儿童早期

儿童早期发展政策

_blank
© UNICEF/ HQ99-0961/ Holmes
在东帝汶的首府帝力,一位妇女撑着把伞为她刚出生的婴儿遮阳,她的丈夫拿着婴儿毯并扛着一袋米走在后面。

各国政府已不断认识到制定支持幼童发展的相关社会政策的需要。大量的研究带来了新的发现,更多利益攸关者开始提倡对这些新现象给予有效的支持。

联合国儿童基金会与其他国际机构、政府部门、民间组织和非政府组织 ( NGOs )协同工作,倡导儿童早期发展的国家政策的制定,使之为幼童的生存、发展和保护提供具体承诺和准则。支持广泛的社会政策与基于特定结果的干预相联系的能力,使联合国儿童基金会其处于优势地位。

现在已有超过30个政府部门为儿童早期发展制定了国家政策,还有十几个国家正在政策制定的过程中。超过35种减贫战略文件现针对儿童早期方案,并通过学前服务,养育方案,保育设施,或其他方式进行干预。例如在加纳,联合国儿童基金会在早期儿童护理和发展(ECCD)的国家综合政策的发展方面是坚决的倡导者和支持者。该政策将促进儿童的全面发展及其相关方案的实施,为儿童在生理、心理、社会、道德以及精神需求方面提供帮助。加纳早期儿童护理和发展政策的一个标志是其健全的机构框架,它为政府部门、地区会议、社区、家庭、私人部门、非政府组织提供了一个路线图,使早期儿童护理和发展项目得到投资和实施。 

超过70个国家已针对儿童早期发展建立了国家委员会或工作队,协调帮助幼童的各政府部门与组织间的工作。委员会包括卫生部、教育部、社会福利部,有时也应包括贸易部、劳工部或军事部门,以及当地政府、民间组织、媒体、非政府组织和宗教组织等部门机构。这些政府部门和组织已成为家庭与社区的重要信息管道。联合国儿童基金会的跨部门性质使其在解决有关幼童问题方面协调不同部门机构的工作中扮演了一个重要角色。

政策的发展或变动,不应只是一个从上至下的过程,或仅依赖于立法单位和政府官员。最重要的是,政策不是在真空里制定的。每一问题的当地解决方案,成功的研究项目,或倡导努力都能影响决策者关于怎样才能最好的支持幼童及其家庭的思路和想法。作为父母、教师、社区领袖或关心儿童的公民,我们都能影响一个健全有效政策的制定。


 

 

 

 友好打印

搜索

Early Childhood

Policies for Early Childhood Development

_blank
© UNICEF/ HQ99-0961/ Holmes
While her husband walks behind her carrying a baby blanket and a bag of rice, a woman holds an umbrella to shade her newborn from the sun in Dili, Timor Leste.

Governments are increasingly acknowledging the need for social policy that supports the development of young children. Increased research is leading to new findings and more stakeholders advocating for effective support are behind this emerging pattern.
 
UNICEF, in collaboration with other international agencies, governments, civil society and NGOs, advocate for National Early Childhood Development policies that lay out concrete commitments and guidelines for young children’s survival, development and protection. Its ability to support linkages between broad social policies and specific results-based interventions gives UNICEF a comparative advantage.

Over 30 governments now have national policies for Early Childhood Development and dozens more are being developed. Over 35 Poverty Reduction Strategy Papers now feature Early Childhood programmes, either through preschool services, parenting programmes, child care facilities, or other interventions. In Ghana, for example, UNICEF was a strong advocate and supporter in the development of the national comprehensive policy on Early Childhood Care and Development (ECCD).  The policy promotes holistic early childhood development and programme packages that address the physical, mental, social, moral and spiritual needs of the child.  A hallmark of Ghana's ECCD policy is its robust institutional framework that provides a roadmap for government ministries, district assemblies, communities, families, the private sector and non-governmental organizations to invest and implement early childhood care and development programs.

Over 70 countries have developed national committees or task forces for early childhood development to coordinate the work of the ministries and organizations that work with young children.  The committees include ministries of health, education, social welfare and in some cases ministries of trade, labor or the military as well as local government, civil society, media, NGOs and religious organizations.  These ministries and organizations have become important conduits of information for families and communities.  UNICEF's multisectoral nature allows it to play a key role in bringing together these diverse groups to work on issues related to young children.

Policy development or change does not have to be a top-down process, resting solely in the hands of lawmakers and ministry officials.  Most importantly, policy is not created in a vacuum. Every local solution, successful research project, or advocacy effort has the potential to influence the thinking of decision-makers about what best supports young children and their families.  As parents, teachers, community leaders or concerned citizens, we can all impact on robust and effective policy formation.


 

 

 

 Printer friendly

New enhanced search