泰国

联合国儿童基金会为泰国山地部落的儿童带去学校

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Thailand/2008/Thomas
教师阿提雅.吉娜王与她的两个学生在泰国的班董玛斐学校。 虽然山地部落的学校缺乏大学校里的设施,但是他们通过密切的师生与家长关系弥补了设施的不足。

纳塔.坎纳潘报道

泰国班湄苏林诺伊,2008年12月17日 — 在泰国湄宏顺省的高地,有一座新落成的三间房建筑。 房子很简陋,由粗木板地面、部分竹子墙壁和铁皮屋顶构成。  然而,它为这一地区的孩子们提供了前所未有的正规小学教育。

班湄苏林诺伊小学的20名学生都是凯伦族 – 属于泰国山地部落的一支。  在这所学校建成以前,这些孩子没有接受正规教育的地方。

这所小学是西北省新建的17所学校中的一个。 这些新学校是在联合国儿童基金会的支持下,由泰国教育部执行的一个项目。

为儿童带去学校

这个项目始于2005年,当时联合国儿童基金会支持的一项调查发现,该地区山地部落有一千多名儿童没上小学。 这第一份调查结果引起了对其它地区进行的调查,所有调查都显示出类似的结果。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Thailand/2008/Thomas
孩子们在教室里锻炼身体、唱歌和跳舞。 由于山地部落学校的资源有限,不同年龄的儿童在一起上课。

湄宏顺省教育服务助理主任苏拉凡.苏伯法克(Suraphan Suebfak)说:“我们翻过一座又一座山,挨家挨户敲门,看看孩子们是否在上学。”

调查发现,家长不让孩子上学的原因是学校离家太远。 这些偏僻的山地部落没有畅通的道路,难以专门为孩子们搭建适当的设施。

不过,教育工作者当时决定,如果儿童不能来学校,就将学校带到他们那里。

联合国儿童基金会驻泰国教育主任让森.韦布努帕吐姆(Rangsun Wiboonuppatum)说:“最重要的事情是让孩子们上学,并带领他们学习。”

小学教育至关重要

今年,在这17所新学校中,共有41名教师为472名小学生上课,将近一半的教师是来自山地部落的少数民族,他们可以讲泰语和少数民族语言。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Thailand/2008/Thomas
在泰国坤炎区一个偏远的凯伦族村落班湄苏林诺伊,崇尼卡.麦克斯穂等待上课。

山地学校的目的是确保所有的学生都能读写泰文,并掌握基本的数学运算。同时,还教育学生要明智地使用自然资源,以保护环境,并维护他们民族的传统和文化。

“让山地部落儿童接受小学教育,学习泰文和基础算术至关重要,”让森说:“没有这些基本技能,他们将很难与其他泰国人交流,长大以后也很难谋生。  现在一些孩子已经能帮他们的父母在看病时与医生或护士沟通。”

12岁的六年级学生布颂(Boonsong)说:“我很高兴我们现在有了新学校,我们可以每天上学了。 以前,老师不来的时候,我们常常就玩一整天或帮父母在田里干农活。”

布颂计划将他的学业继续到大学程度,并希望将来成为一名教师,以帮助新一代的儿童。


 

 

搜索

Thailand

UNICEF brings schools to Thai hill tribe children

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Thailand/2008/Thomas
Teacher Atiya Jinawong with two of her students at the Baan Dong Mafai School in Thailand. While the hill tribe schools lack the facilities of larger schools, they make up for it through the close relationships between teachers, students and families.

By Nattha Keenapan

BAN MAE SURIN NOI, Thailand, 17 December 2008 – In the highlands of Thailand's Mae Hong Son province there is a newly constructed three-room structure. It is a simple building, made of rough plank floors, partial bamboo walls and a tin roof, but it offers the children in the area something they did not have before: a formal primary education.

The 20 children who attend the Baan Mae Surin Noi School are ethnic Karens – members of Thailand's hill tribes - and all of them lacked a place to receive a formal education before the school was built.

The school is one of 17 new schools in the northwestern province of Thailand that are being operated by the Ministry of Education under a UNICEF-supported project.

Bringing the schools to the children

The project began in 2005, when a UNICEF-supported survey found that more than a thousand children from the region's hill tribes were not attending primary school. The initial survey findings led to surveys in other districts, all of which had similar findings.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Thailand/2008/Thomas
Children exercise, dance and sing in their classrooms. Due to limited resources in the hill tribe schools, children from different age groups learn together.

"We walked house to house, mountain to mountain, and knocked on every door to see if the children were in school or not," said Mae Hong Son Education Service Assistant Director Suraphan Suebfak.

The surveys found that parents were keeping their children home because the schools were too far away. And the remoteness of the hill tribes, coupled with inadequate roads, made it difficult to build proper facilities specifically for them.

But educators decided then that if the children couldn't come to the schools, they would bring the schools to the children. 

"The most important thing is to get children into school and to get them learning," said UNICEF Thailand Chief of Education Rangsun Wiboonuppatum.

Primary education is crucial

This year, there are 41 teachers instructing 472 primary students in the 17 new schools. Almost half of the teachers are themselves from ethnic hill tribes and speak both Thai and ethnic languages.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Thailand/2008/Thomas
Chonnika Mekseesuay waits for school to start in Baan Mae Surin Noi, a remote Karen village in Khunyuam district, Thailand.

The goals for the hill tribe schools are to ensure that all the students are able to read and write Thai, and do basic mathematics. The students are also taught to use natural resources wisely in order to protect their environment, and to preserve their ethnic traditions and culture.

"It is crucial for hill tribe children to get a primary education and to learn Thai and basic math," Rangsun said. "Without these basic skills, it is very difficult for them to communicate with other people in Thailand and to earn a living when they grow up. Some of the children are now able to help their parents communicate with doctors or nurses when they go to hospitals."

"I'm glad that we have our own school now," said Boonsong, age 12, a Grade 6 student. "Now we get to come to school every day. In the past whenever the teacher wasn't here, we usually just played all day or helped our parents in the fields."

Boonsong plans to continue his studies at the university level, and wants to become a teacher so that he can help a new generation of children.


 

 

New enhanced search