儿童早期

早期性别社会化

© UNICEF/ HQ99-0849/ LeMoyne
在越南河内的朗逊公社,两位来自道教团体的妇女将孩子背在背上。

通常认为,早期性别社会化是儿童早期最相关的问题之一,它影响到男童和女童两方面。性别角色中的一些陈规旧习就是通过早期性别社会化而形成的。

早期性别社会化从一出生就开始了,它是通过各自的性别在学习文化角色的过程中产生的。从一开始,男童和女童被其所处环境中的成员分别对待,并学习男孩与女孩、女性与男性之间的差别。来自父母和社会对男童和女童的期望,选择有性别特点的玩具,和/或分配基于性别的任务,都似乎在定义一个具有差异的社会性进程,并可用“性别社会化”来概括。许多来自世界各地的例子证明性别社会化与特定社会的种族、文化和宗教价值观缠绕在一起。并且,性别社会化在整个生命周期中继续着。

性别社会化是人们学习以某种方式来行为举止的一个过程,由社会的理念、价值观、看法和榜样支配。性别社会化在妇女怀孕时就开始了,这时人们开始认为男性的价值高于女性。通过对男性和女性不同的期待,这些陈规旧习在家庭成员、教师和其他人群中一直存在着。

想象下面这个情况:一位年轻的孕妇怀上了她第一个孩子。当有人问到她想要女孩还是男孩时,她回答说都一样。但是,坐在边上的一位年长的亲戚说到,“哦,希望是个男孩。”以类似这样微妙但有深意的方式,性别社会化在出生之前就开始了。

儿童从幼儿时就开始要面对社会规范所定义的“阳刚”和“娇柔”。大人告诉男孩们不要哭,不要害怕,不要仁慈,而要肯定和坚强。另一方面,女孩们不应要求太多,而要仁慈和亲切,要有“女人味”。这些性别角色与期望繁多五花八门。在世界许多地方,女童在得到营养品、医疗保健的保育时要面对歧视,这导致她们认为自己的待遇本来就和男孩不一样。文化中观察到的性别差异程度在不同的范围内有所不同,如婴儿、蹒跚学步的小孩和幼儿健康、营养、儿童保育运动、教育、卫生和保护等方面。

联合国儿童基金会在儿童权利公约的指导下,提倡两性平等和所有儿童的平等保育、保护和发展。


 

 

 

 友好打印

搜索

Early Childhood

Early Gender Socialization

© UNICEF/ HQ99-0849/ LeMoyne
Two women from the Dao ethnic group, carrying children on their backs, in Lason Commune, Ha Nam, Viet Nam.

It is generally accepted that early gender socialization is one of the most pertinent issues in early childhood, affecting both boys and girls.  The foundations for stereotypes in gender roles are laid through early gender socialization.

Early gender socialization starts at birth and it is a process of learning cultural roles according to one's sex. Right from the beginning, boys and girls are treated differently by the members of their own environment, and learn the differences between boys and girls, women and men. Parental and societal expectations from boys and girls, their selection of gender-specific toys, and/or giving gender based assignments seem to define a differentiating socialization process that can be termed as "gender socialization".  There are numerous examples from varied parts of the world confirming that gender socialization is intertwined with the ethnic, cultural, and religious values of a given society. And gender socialization continues throughout the life cycle.

Gender socialization is the process by which people learn to behave in a certain way, as dictated by societal beliefs, values, attitudes and examples.  Gender socialization begins as early as when a woman becomes pregnant and people start making judgments about the value of males over females.  These stereotypes are perpetuated by family members, teachers and others by having different expectations for males and females.

Imagine the following scenario: a young pregnant woman is about to have her first child.  When asked whether she wishes to have a girl or boy, she replies that it doesn’t matter.  But, sitting next to her is an older relative who says “Oh, hopefully it will be a boy.”  In small, but meaningful ways such as this, gender socialization starts even before birth. 

Children start facing norms that define “masculine” and “feminine” from an early age.  Boys are told not to cry, not to fear, not to be forgiving and instead to be assertive, and strong.  Girls on the other hand are asked not to be demanding, to be forgiving and accommodating and “ladylike”.  These gender roles and expectations have large scale ramifications.  In many parts of the world, girls face discrimination in the care they receive in terms of their access to nutritious foods and health care, leading them to believe that they deserve to be treated differently than boys.  The degree of gender differences observed varies in all cultures in respect to infant, toddler and young child health, nutrition, care developmental activities, education, hygiene and protection.

UNICEF, guided by the Convention on the Rights of the Child, advocates for gender equality and equity in care, protection and development of all children. 


 

 

 

 Printer friendly

New enhanced search