赞比亚

免疫注射运动帮助遏制赞比亚致命疾病的再次爆发

伊娃.吉利厄姆报道

赞比亚卢萨卡,2010年7月26日–在赞比亚首都卢萨卡的马泰罗街区,三岁的卡斯克上周拉着阿姨萨拉的手来到医疗诊所,曾经他们也在这里和很多抱着哭闹的孩子的母亲一起排队等待治疗。

视频:2010年7月19日 - 联合国儿童基金会记者伊娃.吉利厄姆报道赞比亚开展免疫注射运动,预防麻疹疾病的再次爆发。

卡斯克的阿姨说:“今天早晨,她对我说必须要带她去诊所,她说她不想生病,需要找医生接种疫苗。”

最近爆发的麻疹疫情横扫非洲东部和南部地区,赞比亚数千名儿童和成人也因此而感染。为应对这一情况,赞比亚卫生部在“全国儿童综合健康周”活动中重点开展麻疹免疫注射运动。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1457/Nesbitt
赞比亚卢萨卡里什克村的医疗中心,医护人员在一名小男孩的手指上做记号,以标明他已经接种过麻疹疫苗。

活动日期为7月19日至24日,各大众媒体都极力推广这一活动,向人们宣传免疫注射的重要性。广播节目、电视广告和海报都向人们传递着信息:“麻疹是致命疾病;您的孩子需要接种疫苗。”

麻疹再次爆发

麻疹是一种呼吸系统传染疾病,赞比亚的麻疹疫情一直都在控制之中,直至最近又再次爆发。这是一种传染性极高的疾病,能够带来严重的并发症,如肺炎、腹泻、脑炎甚至死亡等。

四年一次的常规免疫注射运动曾成功地遏制了麻疹的蔓延,但如今麻疹病毒在给地区又死灰复燃。疫情在首都卢萨卡等人口密度高的地区最为猖獗。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1450/Nesbitt
赞比亚开展麻疹疫苗注射运动期间,在首都卢萨卡马泰罗诊所外,三岁的卡斯克和阿姨萨拉正等待接种疫苗。

儿童健康周期间,一位四个孩子的母亲莫妮卡.菲力带着儿子来到卢萨卡查瓦玛麻疹隔离病房接受治疗。除免疫注射运动之外,儿童健康周还进行为儿童提供成长监测、口服小儿麻痹症疫苗注射、驱虫片以及维生素A补充剂的发放等活动。

菲力女士说:“我的儿子咳嗽得厉害,嘴里有疮,而且发烧,所以我带他来这里。他是我四个孩子中唯一还没有接种疫苗的。”

遏制疫情爆发

赞比亚的麻疹免疫注射活动主要针对约140万年龄在9个月到4岁之间的儿童。由于卢萨卡的感染人数较多,因此扩大了接种范围,年龄在6个月到5岁之间的儿童都要接种疫苗。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1459/Nesbitt
赞比亚于7月19至24日开展麻疹疫苗注射运动,在首都卢萨卡的马泰罗诊所,护士正在给一名小女孩吃驱虫片。

联合国儿童基金会驻赞比亚健康专家罗杰斯.姆瓦莱(Rodgers Mwale)说:“从过去几十年来看,麻疹是导致5岁以下儿童死亡的五大疾病之一。自2003年起,赞比亚开展了麻疹“追赶”运动。我们为年龄在6个月到5岁之间的儿童注射疫苗,这个儿童群体大约有450万人。”

在“追赶”运动之后,麻疹病例迅速减少。2007年又开展了为7岁以下儿童注射疫苗的运动,这使得麻疹疫情得到进一步缓解,直到今年,赞比亚只报道了约500例病例且无死亡病例。

然而,就2010年目前为止,麻疹病例上升到数千例并有80例死亡。就地区整体而言,截止六月中旬,麻疹疫情的爆发使约48000名儿童受感染,700多人死亡。

资金短缺

虽然进行麻疹疫苗注射迫在眉睫,但是超过100万美金的资金短缺让赞比亚的“儿童健康周”活动不得不在一定程度上缩小规模。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1452/Nesbitt
赞比亚卢萨卡查瓦玛医疗中心,一名麻疹患儿正在被隔离的病房里吃药。

联合国儿童基金会健康专家姆瓦莱先生说:“由于缺乏资源,我们不得不缩小全国免疫注射的范围,从而使我们的医疗小组能够控制数字,我们的疫苗也能够用。”姆瓦莱先生接着说,四周的扩展运动必须缩为两周;疫苗接种小组成员由7人减至5人;全国的疫苗接种小组的数量由1700个减少为1500个。

据世界卫生组织估计,如果赞比亚政府能在未来四年内使免疫注射的覆盖率达到90%,那么就能再次控制住麻疹疫情。

津巴布韦、马拉维和安哥拉等国也正在筹备类似的麻疹疫苗注射运动。


 

 

搜索

Zambia

Vaccination campaign conducted in response to resurgence of measles in Zambia

By Eva Gilliam

LUSAKA, Zambia, 26 July 2010 – In the Matero neighbourhood here in the Zambian capital last week, three-year-old Kaseko led her Aunt Sarah by the hand to the health clinic. Once there, they joined the long queue of mothers and crying babies.

