菲律宾

年轻领导帮助应对气候变化给菲律宾带来的影响

UNICEF Photo
© World Vision
18 岁的阿纳尔.阿里包 (Arnel Alipao) 促进人们对降低灾难风险项目和气候变化的意识。

菲律宾马尼拉,2011 年 12 月 5 日 — “我们不能真正改变世界,但是我们可以为世界改变自己。”阿纳尔.阿里包 (Arnel Alipao) 说。今年18 岁的他,是一名来自菲律宾北苏里高迈尼特 (Mainit, Surigao del Norte) 的青年社会活动家。

今年一月,北苏里高遭受了严重的洪灾和山体滑坡,阿纳尔是灾难的幸存者。经历过这些之后,他开始帮助改变他的学校、社区甚至整个国家。

他已经成为一名降低灾害风险项目DRR(教导儿童和社区安全应对紧急情况的项目)的积极倡导者。他还帮助推广对气候变化的意识,宣传环保法律和努力。

空前的洪水

北苏里高的季风性暴雨历时3天,该地区从未经历过如此大规模的降雨或洪水,这是一次可怕的经历。暴雨突袭,他们毫无准备。

“有一次,我不得不在激流中冒险穿过淹没在洪水中的道路,”阿纳尔说,“这条道路连接我们镇的两个社区。那时非常危险,尤其是对那些要穿过这条路,才能回家的儿童。”

洪水还使他的社区遭受饥饿和疾病。“稻田被洪水淹没,孩子生病,庄稼没有任何收成。我们住在迈尼特湖旁边,因此,房子也半淹没在洪水中。学校被用作疏散中心,我们被迫停课。”

洪水启发改变

当洪水终于消退,阿纳尔却很生气。“我们都相信这次洪水是由气候变化造成的。”他说,“我感到,我们正在为其他人对大自然做的不负责任的事情而承担责任。少数人的不当行为造成不良后果,却要让那些无辜的人来承担,我认为,这非常不公。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Philippines/2011/Palasi
家园被台风配德林 (Typhoon Pedring) 摧毁之后,来自通多(Tondo) (马尼拉的一个非正式定居点)的儿童帮助重建。
阿纳尔将失望和沮丧转化成了多个项目,帮助社区应对气候变化的影响。

“当我发现类似的自然灾害也发生在其他国家时,我意识到,和其他人一样,我们都是受害者。”所以,我问自己,为什么要坐等这些灾难再次发生、再次突袭我们呢?”

所以,他没有选择消极等待。“当我的赞助商世界宣明会 (World Vision) 决定以我们居住的地区为重点,试行一个以青年为中心的 DRR 项目场所时,”他说,“我申请成为了一名青年倡导,并参与了相关活动。”DRR 项目将帮助像阿纳尔家这样的社区确保未来能够更好地应对自然灾害。

“因为我仍然是一名学生,在学校里也是一名活跃的领导者,”他说,“所以我有机会影响我的同事和同学,带动他们参加学校的各种活动,比如执行零废物管理项目。

很快,其他发展组织和政府机构都邀请阿纳尔分享与气候变化相关的灾害的个人经验。“在一次学校举行的环境研讨会上,我发了言。对于其他项目,如清理驱动器和植树活动,我会写文章,促进人们的意识。”

将他的故事带到联合国总部

阿纳尔还应邀到纽约市联合国总部的气候变化专题会议上发言。在那里,他表达了自己的观点,即需要制定有利于可持续发展环境的法律,以及在整个菲律宾实施 DRR 项目的重要性。

“如果我是国家总统或者一名国家官员,”他说,“我会鼓励当地的DRR项目遵守国家法律、保护环境。我知道菲律宾有值得称道的法律,问题是如何执行。我还会禁止使用塑料袋。”

“我认为DRR媒体项目也很重要,通过电视或电台确保人们获得最新信息。我还会确保将DRR 作为学校课程的一部分,使其成为高中和大学的一个科目。”

关于气候变化的经验,当被问及他会对世界各国领导人说些什么时,阿纳尔回答说:“如果你真的想留下遗产,确保后代的健康和福祉,那么,就让我们的地球成为一个友好而可持续的地球。”


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Philippines

A young leader works to confront the effects of climate change in the Philippines

UNICEF Image
© World Vision
Arnel Alipao, 18, promotes Disaster Risk Reduction programmes and climate change awareness.

