阿富汗

阿富汗妇女扫盲中心将知识和新的工作重点带到偏远地区

法丽达.阿亚里报道

阿富汗尼里,2010年10月11日-在阿富汗偏远的Daikundi省的省会尼里, 约30名女孩和妇女们坐在一个小房间里,她们的年龄从12岁至70岁不等。其中有些人带着孩子来上课,这是她们第一次学习识字。

视频:联合国儿童基金会就阿富汗妇女扫盲中心帮助教育偏远地区的妇女进行了报道。 在Realplayer中播放

24岁的拉兹亚(Razia)说她读不懂路标,她回忆说:“在我参加扫盲课程以前,我每次去医院都走错方向。医生不得不给我指路。没有文化让我感到很羞愧。”

感谢联合国儿童基金会支持的妇女扫盲中心,拉兹亚现在可以识字了,也不再迷路了。

学习的热情

两位妇女在练习拼写的时候,一个小男孩在旁边好奇地观看。不远处,19岁的教师诺利亚(Nouria)在教授生活技能。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Afghanistan/2010/Beard
19岁的诺利亚是阿富汗偏远的Daikundi省省会尼里的妇女扫盲中心的一名年轻教师。

诺利亚说:“我们的学生都是在他们居住的地方登记的,他们从很远的地方过来。” 她在强调学生学习的热情时说:“这些妇女说她们不想再像过去那样做文盲了。”

国家风险和脆弱性报告估计(2007-2008),全国成人识字率大约是26% – 其中女性的识字率是12%,男性是39%。 在像Daikundi省这样的农村地区,情况更加糟糕。据估计,93%的成人(大多数为女性)缺乏基本的读写技能。

这个拥有50万人口的省是联合国儿童基金会工作的重点地区,那里的国际性和国家级的非政府机构稀缺。教育偏远地区妇女的工作是帮助最弱势人口的全球努力的一部分,也有助于在2015年前实现联合国千年发展目标,即一系列国际公认的减贫的目标。

对家庭的影响

Daikundi省成立了将近125个妇女扫盲中心。在教育部的监管下,这些中心大约招收了3750名少女和妇女。每个9个月的扫盲课程都招收约30名学生。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Afghanistan/2010/Beard
妇女和她们的孩子在阿富汗尼里的妇女扫盲中心上课。

在Daikundi省,联合国儿童基金会为妇女扫盲中心里所有的学生和老师提供学习材料和课本,并为教室配备黑板和地毯等设备。联合国儿童基金会还资助并组织定期的教师培训。

课上提供的信息被带回到妇女们的家里,从而向各个社区渗透新的理念。

诺利亚说:“通过我的课程,我教育这些妇女在家里改变行为习惯。过去,他们如果想出门的话,会遭打丈夫的毒打。但是现在,丈夫们允许她们参加这些课程,因为她们可以学到有用的生活技能。”

改变工作的重点

对儿童的影响也是显而易见的。

23岁拉赫马(Rahima)说:“当家里的妇女们知道如何阅读和写字以后,她们的孩子们可以跟她们学。孩子们觉得如果妈妈这样做,这肯定是一件好事,我也要这样做。”

Daikundi省教育部的主管阿卜杜勒.瓦希德.瓦塞奇(Abdul Waheed Vasseq)说,妇女扫盲中心改变了这个偏远地区的很多人的想法,因为越来越多的社区成员开始重视教育。

他说:“参加这些扫盲课程的家长们开始送她们的孩子去学校。虽然有经济上的困难,他们也明白教育的重要性并决定努力资助自己的孩子受教育。”


 

 

搜索

Afghanistan

Afghan Female Literacy Centres bring knowledge and new priorities to remote areas

By Farida Ayari

NILI, Afghanistan, 11 October 2010 – Around 30 girls and women ranging in age between 12 and 70 sit in a small room in Nili, the capital of Afghanistan’s remote Daikundi province. Some have brought their children to the class, where they are learning to read for the first time.

Video: UNICEF reports on Female Literacy Centres that are helping to educate women in remote regions of Afghanistan.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

“Before I had enrolled in this literacy course, I mistakenly strayed in the wrong direction each time I was visiting a hospital,” recalled Razia, 24, who said she couldn’t read the street signs. “A doctor had to show me the correct way. I was so embarrassed of being uneducated,” she added.

Thanks to the Female Literacy Centre, which receives support from UNICEF, Razia can now read – and doesn’t get lost anymore.

Enthusiasm for learning

A little boy observes with curiosity as two older women work at practicing spelling. Nearby, Nouria, a 19-year-old teacher, teaches life skills.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Afghanistan/2010/Beard
Nouria, 19, is a young teacher at a Female Literacy Centre in Nili, the capital of Afghanistan's remote Daikundi province.

“Our students were registered in their area and they come from far,” said Nouria. Emphasizing her students’ enthusiasm to learn, she added: “These women say that they do not want to remain blind as they were in the past.”

According to the National Risk and Vulnerability Report (2007-2008), the estimated national adult literacy rate is approximately 26 per cent – 12 per cent for women and 39 per cent for men. In rural areas such as Daikundi province, the situation is more acute with an estimated 93 per cent of adults, mostly women, lacking basic reading and writing skills.

This province, with a population of 500,000, is a priority area for UNICEF, where the presence of international and national non-government agencies is scarce. Work toward educating women in remote regions is part of a global push to reach the most vulnerable and ultimately to achieve the United Nations Millennium Development Goals – a set of internationally recognized targets for reducing poverty – by the year 2015.

Influence on families

Almost 125 Female Literacy Centers (FLCs) have been established in Daikundi. Some 3,750 young girls and women are enrolled in these centres, which are supervised by the Department of Education. Around 30 students are enrolled in each nine-month literacy course.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Afghanistan/2010/Beard
Women, many with their children, attend a class at Female Literacy Centre in Nili, Afghanistan.

In Daikundi province, UNICEF provides learning materials and textbooks to all students and teachers in the FLCs, in addition to supplying classroom material such as black board and floor mats. UNICEF also sponsors and organizes periodic trainings for teachers.

Information from the courses also filters back to the women’s families, infusing new ideas into communities.

“Through my lessons, I teach these women to change their behaviours within their family,” said Nouria. “In the past, they would be beaten by their husbands if they tried to go out, but now the husbands allow them to attend these courses as they learn useful life skills.”

Changing priorities

And the impact on children is palpable, as well.

“When women in the family know how to read and write, children can learn from them,” said Rahima, 23. “Children feel that if my mother does this, it is a good thing and I will do the same.”

Head of the Education Department in Daikundi Abdul Waheed Vasseq said that the FLCs have changed many people’s thinking in this remote area, with more community members valuing prioritizing education. 

“Parents who participate in these literacy courses have begun to send their children to school,” he said. “Despite their financial problems, they have understood the importance of education and have decided to work hard to fund their children’s education.”


 

 

New enhanced search