东帝汶

在东帝汶,联合国儿童基金会与东帝汶政府一起重建教育体系

斯蒂夫.内托顿报道

2011 年 5 月 13 日,东帝汶拉克拉巴 – 在亚洲最为贫穷国家之一——东帝汶连绵的山脊之上,偏远村庄拉克拉巴的孩子们动身去学校。这里的一切都显得那么宁静、恬然。葱茏的树冠仿佛在遮掩曾经灰色的历史。现在一切已经开始走向光明。

视频:2011 年 5 月 13 日 – 联合国儿童基金会报道东帝汶如何努力重建其教育体系。 在Realplayer中播放

事实上,13 岁的马达来娜.索尔斯能够回到课堂,无形中演绎了一个本地与国际成功合作的故事。她不仅仅是一名学生,也是学校学生会的主席。尽管课堂的条件有些艰苦 – 地板是大地、墙壁是竹墙。但是,很多其它房间的条件相对来说还不错。

马达来娜所在的学校和社区位于拉克拉巴的巴塔拉——该地区受 1999 年东帝汶公投后,从印尼独立出来的影响非常大。公投后,亲印尼派与独立派发生暴力冲突,迫使成千上万的东帝汶人民背井离乡。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
13 岁的马达来娜.索尔斯在拉克拉巴的小学中。东帝汶政府与联合国儿童基金会一起重建整个教育体系。

从零开始重建

巴塔拉公立小学的前校长费尔南达.德.阿梅达解释说:“1999 年,很多人,包括孩子,都逃走了。我们住在山里——孩子们、家长们。当我们回来时,很多学生并没有重返校园。”拉克拉巴的校园满目疮痍——没有房顶、没有桌椅。

本地学校的负责人们以此为己任,启动了重修校园活动。他们找回了以前的教师,同时动员社区为学校做力所能及的投入。

“家长们贡献了桌子、椅子以及其他能让学校正常开展工作的小东西。”前家长教师联合会主席雷蒙多.索尔斯回忆说:“社区在重建学校的过程中显示了极强的意愿并发挥了巨大的作用,因为他们觉得这个事情对孩子们有益。”

在这样一个新国家,教育现状差强人意。在首都帝力,很多人背井离乡,很多学校建筑被毁。

东帝汶教育部长若昂.坎西奥.弗雷塔斯回忆说,在公投后,大约有 80% 的基础设施遭到了毁坏。“说到教师资源,那个时候,80% 的老师是印尼人或者准备加入印尼国籍的东帝汶人。学生们被无情地抛弃了。我们只能从零开始。”他补充说。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
在东帝汶拉克拉巴,学生们排队领取学校午餐。除了普通的课程,这里也教育孩子们该如何宽容和相互尊重。

宽容教育

尽管面临如此巨大的挑战,东帝汶政府与联合国儿童基金会紧密合作,从头开始重建整个教育体系。在联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴的帮助下,东帝汶重新研发了课程、复课并且培训了数千名教师。

作为教育策略的一部分,东帝汶的学校不仅仅教授基本的知识,而且锻炼学生宽容、相互尊重以及与他人和平相处的能力。

联合国儿童基金会教育专家安妮特.尼奎斯特说:“课程的要素包括和平教育、公民教育和人权,这样我们的下一代会了解人权的概念,他们能够知道如何与人协作。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
学生们在东帝汶拉克拉巴的课堂中。所有为儿童友好(Child-friendly) 理念所作的努力,唤起了父母以及本地社区在教育方面投入更多关注。

根据联合国儿童基金会倡导的儿童友好学校教育模式,这个保护伞似的方法能够提供高质量的教育。而且,这个体系鼓励孩子和社区更加积极主动地加入到教育的环节中。

巴塔拉公立小学是东帝汶 40 所儿童友好学校教育计划中的一所学校。老师们参加了相关的培训,努力为孩子们营造一个更加包容的学习环境,孩子们在这里可以更自由地参与课堂活动。

教育势在必行

对孩子、父母以及社区的负责人来讲,重建东帝汶教育体系为拉克拉巴这样的边远社区提供了机会。

“教育不仅仅教授知识,同时也教授技能,是我们发展进程的一部分。”弗雷塔斯先生说:“教育对我们这个国家而言 – 势在必行!”


