尼日尔

联合国儿童基金会在尼日尔与社区合作改进家庭习惯

鲍勃.科恩报道

尼日尔加林巴瓦,2011年1月24日-在她家的大院里,32岁的祖里亚.巴巴(Zuliah Baba)在满月下做她每晚的家务。做类似家务劳动的熟悉声音响彻这个村庄-这些家务事正受到一个创新的联合国儿童基金会项目“重要家庭习惯”的影响。该项目正在尼日尔对儿童健康产生巨大的影响。

视频:联合国儿童基金会通讯员鲍勃.科恩就尼日尔开展的重要家庭习惯项目进行了报道。该项目旨在改善儿童的健康并努力实现千年发展目标。 在Realplayer中播放

在为她的四个长子和丈夫端上晚餐以前,巴巴女士一边监督他们仔细地洗手,一边给她11个月大的儿子哈鲁纳(Haruna)喂母乳。到了该睡觉的时间,孩子们兴奋地蹦到自己的床席上,睡在蚊帐的保护下。

由于在每周例会上获得了如何保护自己不感染疾病的信息,这个家庭改变了以前的习惯。

分享信息

巴巴女士说:“这些信息咨询会很大程度上帮助改善了我孩子的健康。它让我更好地关注他们的健康,并减少带他们去健康中心的次数。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Niger/2010/Coen
联合国儿童基金会通讯员鲍勃.科恩就尼日尔开展的重要家庭习惯项目进行了报道。该项目旨在改善儿童的健康并努力实现千年发展目标。

社区信息交流会是重要家庭习惯项目的一个重要特点。村里的男人们定期与村长和长辈们碰面,女人们则聚在开村会的树下决定是否要采纳这项倡议的七个核心要点:

.婴儿出生的头六个月内完全用母乳喂养
.睡在蚊帐下
.为患腹泻的儿童提供口服补液盐
.用肥皂洗手
. 婴儿出生六个月后使用其他的营养食品
.为儿童提供预防保健
.发现患病的最初迹象后,将婴儿带到医疗站。

健康发展

尽管最近取得了进展,尼日尔的婴儿死亡率仍是世界最高。该国五分之一的儿童死于五岁以前,通常是死于很容易预防的疾病,如疟疾、肺炎和腹泻。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Niger/2010/Coen
在尼日尔加林巴瓦,祖里亚.巴巴(Zuliah Baba)在采纳了重要家庭习惯项目倡导的行为后,注意到她孩子的健康有了改善。

重要家庭习惯项目倡导的简单的行为改变可以大幅减少这类死亡。

联合国儿童基金会驻尼日尔代表圭多.科尔纳尔(Guido Cornale)说:“重要的是我们有保健服务,并且我们可以将之扩大。但是还有很多事情可以在家庭层面实现。重要家庭习惯可以大幅促进儿童的健康发展并提高他们生存的机会。所以这些都是我们可以在家庭层面做到的。”

社区帮助自己

这个联合国儿童基金会和尼日尔政府共同实施的项目中最重要的部分是各个社区自己发挥最主要的作用。改变的机会以及制约因素和解决方案都在社区层面进行讨论。一旦就改变的需要达成了一致,就可以找到并采用地方的解决方案。

这样,个人和家庭习惯的改变受到社会变化的支持,即采纳新的集体规范和习惯。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Niger/2010/Coen
正如尼日尔重要家庭习惯项目所强调的那样,用肥皂洗手这种简单的习惯可以在改善儿童健康方面带来巨大的影响。

盖丹巴瓦村村长乌玛罗.卡查罗(Oumarou Kachallo)说:“自从我的村子采纳了重要家庭习惯,我注意到发生了变化。它对经济也产生了影响,因为人们在买药上花的钱少了。这同时产生了社会方面的影响,因为人们彼此帮助并一起讨论这些做法。”

传播消息

祖里亚.巴巴的丈夫伊萨卡.巴巴(Issaka Baba)对他家发生的改变很满意。

他说:“当我妻子开始完全用母乳喂养时,我注意到他和其他孩子的不同。我们以前差不多每周都要带他们去诊所,但是这个孩子,他还没有得过病。”

