塔吉克斯坦

“儿童对儿童”试点项目为塔吉克斯坦学生做入学准备

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF / Tajikistan / 2009
在塔吉克斯坦卢达吉区第40小学,一名小老师在教年龄更小的学生动物的名字。

塔吉克斯坦鲁米区,2009年1月29日 – 在学前儿童教育不太常见的塔吉克斯坦,一个名为“做好上学准备:一种儿童对儿童的方式”的新举措正在学龄前儿童中展开。

这个试点项目由联合国儿童基金会支持,旨在通过建立幼儿与年龄较大的儿童的社会关系纽带,并考虑到他们爱玩的天性,为幼儿上小学一年级做好准备。

该项目让四年级的小学生和五、六岁的孩子配对,在每周的课程中,由大孩子组织促进发展基本技能的活动,如语言和听力、社会合作、计数、识别字母和写字等。

当地早期儿童教育专家默林尼索.瓦里克赫加瓦(Mehrinisso Valikhojaeva)说:“家长们常因价格问题被已有的为数不多的学前班拒之门外。政府无法承担为每个乡村设立大型苏联式幼儿园。”

据瓦里克赫加瓦女士所说,儿童对儿童的方式为加强小学的准备工作提供了另外一种方法,可以用来满足农村地区现有的需求。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF / Tajikistan / 2009
卢达吉区第40小学的孩子们课间在做一种转圈的游戏。

进展巨大

参与项目的教师对该项目的成果表示欣喜。

一位管理第33小学“儿童对儿童”班的教师说:“我开始并不确定项目是否能够成功,毕竟这只是孩子在教其他孩子。但是,几个星期之后,我就看到了这些小孩子的进步是多么大。这些小孩子刚来学校时,一般连铅笔都不会拿。现在他们已经知道如何数数、如何读一些字母和数字。我希望参加过这个项目的孩子明年到我的班里来上课。”

其他教师也注意到,这个项目正在培养小老师们的领导能力,同时巩固和加强了他们已学的知识和应用教学材料的能力。

效果自彰

在对鲁米农村地区一所学校的访问中,发现该举措的初步成绩已经显而易见。

课堂上,小孩子们兴奋地数着石子和松果,再将它们与数字卡片对应起来,然后向他们的小老师报告结果。四年级的小老师们积极地调动他们的兴趣、鼓励参与并耐心地指出他们的错误。

每个班由20至30名小孩子组成,由参加过联合国儿童基金会资助的“儿童对儿童”方式培训课程的四年级教师管理。他们将在进入2009年秋季学年时,成为一年级的老师。

提供机会

塔吉克斯坦的早期教育机会严重不足,全国只有9%的儿童接受学前教育。儿童在七岁上小学一年级时,大部分没有成功参与和继续小学教育所需要的认知和社交技能。

自2008年秋季开始,联合国儿童基金会在20所学校开展“做好上学准备”的项目,使用“儿童对儿童”的方法,推动早期儿童教育,为一千多名幼儿做好入学准备。

该项目的影响力延伸到学校的管理者,他们报告说,对小学生的需要有了一个新的认识。

第50小学的校长绍米尔奏夫.乌米德(Shomirzoev Umed)说:“知道了‘儿童对儿童’的方式之后,我发现小孩子的学习需要与大孩子的不同。传统的老师对学生的教学法即使对大孩子行之有效,也可能不适用于小孩子。”

初步结果

该项目是由教育部监督,并由联合国儿童基金会与当地早期儿童教育专家合作支持的。

根据第一次基本评估的初步结果预示,该试点项目成为全国性项目的潜力很大,国家和地区官员、教师、学校管理者、学生和家长都认识到早期教育机会的必要性。

联合国儿童基金会提供了所有材料,它们被翻译成塔吉克语,并适应当地的文化。

同辈教育在塔吉克斯坦已经显示出巨大的潜力。联合国儿童基金会致力于支持更多像“儿童对儿童”这样的项目,以在全世界范围内推动千年发展目标。


 

 

搜索

Tajikistan

Getting ready for school in Tajikistan with the ‘Child-to-Child’ pilot programme

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF / Tajikistan / 2009
A young facilitator teaches the names of animals to a younger student in school no. 40 in Rudaki District in Tajikistan.