 

 

回到正轨

搜索

At a glance: Timor-Leste

In Timor-Leste, UNICEF joins government child-friendly efforts to rebuild education

By Steve Nettleton

LACLUBAR, Timor-Leste, 13 May 2011 – High along the mountainous spine of Timor-Leste, one of Asia’s poorest countries, children in the remote town of Laclubar head for class. Yet the tranquil setting of this quiet place, nestled under the canopy of tall trees, masks a darker history that is only now beginning to fade.

VIDEO: 13 May 2011 - UNICEF reports on Timor-Leste's efforts to rebuild its education system.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

The fact that Madalena Soares, 13, can come to class at all represents a success story of local and international cooperation. She is not only a student, but a leader, serving as president of her school’s student council. Her classroom is not ideal – a floor of earth and walls of stitched bamboo. But most other rooms here are in better condition.

Madalena’s school and community in Batara in Laclubar suffered heavily following Timor-Leste’s referendum to become independent from Indonesia in 1999. Then, pro-Indonesian militias retaliated with a wave of torching and killing, forcing hundreds of thousands of Timorese to flee their homes.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Madalena Soares, 13, at her school in Laclubar. The Government of Timor-Leste teamed up with UNICEF to rebuild its entire education system.

Rebuilding from scratch

“In 1999, all the people, including children, were scattered,” explained Fernanda de Almeida, former Principal of Batara Public Primary School. “We were in the mountains – students, parents. When we came back, many students did not go back to school.” The school buildings in Laclubar were left in ruins, with no roof, desks or chairs.

A group of local school leaders took matters into their own hands, launching an effort to restore the school. They sought out other former teachers to return to class, and mobilized the community to pitch in however they could.

“The parents also contributed by supplying chairs, tables and other small things that are needed for the school to function,” recalled Raimundo Soares, former Parent Teacher Association President at Batara Public Primary School. “The community showed their greatest interest and willingness to re-establish the schools because they wanted something good for their children.”

Across the new nation, the education situation was dire. In the capital, Dili, much of the population had fled, and many school buildings had been set alight.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Pupils line up for their school lunch in Laclubar, Timor-Leste. In addition to typical subjects, children are taught tolerance and mutual respect.

João Câncio Freitas, Timor-Leste’s Minister of Education said 80 per cent of infrastructure was burned or destroyed as a result of the referendum. “In terms of teachers, 80 per cent of the teachers at that time were Indonesian or Timorese who decided to join Indonesia. The students left abruptly. So we had to start from scratch,” he said.

Teaching tolerance

Faced with this enormous challenge, the Government of Timor-Leste teamed up with UNICEF to rebuild its entire education system from the ground up. In collaboration with UNICEF and partners, it has developed a new curriculum, continues to rehabilitate schools and trains thousands of teachers.

Part of its strategy in Timor-Leste involves making schools a place that teach not only basic knowledge, but skills such as tolerance, mutual respect and the ability to live peacefully with others.

“One element of the curriculum includes peace education, civic education and human rights, so the next generation will have the basic principles of human rights, and how to work together and provide support to each other,” said UNICEF Education Specialist Annette Nyquist.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Pupils at school in Laclubar, Timor-Leste. Child-friendly efforts are resulting in parents and local communities having greater involvement in education.

This umbrella approach to delivering high-quality education follows UNICEF’s child-friendly schooling model. Among other aspects, it encourages both children and the community to become more involved in the education process.

Batara Public Primary School is one of nearly 40 schools across Timor-Leste implementing the child-friendly school programme. The teachers here are taught to create a more inclusive learning environment, where students feel freer to participate in their lessons.

‘Education a must’

For children, parents and community leaders, efforts to rebuild Timor-Leste’s education system provide an opportunity to reach more marginalized communities, such as Laclubar.

“Education is not only for educating people but also to provide skills for them to… prepare themselves to be part of the development process,” said Mr. Freitas. “Education is a must for a country like us.”


 

 

New enhanced search