保护儿童免受暴力、剥削及虐待

包容性教育让残疾儿童的生活变得更美好

莱利.徳朱哈里(Lely Djuhari)报道

纽约,2013年2月14日 —— 残疾儿童是最弱势的群体,仿佛已经被世界遗忘,他们的权利经常受到侵犯。

残疾儿童被留在家中照顾,或者被送到专门机构,通常无法接受正规教育。许多残疾儿童与家人分离,独自成长。如果他们待在家里,父母们总是担心他们的孩子因身患残疾而受到讥讽和嘲笑。他们通常不会在公开场合抛头露面,也没有机会积极参与社区活动。

© UNICEF VIDEO
2013年2月:联合国儿童基金会通讯员MP.努南(MP Nunan)报道为增加残疾儿童上学机会而开展的工作。  在Realplayer中播放

 

《2011年世界残疾人报告》指出:2004年,14岁以下身患中度和重度残疾的儿童人数占总人口的5.1%。

尽管面临诸多挑战,许多中东欧和中亚国家,尤其是亚美尼亚、黑山和塞尔维亚,针对包容性教育制定了进步政策,并发起反歧视运动。这些努力改变了人们对残疾儿童的态度,并使他们的生活发生了积极的变化。

联合国儿童基金会与各国政府通力协作,一同为教育系统、家庭和儿童提供支持,以减少因社会排斥造成的不平等问题。

“试想一个包容所有儿童的世界;他们的才华得到赞美,他们的贡献得到认可。”联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克说,“这样的世界正是联合国儿童基金会正在努力的方向。”

西拉努诗.玛尔蒂罗相(Siranoush Martirosyan)今年12岁,来自亚美尼亚,生活在首都埃里温,使用轮椅代步。她说,她现在能够去她家附近的第129学校上学。

“我擅长绘画和弹钢琴。”她说,“在这里,我感觉自己与其他儿童没有什么不同的。我喜欢和大家在一起,课间休息时我们一起外出、一起玩耍和参加学校的活动。 ''

自从2005年引进包容性教育以来,亚美尼亚特殊学校的数量已经下降一半,与此同时,包容性学校的数量已经上升到100所。

在塞尔维亚,扎莉卡.库玛诺维克(Zarica Kumanovic)是就读于武克卡拉季奇(Vuk Karadzic)小学的阿列克萨(Aleksa)的母亲,她说:“阿列克萨对于生活在一个健康的环境中感到很满足、很高兴,朋友们接受他,老师们能够在必要时满足他的需求。”

三个国家的政府最近在联合国儿童基金会执行局会议的分会简报中,展示了他们取得的进展和面临的挑战。

包容性教育是指为每一名儿童提供在当地学校上学、获得足够的支持,充分发挥潜力的机会。这种教育并不需要专门的机构、护理、昂贵的材料或专业技能,强调所有学生都应该拥有接受个性化的服务和学习方法的机会。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Armenia/2012
在亚美尼亚埃里温,12岁的西拉努诗坐轮椅和朋友们一起到包容性学校求学。针对包容性教育制定的进步政策和反歧视运动已经使残疾儿童的生活发生了积极的变化。

塞尔维亚教育、科学与技术发展部长扎尔科.奥布拉多维奇(Zarko Obradovic)说:“我们已经使每名儿童有机会获得教育,并为每一名学生量身定制个性化计划。”

他介绍了诸如包容性教育网络等方面的创新。政府、教师、学校心理学家、教育学者、民间社会团体与国家监测框架合作,跟踪在减少教育不平等方面取得的进展。至今已有约1.5万名教师(全部教师人数的五分之一)接受到相关培训。2010年,塞尔维亚三分之一小学的残疾儿童入学率上升。

黑山教育与体育副部长维斯娜.武库洛维奇(Vesna Vucurovic)说:“我们提高了人们的认识,使每个人都明白有特殊需要的儿童接受教育是他们未来发展的关键。”

该国一项为期三年的宣传活动已经覆盖了80%的人口。四分之一的被调查对象表示,他们已经改变了自己的行为,现在愈来愈能接受残疾儿童在主流学校中就读及融入社会。

亚美尼亚已经开始重视从基层学校开展工作向全面政策支持方面进行战略性转移的重要性。

“这个过程始于学校,进展缓慢。教育与科学部认识到需要扩大范围。”亚美尼亚教育与科学副部长卡瑞恩.哈鲁屯彦(Karine Harutyunyan)说。她介绍了学校课程的变化,变得更具包容性,并且成立了评估残疾儿童需求的专门委员会。

联合国儿童基金会正持续号召其他国家政府和捐助者支持旨在实现所有儿童平等接受优质教育权利的政策。

“尽可能多的儿童能够接受优质教育于社会有益,因为他们同时造福社会。”联合国儿童基金会执行局局长兼芬兰常驻联合国代表贾莫.维纳宁(Jarmo Viinanen)先生阁下说。

欲了解残疾儿童包容性教育的更多资源,请访问:
http://www.unicef.org/ceecis/education_18613.html


 

 

搜索

Child protection from violence, exploitation and abuse

Transforming the lives of children with disabilities through inclusive education

By Lely Djuhari

NEW YORK 14 February 2013—Children with disabilities are among the most vulnerable and excluded in the world.  Their rights are often violated.

