外关注。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/Benin/2010
基于社区的学前班项目还给家长提供能带来收入的活动,如制作牛油等食物。

尽管教育普及率有所改善,哈维亚日玛那先生提到“保留学生在校不辍学以及提高基础教育的质量依旧是一个问题。”

为未来做好准备

奥若友一家的生活确确实实因社区学前班项目的存在而改善。“这对我的影响是非常积极的。它帮我找到一个地方寄托我的孩子,让我能完成家务然后去做农活”,奥若友女士说,“更重要的事,它能为我的孩子将来上小学打下基础。”

她的丈夫补充道:“因为我们自己没有上学的机会,我们觉得让孩子上学是非常重要的。”

瓦赫的父母脑中已经有了一个更大的目标——让瓦赫成为家族中第一位大学生。


 

 

回到正轨

女童教育倡议官方网站

联合国儿童基金会女童教育倡议的官方网站
UNGEI banner
搜索

Benin

Community pre-schools as building blocks for access to primary education in Benin

By Vivian Siu

SINENDE, Benin, 26 November 2010 – Despite Benin’s worst flooding in recent history, which inundated two-thirds of the West African country this past fall, UNICEF-supported education initiatives here continue to thrive.

VIDEO: UNICEF correspondent Vivian Siu reports on community-based education initiatives in the aftermath of recent massive flooding in Benin.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Access to education is a challenge in Benin, one of the poorest countries in the world, where nearly half the population lives on less than $1.25 a day.

In 1994, UNICEF and the Government of Benin created a community-based pre-school initiative to provide children with a strong foundation for entering primary school. The programme started in six schools; today, there are more than 200 pre-school initiatives targeting remote areas.

Boosting enrolment

Wahi, 4, attends one such pre-school in Sinende, a town in central Benin. His father, Gnansi Orou Yo, a farmer, supports the opportunity for his son to get an early education. For him, going to school wasn’t an option. “I’ve never set foot in a school,” he says.

A pre-school education allows Wahi and other children to express themselves freely, developing their identities and skills in a nurturing environment.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/Benin/2010
Wahi, 4, with his family. His father, Gnansi Orou Yo, supports the opportunity for his son to get an early education. For him, going to school wasn’t an option.

“Before the commencement of this UNICEF-supported programme, the education system in Benin was in a poor state,” says Bertin Danvide, Chief of UNICEF’s office in Parakou, citing low enrolment, high drop-out rates and fewer girls than boys being sent to school. All of these indicators have since improved, and Benin may well be on track to achieve UN Millennium Development Goal 2, which calls for universal access to primary school for boys and girls by the MDGs’ target date of 2015.
 
Additional help for parents

It’s not just Wahi who gains through the pre-school programme. His mother, Mamatou Orou Yo, also benefits, as the initiative provides parents with income-generating activities such as making shea butter and other food items.

Ms. Orou Yo says she feels empowered by the programme “because the profits I get from it help me do some household expenses, give some allowance to my children and help me with financial organization.”

In addition to helping mothers, UNICEF is building latrines, providing more teacher training and supplying educational equipment and resources for students and teachers in Benin.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/Benin/2010
A pre-school education allows Wahi and other children to express themselves freely, developing their identities and skills in a nurturing environment.

“With this community based pre-school, even the older children, who are normally responsible for the day care of children when their mothers are busy, are freed from their household responsibilities and can continue their own education,” says Mr. Danvide.

Reducing drop-out rates

These are sizeable achievements, but more work still needs to be done to reach children in remote areas and make sure they not only enroll in school, but stay there.

Children comprise about half of Benin’s population. One-third of them are under five years of age. Providing a pre-school education is vital for them to develop their full potential. Recent statistics reveal that more than 45 per cent of five to 14-year-olds are working and may not be attending school. And the gender gap, though it has narrowed, remains.

“Now, the gap between the schooling of boys and girls is under 10 per cent, which is significant progress,” says UNICEF Benin’s Chief of Education, Gervais Havyarimana. “The government, with partners, is now focusing on the schooling of all children…. The major focus is still on girls, but also on all vulnerable children.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/Benin/2010
The community-based pre-school initiative also benefits parents, providing income-generating activities such as making shea butter and other items.

While access to schooling has improved, notes Mr. Havyarimana, “there is still a problem of retention of children in school and primary school achievement.”

Preparation for the future

The Orou Yo family have certainly had their lives transformed by the community-based pre-school programme. “It is very positive for me. It’s helped me find a place to keep my children, do my housework [and] go to the farm,” says Ms. Orou Yo. “More importantly, it’s helping prepare my children for primary school.”

Adds her husband: “Since we didn’t have a chance to go to school ourselves, we think it’s important to send our kids to school.”

Already, Wahi’s parents have a bigger goal in mind – for him to be the first member of their family to graduate from university.


 

 

UNGEI website

The site of the United Nations Girls' Education Initiative
UNGEI banner
New enhanced search