由于蚊帐使用的增加,尼日尔儿童头号杀手疟疾导致的死亡大幅减少。

联合国儿童基金会正使用各种广播途径–包括电影、社区剧场和电台广播–宣传重要家庭习惯项目的简单信息。目标是在今后的三年内,向尼日尔全国数百个村庄介绍这个项目,覆盖最弱势的社区并鼓励人们采纳可以挽救儿童生命、改善儿童生活的新习惯。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Niger

UNICEF works with communities to improve key family practices in Niger

By Bob Coen

GARIN BAWA, Niger, 24 January 2011 – In the courtyard of her family’s compound, Zuliah Baba, 32, goes through her nightly chores under a full moon. The familiar sounds of similar household routines echo through this rural village – chores that are being influenced by an innovative new UNICEF programme, Key Family Practices, which is having a dramatic impact on child health in Niger.

VIDEO: UNICEF correspondent Bob Coen reports on the Key Family Practices Programme launched in Niger to help households improve child health and to work towards achieving the Millennium Development Goals.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Before she serves dinner to her four oldest children and husband, Ms. Baba makes sure they all carefully washes their hands while she breastfeeds her 11-month-old son, Haruna. When it’s time to go to sleep, the children excitedly scurry to their bed mats, protected underneath mosquito nets.

The family has changed its behaviour because of weekly meetings where they receive information about how to protect themselves against disease.

Sharing Information

“These information sessions have been a great help with the health of my children,” said Ms. Baba. “It has allowed me to attend to their health better and take them to the health centre less.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Niger/2010/Coen
A community health worker demonstrates aspects of the Key Family Practices Programme to a group of women in Garin Bawa village, Niger.

The community information-sharing sessions are a key feature of the Key Family Practices Programme. The men of the village meet regularly with the chief and elders, while the women get together under the village meeting tree to decide whether to adopt the seven essential points that are at the heart of the initiative:

• Breastfeeding exclusively for the first six months of a child’s life
• Sleeping under a mosquito net
• Providing children with oral rehydration solution in case of diarrhoea
• Washing hands with soap
• Introducing other nutritious foods to children after six months
• Providing children with preventive health care
• Bringing children to a health post at the first sign of illness.

Healthy development

Despite recent progress, Niger still has one of the highest infant mortality rates in the world. One child out of five here will die before reaching the age of five, usually from easily preventable illness such as malaria, pneumonia and diarrhoea.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Niger/2010/Coen
Zuliah Baba has noticed an improvement in the health of her children after adopting behaviour promoted by the Key Family Practices Programme in Garin Bawa, Niger.

The simple behaviour changes promoted by the Key Family Practices Programme can significantly reduce these deaths.

"It’s important that we have health services available and we extend them,” said UNICEF Representative in Niger Guido Cornale. “But there are many things that can be taken care of on the family level. The Key Family Practices can greatly improve the healthy development of children, their chance of survival. So these are things we can do on the family level.”

Communities help themselves

An essential part of this programme, which is being implemented jointly by UNICEF and the Government of Niger, is that communities themselves are in driver’s seat. Opportunities for change, as well as constraints and solutions, are discussed at the community level. Once a consensus on the need for change is reached, local solutions are identified and applied.

In this way, changes in individual and family practices are supported by social change – the adoption of new collective norms and practices.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Niger/2010/Coen
As the Key Family Practices Programme in Niger emphasizes, simple handwashing with soap can have dramatic results in improving child health.

“Since we introduced the Key Family Practices in my village, I’ve noticed a difference,” said the chief of Gidan Bawa village, Oumarou Kachallo. “It’s had an impact on the economy, because people are spending less on medicines. There’s also a social dimension, because people are helping each other and discussing these practices.”

Spreading the word

Zuliah Baba’s husband, Issaka Baba, is happy about the changes in his household.

“When my wife tried exclusive breastfeeding, I noticed the advantages and differences with my other children,” he said. “We used to have to take to them to the clinic almost weekly, but with this one, he’s not been sick.”

Thanks to the increased use of mosquito nets, there also has been a dramatic reduction in deaths due to malaria, the number-one killer of children in Niger.

UNICEF is using a number of communication vehicles – including films, community theatre and radio – to spread the simple messages of the Key Family Practices Programme. The aim, over the next three years, is to introduce the programme to hundreds of villages across Niger, reaching the most vulnerable communities and empowering them to adopt new practices that will save and improve children’s lives.


 

 

New enhanced search