基础教育和性别平等

时事

 

联合国会议许诺45亿美元支持“全民教育”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2008/Markisz
来自印度的戴维丽.库马里今年11岁,以前曾是一名童工。在联大高层会议于纽约召开之际,她在“全民教育:2015班”宣传活动的启动仪式上讲话。

洛西尼.卡瓦尔报道

美国纽约, 2008年9月26日–今年11岁的戴维丽.库马里(Devli Kumari)在印度的一个采石场长大并成为一名童工。她不远万里来到纽约联合国总部,出席于本周联大会议期间举办的“全民教育”活动启动仪式并发言。

戴维丽昨天向全神贯注的听众们讲述了她的故事,听众中包括英国首相戈登.布朗、约旦王后拉尼娅、联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.M.维尼曼、流行歌手波诺(Bono)和鲍伯.盖朵夫(Bob Geldof)以及其他出席高层会议的重要人物。

戴维丽说她和她的家人曾经每天都在艰苦的条件下疲劳工作数小时。她经常挨打而且完全无法接受教育。

“我不知道世界上其他的事情,”她回忆说,“我直到四年前获救才看到什么是纸,也是在那时我第一次上了学。现在,我想要学习阅读和写字,长大以后我要成为一名老师。”

新的拨款承诺

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2008/Markisz
约旦王后拉尼娅与澳大利亚首相陆克文及英国首相戈登.布朗会面,并一同出席“全民教育”活动。左起依次为:欧盟主席若泽•曼努埃尔•巴罗佐及全球教育运动主席凯拉什.萨特亚斯。

戴维丽很有可能实现她做老师的梦想 。在她讲话的时候,一组政府和私营部门的合作伙伴许诺筹集45亿美元资金,在今后的三年中为全球1500万儿童提供教育。这些合作伙伴均参加了“全民教育:2015班”宣传活动,而该活动于昨天正式启动。

很多公司如英特尔、微软和思科,国际足联这样的体育协会,以及慈善组织和信仰群体,此外还有澳大利亚、法国、挪威、西班牙、沙特阿拉伯、欧盟和英国政府都做出了承诺。

布朗先生说:“我很荣幸能够访问很多国家,看到教育不仅仅是一种社会的公正和经济的必需,而且是每一个孩子应该享受的权利。”

“我们输不起”
在2000年举办的联合国千年峰会上,世界领导人们承诺到2015年实现小学全民教育。但是8年过去了,整个世界还是没有走上实现千年发展目标的正轨。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.M.维尼曼参加在联合国总部举行的“全民教育:2015班”宣传活动。

目前的挑战包括:约7500万儿童没有上小学 ;超过三分之一已经入学的学生在完成小学教育之前辍学;全球普遍师资短缺。教育领导人都认为目标是可以实现的,但是要实现千年发展目标还有很多的工作要做。

教育领导人都认为目标是可以实现的,但是要实现千年发展目标还有很多的工作要做。

拉尼娅王后说:“学校不仅仅构建生命,学校挽救生命。2015年的目标是可以实现的。这一目标必不可少,也绝不能妥协。这个考验我们输不起。”

教育承诺

作为召开“全民教育”宣传活动的五个机构之一,联合国儿童基金会近年来持续稳定地履行承诺。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2008/Markisz
音乐家、活动家波诺为“全民教育”活动的启动助一臂之力。

联合国儿童基金会的项目重点聚焦在保证女童和男童享有同样的素质教育、消除教育体制中的性别不平等现象、在紧急情况中恢复教育并帮助危机后的过渡国家重建教育体系等。

“全民教育”活动上,联合国秘书长潘基文在发言中说:“我们必须保持这一势头,坚信教育可以促进经济发展和社会进步。受教育使人民蓬勃发展;没有教育,人民将受困于贫穷之中。”

当天早些时候,联合国儿童基金会执行主任参加了另一场探讨了全球疟疾危机的高层会议。她说,在联合国儿童基金会的支持下,撒哈拉以南非洲地区的15个国家自2000年以来蚊帐覆盖率至少翻了5倍。与此同时,比尔和梅琳达盖茨基金会(Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation )许诺提供1.68亿美元用以研发新一代疟疾疫苗 。世界银行也承诺提供10亿美元加强全球对抗疟疾的斗争。


 

 

视频(英文)

2008年9月25日:联合国儿童基金会通讯员洛西尼.卡瓦尔的报道“全民教育:2015届”宣传活动。

 视频  高速 | 低速

英国首相布朗在“全民教育”运动的启动仪式上讲话。

 视频  高速 | 低速

约旦王后拉尼娅谈在2015年前实现全民教育的千年发展目标。

 视频  高速 | 低速

音乐家、活动家波诺重申他对全民平等教育的支持。

 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Basic education and gender equality

UN event features $4.5 billion pledge to support ‘Education for All’

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2008/Markisz
Devli Kumari, 11, a former child labourer from India, speaks at the launch of the ‘Education for All: Class of 2015’ campaign during a high-level meeting held during the UN General Assembly session in New York.

