塔吉克斯坦

全球经济衰退使塔吉克农村地区的困境进一步恶化

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Video
在塔吉克斯坦偏远的拉什特山谷,各家各户几乎完全依赖在俄罗斯打工的家人寄回来的汇款。塔吉克男人们在那里从事建筑行业的工作,但是经济的衰退意味着工作和薪水越来越少。

彼得.乔治报道

塔吉克斯坦杜尚别,2009年7月29日 – 很难找到一个比塔吉克斯坦的拉什特山谷更美丽的地方,那里看上去土地富饶,人们辛勤劳作。但是外表往往是一种假象。

 点击此处观看视频

萨夫利宁索.哈飞佐娃(Savrinisso Hafizova)是一名致力改善当地山区妇女儿童健康的医生。她说:“大家都在忙着耕种,但是土壤里的矿物质已经不多了。因为拉什特山谷是山区,冬天有很多降雨和降雪。雨水和雪水把铁和碘这样的矿物质都冲走了。”

这样的结果是,当地人的饮食中含有的微量元素偏低,而微量元素是促进健康的身心发展所必需的。贫血和甲状腺肿大的发病率极高,给人们的生活带来极大的影响。

新的困境

现在,拉什特山谷的居民要面对一个新的严酷的现实——全球经济危机。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Video
塔吉克妇女在当地的市场上购买加碘盐。碘缺乏导致拉什特山谷居民患甲状腺肿大的几率很高。

生活在距离首都杜尚别四小时车程的偏远地区,这个山谷的居民们几乎完全依赖在俄罗斯打工的家人寄回来的汇款。数十万的塔吉克男人在那里从事建筑行业的工作。

当地居民收入的95%都来自于这些汇款。但是因为俄罗斯和其他国家一样正努力应对金融衰退,汇款已经基本出现了停滞。

对教育的影响

很多父母因为贫困而被迫让孩子辍学,以使家里的收支平衡。(根据本周的新闻报道,考虑到目前形势的严重性,塔吉克斯坦总统建议人们囤积粮食预防饥荒。)

母亲罗拉.卡耶丽娃(Lola Khayrieva)说:“我丈夫在俄罗斯工作了一年,做焊接工。有两次他只给家里寄回100美元。他没有再寄过钱,因为他说俄罗斯正发生金融危机。”

结果,卡耶丽娃女士让她的大女儿到牧场去放家里的牛,但其实她更想送女儿上学。

她说:“我希望我的孩子们长大后身体健康、受教育并且找一份好工作。我希望他们的生活能过的充实。”

联合国儿童基金会做表率

拉什特山谷收到的汇款具体减少了多少还不得而知。然而,塔基克斯坦全国的数据显示汇款减少了30%;而拉什特汇款减少的幅度可能更高。

联合国基金会杜尚别办事处的主管高宏伟表达了他对山谷居民的关切。

她说:“我们要加大对儿童的支持。我们想帮助更多的儿童,尤其是住在拉什特山谷的儿童,因为这一地区非常依赖汇款。”

联合国儿童基金会通过支持一个减少山谷地区人口甲状腺肿大病例的项目做了表率。通过使用联合国儿童基金会提供的检测工具包,当地医生可以教妇女们如何检验盐的含碘量。甲状腺肿大是由碘缺乏造成的。

当然,这仅仅是个开始。随着从俄罗斯寄来的汇款逐月减少、市场价格飙升 、当地就业市场愈加萎缩。眼下这个丰收的季节仅仅是个假象,它掩盖了今后工作的紧迫性和严峻性。


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会的彼得.乔治就经济衰退给塔吉克家庭和儿童造成压力进行了报道。
 视频  

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Tajikistan

Global economic downturn worsens already harsh conditions for rural Tajiks

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Video
In Tajikistan's isolated Rasht Valley, families rely almost entirely on remittances sent back from Russia, where Tajik men work in the construction industry - but the economic downturn means less work and fewer paychecks.

By Peter George

DUSHANBE, Tajikistan, 29 July 2009 – It would be hard to find a more beautiful region than Tajikistan's Rasht Valley. It looks like a land of plenty, its people tilling the soil and herding cattle. But appearances are deceptive.

VIDEO: Watch now

"People are busy planting, but the soil is not rich in minerals," says Savrinisso Hafizova, a doctor dedicated to improving the health of women and children in the valley. "Because the Rasht Valley is very mountainous and there's a lot of rain and [also] snow in winter, it washes away all the minerals like iron and iodine."

The result is a diet low in the micronutrients that are needed for healthy physical and mental development – and desperately high rates of afflictions such as anaemia and goitre, which blight people's lives.

New hardships

And now the people of the Rasht Valley have a new harsh reality to confront – the global economic crisis.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Video
Tajik women shop for iodized salt at a local market. Iodine deficiency has led to high rates of goitre in the Rasht Valley.

Living in an isolated region four hours' drive from the capital, Dushanbe, the valley's population relies almost entirely on remittances sent back from Russia, where hundreds of thousands of Tajik men work in the construction industry.

Up to an estimated 95 per cent of the region's income is derived from these remittances. But the revenue flow has all but stopped, as Russia, like the rest of the world, tries to cope with the financial downturn.

Impact on education

More impoverished than ever, many parents have been forced to take their children out of school to try and make ends meet. (In a sign of the severity of the situation, Tajikistan's president advised people to stock up on food to protect themselves from starvation, according to news reports this week.)

"My husband's worked is Russia for a year as a welder," says one mother, Lola Khayrieva. "And twice, he's sent just $100 home. He hasn't sent more because he says there's a financial crisis in Russia."

As a result, Ms. Khayrieva now sends her eldest daughter into the pastures to graze the family cow, even though she would rather send her to school.

"I want my children to be healthy in the future, to be well educated and to find a good job and career. I want them to be fulfilled in their lives," she says.

UNICEF makes a start

No one knows yet just how far remittances have fallen in the Rasht Valley. However, figures for the whole of Tajikistan suggest a reduction of perhaps 30 per cent; the figure in the valley itself is expected to be far higher.

The head of UNICEF's office in Dushanbe, Hongwei Gao, expresses particular concern for the valley's inhabitants.

"We would like to beef up our support to children," she says. "We would like to support more children, particularly in the Rasht Valley, because that is a region heavily dependent on remittances."

UNICEF has made a start by supporting a programme to reduce the incidence of goitre amongst the valley's population. Using a small testing kit supplied by UNICEF, a local doctor is teaching women how to test the salt they buy in the markets for iodine. Goitre is caused by iodine deficiency.

It's no more than a start, of course, but with remittances from Russia now falling month after month, market prices soaring and local jobs ever more scarce, the bountiful season merely disguises the urgency and the magnitude of the task that lies ahead.


 

 

Video

UNICEF's Peter George reports on how the economic downturn is putting pressure on Tajik families and children.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search