儿童早期

紧急情况下的儿童早期发展

_blank
© UNICEF/ HQ96-1400/ Pirozzi
肯尼亚,内罗毕基比拉镇的超级贫民窟,一个由联合国儿童基金会资助的托儿所内,孩子们靠墙坐在一条长登上,拿着大棕色杯子喝水。

年龄很小的幼童在危机、动乱和暴力中特别脆弱无援。从出生到6岁这段成型之期(特别是0至2岁的年龄组)对智力、性格和社会行为方面的塑造起到至关重要的作用。幼童最大的危险是在压抑的环境下生活,从而使创造力、生理健康和心理发展的条件受到阻碍。自然灾害和武装冲突会严重影响幼童在生理、心理和情感方面的发展。

在马上就要发生的紧急情况下,联合国儿童基金会将评估幼童的状况,并收集信息以此决定哪些是最相关的需求。恢复初级医疗保健服务,母婴营养服务,以及清洁水提供和卫生的环境是紧急情况中儿童早期发展应急措施的关键部分。找到父母和照顾者,与他们携手合作对确保紧急情况下幼童的稳定安全是至关重要的。为了这个目的,联合国儿童基金会对照顾者进行培训和支持。

儿童友好中心为紧急情况下的儿童提供了必要的医疗保健服务。同样重要的是,儿童友好中心在混乱中提供了稳定的环境,并允许儿童们继续上学,获得社会心理方面的支持,并能与其他儿童一起玩耍。集中于幼童发展是这些中心的基本任务。例如,在利比里亚,联合国儿童基金会与其合作伙伴和儿童友好中心委员会协同工作为儿童早期保育、生长促进、以及非正规学习咨询、和学龄儿童娱乐提供帮助。幼儿照顾者学习到良好的护理方法和抚养儿童的技能训练。

儿童早期发展工具是联合国儿童基金会对紧急情况下儿童问题应对方案整体的一部分。该工具针对紧急情况和过度阶段中0至6岁的幼童,并且也能用于平常的发展方案。儿童早期发展工具还一并提供了照顾者准则。它包含了在不稳定条件下有关儿童的社会心理需要的基本信息,建议游戏活动的内容,以及使用当地可取材料制作玩具的想法。


 

 

 

 友好打印

搜索

Early Childhood

Early Childhood Development in Emergencies

_blank
© UNICEF/ HQ96-1400/ Pirozzi
Children seated on a bench against a wall drink from large brown mugs at the UNICEF-assisted Kibera Day Care Centre in Kibera, the largest shanty town in Nairobi, Kenya..

Very young children are particularly vulnerable in situations of crisis, instability and violence. The formative years from birth to age eight (particularly in the 0-2 year age group) play a vital role in the formation of intelligence, personality and social behavior. The greatest risk for young children is a repressive environment that blocks creativity and lacks conditions for healthy physical and mental development. Natural disasters and armed conflict can severely impact the healthy physical, mental and emotional development of young children.

In the immediate stage of an emergency, UNICEF assesses the status of young children and gathers information to determine which needs are most pertinent.  The restoration of primary health care services, mother-and-child and nutrition services, as well as access to clean water and a hygienic environment are key parts of an integrated early childhood development response in emergencies.  Reaching parents and caregivers and working with them is vital for ensuring stability for young children in emergency situations.  To this end, UNICEF trains and supports caregivers.

A guidance note on integrating ECD activities into nutrition programmes in an emergency setting can be accessed here.

Child Friendly Spaces provide children with essential health services in emergency situations.  Just as important, they offer stability in the midst of chaos and allow children to continue schooling, receive psychosocial support and play with other children.  A focus on young children’s development is a cornerstone to these spaces. Similarly, continuation of young children’s early education during a crisis situation is also another priority of UNICEF’s ECD programmes.

The Early Childhood Development Kit is an integral part of UNICEF’s response for children in emergency situations.  The Kit focuses on addressing the learning needs of children 0-8 years old in emergencies and transition and can be used in regular programming for development as well. 


 

 

 

 Printer friendly

New enhanced search