By Roshni Karwal

NEW YORK, USA, 26 September 2008 – Devli Kumari, now 11, came a long way from a stone quarry in India, where she grew up as a child labourer, to United Nations headquarters in New York, where she spoke at the launch of an ‘Education for All’ campaign during the General Assembly session this week.

Devli told her story yesterday to a rapt audience that included UK Prime Minister Gordon Brown, Her Majesty Queen Rania of Jordan, UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman, pop stars Bono and Bob Geldof, and other dignitaries attending the high-level event.

Together with her family, Devli said, she worked for many gruelling hours under harsh conditions every day. She was often beaten and received no access to education.

“I didn’t know what else was in the world,” she recalled. “I had never even seen paper until I was rescued four years ago, and it was then I first went to school. Now, I want to be able to read and write. I want to be a teacher when I grow up.”

Renewed funding commitments

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2008/Markisz
H.M. Queen Rania of Jordan greets Australian PM Kevin Rudd as UK PM Gordon Brown looks on at the ‘Education for All’ event. At left: European Commission President Jose Manuel Barosso and Global Campaign for Education President Kailash Satyarthi.

Devli may well achieve her teaching dream. As she spoke, a group of government and private-sector partners were making a pledge of $4.5 billion to help educate some 15 million children worldwide over the next three years. The partners are participants in, ‘Education for All: Class of 2015’, the campaign launched during yesterday’s event.

The pledge came from corporations such as Intel, Microsoft and Cisco, civic and sports associations such as FIFA, charities, faith groups and the Governments of Australia, France, Norway, Spain, Saudi Arabia, the European Union and the United Kingdom.

“I have had the privilege of visiting so many countries, where in very place I have seen the case for education – not just as a matter of social justice and not just as an economic necessity, but as the right that every child should have as a human being,” said Mr. Brown.

‘We cannot afford to fail’
At the UN Millennium Summit in 2000, world leaders pledged to ensure universal primary education by 2015. But eight years later, the world as a whole is not on track to achieve this Millennium Development Goal.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
UNICEF Executive Director Ann. M. Veneman attends the 'Education for All: Class of 2015' campaign launch at UN headquarters, held as part of the 63rd General Assembly in New York.

Among the remaining challenges: Some 75 million children are still not enrolled in primary school; over a third of students who are enrolled drop out before completing their primary education; and there is a global shortage of teachers.

Education leaders agree that the goal is achievable, but much more needs to be done to reach the MDG target.

“Schools don’t just build lives, they save lives,” said Queen Rania. “Our deadline of 2015 is feasible. It is also indispensable and also non-negotiable. It is a test we cannot afford to fail.”

Commitment to education
UNICEF, one of the five agencies convening the ‘Education for All’ campaign, has steadily increased its commitment to this goal in recent years.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2008/Markisz
Musician-activists Bono and Bob Geldof lend their support to the ‘Education for All’ campaign launch.

 UNICEF’s programmes focus on ensuring the right to quality education for all girls and boys, eliminating gender disparities in education, restoring learning in emergency situations and helping to rebuild education systems in post-crisis transition countries.

“We have to build on this momentum, on the conviction that education can drive economic and social progress,” UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon said in a statement presented at the ‘Education for All’ event. “With an education, people flourish. Without, they remain trapped in poverty.”

Earlier in the day, UNICEF’s Executive Director attended another high-level event – this one addressing the global malaria crisis. With support from UNICEF, she noted, 15 countries across sub-Saharan Africa have shown at least a five-fold increase in bed net coverage since 2000. At the same event, the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation pledged $168 million to develop next-generation malaria vaccines. The World Bank also committed $1 billion to boost the fight against malaria.

 


 

 

Video

25 September 2008: UNICEF correspondent Roshni Karwal reports on 'Education for All: Class of 2015', a United Nations High Level Event on the Millennium Development Goals.
 VIDEO  high | low

UK Prime Minister Gordon Brown speaks at the 'Education for All' campaign launch at UN headquarters.
 VIDEO  high | low

H.M. Queen Rania of Jordan speaks about the commitment to achieving Education for All by 2015.
 VIDEO  high | low

Musician and activist Bob Geldof reaffirms his support for equal access to education for all children.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

Reporters' Roundtable

Listen to a Voice of America programme with UNICEF Chief of Education Dr. Cream Wright discussing 'Education for All' in Africa.
AUDIO listen

UNICEF-EU Partnership

New enhanced search