VIDEO: 19 July 2010 - UNICEF's Eva GIlliam reports on the vaccination campaign organized to counter a recent measles outbreak in Zambia.

 

“This morning, she told me I had to take her to the clinic,” said Kaseko’s aunt. “She said she didn’t want to get sick – that she needed to see the doctor and get the injection.”

Several thousand children and adults in Zambia have fallen ill in an outbreak of measles that has swept through eastern and southern Africa. In response, the Zambian Department of Health devoted its most recent Integrated National Child Health Week to measles vaccination.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1457/Nesbitt
A health worker marks a boy's finger to indicate that he has been vaccinated against measles at a health outreach post in Lishiko village, located in Zambia's Lusaka province.

The campaign ran from 19 to 24 July. It was promoted by a mass media campaign designed to inform as many people as possible of the need for immunization. Radio spots, TV advertisements and posters carried the message: “Measles are deadly; your child must be vaccinated.”

Measles resurgence

Measles, a viral infection of the respiratory system, was thought to be under control in Zambia until recently. It is a highly contagious disease that can cause severe complications, including pneumonia, diarrhoea, encephalitis and even death.

Regular vaccination campaigns, conducted approximately every four years, previously had managed to curtail the disease. But now the measles virus has resurfaced in the region. Infections have spiked in high-density populations, including the district of Lusaka.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1450/Nesbitt
Three-year-old Kaseko and her Aunt Sarah wait to be vaccinated at Matero Clinic in Lusaka, the Zambian capital, during the country's measles immunization campaign.

Monica Phiri, a mother of four, brought her son to receive care at the Chawama Measles Isolation Unit in the capital during Child Health Week – which, besides measles vaccinations, provided child growth monitoring, oral polio vaccine, de-worming tablets and vitamin A supplements.

“My son was coughing a lot, he had sores in his mouth and had a fever, so I brought him here,” said Ms. Phiri. “He is the only one of my four children was not vaccinated.”

Curbing the outbreak

Zambia’s measles immunization efforts are targeting children between nine months and four years of age. In Lusaka, because of the high number of cases, the age has been extended, and children form six months old to five years old are being vaccinated.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1459/Nesbitt
A nurse gives a young girl a de-worming tablet at Matero Clinic in Lusaka, the Zambian capital, at the start of the 19-24 July measles immunization campaign.

“In the last couple of decades, measles was one of the five biggest diseases leading to death in children under five,’ said UNICEF Zambia Health Specialist Rodgers Mwale. “From 2003, Zambia conducted a measles ‘catch-up’ campaign. We vaccinated children from six months to 15 years old – a target group of about 4.5 million children.”

After the catch-up campaign, measles cases decreased drastically. Following another vaccination campaign for children in 2007, measles prevalence dropped further, with no deaths and only about 500 cases reported until this year.

To date in 2010, however, about 80 deaths from measles have been documented in Zambia. In the region as a whole, as of mid-June, the outbreak affected some 48,000 children in 14 countries, causing over 700 deaths.

Funding shortfall

Despite the pressing need for measles vaccination, a funding shortfall of more than $1 million caused the Child Health Week in Zambia to be scaled back somewhat.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1452/Nesbitt
A child with measles takes a dose of medicine in an isolation ward at Chawama Health Centre in Lusaka, Zambia.

“Because of this gap in resources, we had to reduce the age of the children targeted in the campaign nationwide – so that our health teams could handle the numbers and have enough vaccines,” said the UNICEF Health Specialist, Mr. Mwale. He went on to explain that a full four-week outreach and information campaign had to be reduced to two weeks; individual vaccination teams were cut in size from seven health workers to five; and the overall number of teams nationwide dropped from 1,700 to 1,500.

According the World Health Organization, if the Government of Zambia can achieve 90 per cent immunization coverage over the next four years, it can get measles back under control.

Similar measles vaccination campaigns are also planned for Zimbabwe, Malawi and Angola.


 

 

New enhanced search