RUMI DISTRICT, Tajikistan, 29 January 2009 – A new initiative called ‘Getting Ready for School: A Child-to-Child Approach’ is being used for pre-school students in Tajikistan, where early childhood education is typically not an option.

The UNICEF-supported pilot project aims to prepare young children for their first year in primary school by building on the social dynamics that exist between older and younger children, as well as their natural tendency to play.

The project matches Grade four students with five- and six-year-olds in weekly sessions during which the older children facilitate activities that develop basic skills such as language and listening, social cooperation, counting, alphabet recognition, and writing.

“Parents are often priced-out of the few pre-schools that do exist,” says local early childhood education expert, Mehrinisso Valikhojaeva.  “The Government cannot afford to build the traditional, large Soviet-style preschools in every rural village.” 

According to Ms. Valikhojaeva, Child-to-Child provides an alternative approach to strengthening primary school preparation that could be used to meet existing needs in rural areas.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF / Tajikistan / 2009
Children at school no. 40 in Rudaki District play a circle game during a break in their studies.

Tangible Progress

Participating teachers are enthusiastic about the results of the programme.

“At first I wasn’t sure that the programme would work since it is only children teaching other children, but after the first few weeks, I can already see how much progress the younger ones have made,” said a teacher supervising a Child-to-Child classroom at School No. 33. “Normally when children first come to school, they cannot even hold a pencil. These children already know how to count, and how to read some letters and numbers. I hope to have children who have gone through this programme in my class next year.”

Other teachers have observed that the programme is helping develop leadership skills among the Young Facilitators. It also consolidates and strengthens their knowledge of and ability to apply the academic material they have already learned.

Speaking for itself

The initial success of the initiative spoke for itself on a visit to a school in the rural Rumi District.

In the classroom, young children enthusiastically counted pebbles and pine cones, matched them to numbered cards and reported their findings to their instructors. The instructors – grade four students known as Young Facilitators – eagerly engaged their interest, encouraging participation and gently correcting their mistakes.

Classes comprised of 20-30 children are supervised by grade four teachers who have attended UNICEF-funded training courses on the Child-to-Child approach.  They will become grade one teachers of the young learners when they enter school in fall 2009. 

Providing Opportunities

Early education opportunities in Tajikistan are severely limited as only nine per cent of children attend pre-school nationwide. Children enter grade one at age seven, and most arrive without the cognitive and social skills so critical for successful participation and retention in primary education.

Since the fall of 2008, UNICEF has supported ‘Getting Ready for School’ in 20 schools, where the Child-to-Child approach is used to jumpstart early childhood education preparation for more than 1,000 young children. 

The programme’s impact extends to school administrators, who report having a new appreciation of the needs of young learners. 

 “After being exposed to the Child-to-Child approach, I see that younger children have different learning needs than older children,” said Shomirzoev Umed, the Principal of School No. 50, “The traditional teacher-student pedagogy may not work with young children even though it is good for older children.”

Initial results

The programme is overseen by the Ministry of Education and supported by UNICEF in cooperation with local experts in early childhood education.

According to the first baseline evaluation, initial results bode well for its potential as a national-level programme, given the recognition of the need for early learning opportunities by national and district ministry officials, teachers, school administrators, students and parents.

UNICEF provided all materials, which were translated into the Tajik language and adapted to the local culture.

The potential of peer education has shown significant promise in Tajikistan.  UNICEF aims to lend support to more programs like Child-to-Child in order to advance Millennium Development Goals worldwide.


 

 

New enhanced search