Hidden at home or placed in special institutions, they often miss out on education. Many grow up apart from their families. If they stay at home, parents fear their children will be mocked and taunted because of the stigma associated with having a disability. They are often not seen in public, nor do they get a chance to be actively involved in their communities.

© UNICEF VIDEO
February 2013: UNICEF correspondent MP Nunan reports on efforts to get more children with disabilities into school.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

The 2011 World Disability Report said that in 2004 the number of children up to the age of 14 with moderate and severe disabilities are at 5.1 per cent of the population. 

Despite the challenges, many countries in Central and Eastern Europe and in Central Asia, particularly Armenia, Montenegro and Serbia, have introduced progressive policies in inclusive education and launched anti-discriminatory campaigns. These efforts have changed attitudes and made positive changes in the lives of children with disabilities.

UNICEF works with governments to support education systems, families and children to reduce inequities created by social exclusion.

''Just imagine a world in where all children are included, involved; where their talents are celebrated, where their contributions are recognised,'' said UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake. ''That is the world towards which UNICEF is working.''

Siranoush Martirosyan, 12, from Armenia, who uses a wheelchair, said she is now able to attend School No. 129 near her home in the capital Yerevan. 

''I am good at drawing and playing piano,'' she said, ''I feel like any other children in this school. I enjoy being together with other children, going out with them during breaks, having fun with them and participating in school events. ''

The number of special schools has been halved in Armenia, while the number of inclusive schools has increased up to 100 since 2005 when inclusive education was introduced.

In Serbia, Zarica Kumanovic, mother of Aleksa who goes to Vuk Karadzic Primary School in Serbia said, ''Aleksa is a satisfied and happy boy who lives in a healthy environment with friends who accept him and teachers who meet his needs when is necessary.”

The three governments recently demonstrated their progress and challenges at a briefing on the sidelines of UNICEF's Executive Board meeting.

Inclusive education means giving each and every child an opportunity to learn at their local school with enough support to reach their full potential. This, however, does not require special institutions, care, expensive materials or specialized expertise.  It simply means all students should have the opportunity to receive individualized services and approaches to learning.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Armenia/2012
Siranoush, 12, with her friends at her wheelchair accessible inclusive school in Yerevan, Armenia. Progressive policies in inclusive education and anti-discriminatory campaigns have made positive changes in the lives of children with disabilities.

Minister of Education, Science and Technological Development of Serbia Zarko Obradovic said, ''We have made it possible for every child to be enrolled in school and crafted and designed individualized programmes for each student.”

He described innovations such as the Network for Inclusive Education. The government, teachers, school psychologists, pedagogues and civil society groups work together with the National Monitoring Framework that tracks progress in reducing inequities in education. Some 15,000 teachers, or a fifth of the total, have now been trained. A third of Serbian primary schools increased enrolment of children with disabilities into the first grade in 2010.

Deputy Minister of Education and Sports of Montenegro Vesna Vucurovic, said: “We raised awareness so that everyone understands that education of children with special needs is key to their future development.”

A three-year advocacy campaign in this nation reached 80 per cent of the population. One in four people surveyed said they had changed their behaviour and are now more accepting that children with disabilities are included in mainstream schools and society.

Armenia focused on the importance of making a strategic shift from grassroots school-level work to a comprehensive policy effort.

''The process started at schools. It was slow. The Ministry realized that it needed to be scaled up,'' Deputy Minister of Education and Sciences of Armenia Karine Harutyunyan said. She described changes to the curriculum, which became more inclusive and the creation of a special council to assess the educational needs of children with disabilities.

UNICEF is continuing to call on other governments and donors to support policies that realize all children`s right to quality education.

''When as many children as possible have access to quality education, it is good for the society because you enrich the society at the same time, '' said President of the UNICEF Executive Board and Permanent Representative of Finland to the United Nations H.E. Mr. Jarmo Viinanen.

For more resources on inclusive education for children with disabilities, go to:
http://www.unicef.org/ceecis/education_18613.html


 

 

New enhanced search