MANILA, Philippines, 5 December 2011  – “We cannot really change the world, but we can change ourselves for the world,” said Arnel Alipao, an 18-year-old youth advocate from Mainit, Surigao del Norte, in the Philippines. 

Arnel survived the mighty floods and landslides that battered Surigao del Norte in January of this year. Galvanized by his experiences, he is helping change his school, community and country.

He has become a passionate advocate of Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR) – programmes that teach children and communities to safely respond to emergency situations. He is also helping spread awareness of climate change and the need for environmental protection laws and efforts.

Unprecedented flooding

Surigao del Norte’s torrential monsoon rains lasted three days – a terrifying experience for the community, which had never before experienced rains or flooding of that magnitude. It was a shock, and they were not prepared.

“At one point, I had to risk crossing a flooded road against a strong current of water,” said Arnel. “This main road connects two neighbourhoods in our town. It became very dangerous, especially for children, to cross it to get home.”

Flooding brought hunger and diseases to his community. “Our rice fields were submerged in water, children got sick, and our parents were not able to harvest anything. Because we live beside Lake Mainit, our houses were also submerged in water. Classes were suspended, and our schools were used as evacuation centers.”

Inspired to make a difference

When the flooding finally subsided, Arnel was angry. “We all believe that the recent flood in my hometown was a result of climate change,” he said.  “I felt we were unfairly paying for the abusive acts of others towards nature. I felt it was unjust and unfair for those who are innocent to suffer the effects of the wrongdoings of a few people.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Philippines/2011/Palasi
Children from Tondo, an informal settlement in Manila, help rebuild after their homes were destroyed in Typhoon Pedring.

Arnel channelled his disappointment and frustration into programmes to help his community combat the effects of climate change.

“When I discovered that similar natural disasters are happening in other countries, I realized, like others, I am also a victim. So I asked myself, why wait for these disasters to occur and take us by surprise again?”

And so he did not wait. “When my sponsor, World Vision, decided to focus on our area as a pilot-testing site for youth-focused DRR activities,” he said, “I registered as a youth advocate and participated in the activities.” DRR activities will ensure that communities like Arnel’s are better able to cope with future natural disasters.

“Because I am still a student and an active leader in my school,” he said, “I was also able to influence my fellow officers and classmates to join various school activities, such as the implementation of a zero-waste management program.

Arnel was soon invited by other development organizations and government agencies to share his personal experiences on climate change-related disasters.
 
“I was a speaker at a symposium on the environment held in our school. For other programs, such as clean-up drives and tree-planting activities, I would write articles to promote greater awareness.”

Bringing his story to UN Headquarters

Arnel was invited to speak at a climate-change panel at UN Headquarters in New York City. There, he expressed his views on the need for environmentally sustainable laws and the importance of implementing DRR programs throughout the Philippines.

“If I were president or a national official of the country,” he said, “I would encourage local DRR plans following the national laws protecting the environment. I know the Philippines has commendable laws; the problem is in implementing them. I would also ban the use of plastic bags.

“I would see to it that there will be a DRR media program, either on TV or the radio, in order to keep people updated. I would also ensure that DRR is included in the school curriculum as a subject in high school and college levels.”

Asked what he would say to world leaders about his experience with climate change, Arnel responded, “If you really want to leave a legacy to ensure the health and well-being of future generations, then let our earth be a friendly and sustainable earth."


 

 

New enhanced search