尼日尔

欧洲共同体人道主义办事处和联合国儿童基金会在尼日尔推广Plumpy’nut的生产以改善儿童的营养状况

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
用花生做的Plumpy’nut食疗食品已在尼日尔救助了数千名营养不良的儿童。

萨宾.德兰报道

尼日尔,尼亚美,2007年5月18日 - 在尼日尔发生严重营养危机的两年之后,营养不良的儿童比以前有所减少,但是慢性营养不良仍然影响着该国50%以上的幼童。即使在收成好的年份,尼日尔仍然有10%的儿童遭受着严重营养不良的痛苦。

为了解决这一令人担忧的问题,一场大规模的针对五岁以下儿童中不同程度营养不良问题的工作正在展开。

开展这项工作所使用的一个重要工具是被称为Plumpy’nut的食疗产品,这个产品曾在2005年的危机中帮助挽救了数千人的生命。

拯救数千人的生命

在距离首都尼亚美一小时路程的提拉伯瑞,一个由联合国儿童基金会支助的诊所,像许多尼日尔的卫生诊疗中心一样,为严重营养不良的儿童提供Plumpy’nut。 这种用花生做的高蛋白、高能量的酱一般是用锡纸包装或小塑料桶装,以方便儿童食用。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
座落在尼日尔尼亚美的营养转化协会的工厂是西非唯一生产Plumpy’nut的工厂 - 现在每月产量可达40吨。

欧洲共同体人道主义办事处的区域人道主义顾问詹.埃吉坎纳说:“人们称它为神奇的产品,它能帮助营养不良的儿童迅速康复。 在尼日尔,这个世界上最贫穷的国家之一,儿童很容易营养不良,而这种产品可以帮助他们康复。”

自2005年起,尼日尔的营养转化协会工厂一直在生产这种救命食品。它是西非唯一生产Plumpy’nut的工厂,每月产量已经增长到40吨,同时还吸引了很多邻国的关注。

在欧洲共同体人道主义办事处的资金支持下,联合国儿童基金会去年在该工厂采购了130吨Plumpy’nut产品。今年联合国儿童基金会继续支持当地生产这种方便用户的食品。

期待长远的解决方案

该食品吸引人的一个致胜法宝是容易获取。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
在欧洲共同体人道主义办事处的资金支持下,联合国儿童基金会尼日尔办事处去年采购了130吨当地生产的Plumpy’nut,有袋装和图中的桶装两种包装。

营养转化协会工厂的总裁法池玛.西西说:“普兰匹拿特是很容易使用的产品 - 容易用,容易做。 这种产品里没有水份,所以不会变质,易于储藏。 它也正好满足营养不良儿童的需要,帮助他们明显地恢复体重。”

去年,该产品帮助了6.3万多名儿童。 一般来说,患儿只需三至四周时间便可以恢复正常体重。

联合国儿童基金会驻尼日尔营养主任诺埃尔.玛莉.扎格瑞说:“对于那些可以在家接受治疗的严重营养不良的儿童来说,Plumpy’nut是一种非常行之有效的产品,我们可以一次治疗很多孩子。”

虽然Plumpy’nut已经改变了许多尼日尔儿童的命运,但是在这里和其它位于半干旱的撒哈拉以南地区(即萨赫勒地区)的国家,营养不良仍然是个根深蒂固的问题。 从长远看,人们的需求必须持续地得到满足,主要是通过基于社区的食品生产,有效地克服该国每年循环往复的营养危机。

然而今天,当尼日尔还在期盼着这些长远解决方案的时候,Plumpy’nut担负起了挽救儿童生命的重任。

 


 

 

视频(英文)

2007年5月7日:
联合国儿童基金会通讯员萨宾.德兰就欧洲共同体人道主义办事处与联合国儿童基金会携手在尼日尔推广Plumpy’nut生产的报道。

 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

欧洲共同体人道主义办事处与联合国儿童基金会合作伙伴关系

欧洲共同体人道主义办事处网站(英文)
(外部链接,在新窗口中打开)

搜索

At a glance: Niger

ECHO and UNICEF promote Plumpy’nut production to improve child nutrition in Niger

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Peanut-based Plumpy'nut therapeutic food has helped save the lives of thousands of malnourished children in Niger.

By Sabine Dolan

NIAMEY, Niger, 18 May 2007 – Two years after Niger’s severe nutrition crisis, the sight of undernourished children is less common than it was, but chronic malnutrition still affects more than 50 percent of the country's young children. And 10 per cent of Niger’s children suffer from acute malnutrition, even when the harvests are good.

To deal with this worrying situation, a large-scale effort is under way to address malnutrition at various stages in the lives of children under the age of five.

One of the key tools being used in that effort is the therapeutic food known as Plumpy’nut, which helped save thousands of lives during the crisis in 2005.

Thousands of lives saved

Like many therapeutic health centres across Niger, the UNICEF-supported clinic in Tillabery – an hour away from the capital, Niamey – gives Plumpy'nut to severely malnourished children. The high-protein, high-energy, peanut-based paste typically comes in foil wrappers or small plastic tubs, which are practical for children who can easily eat them.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
The Société de Transformation Alimentaire facility in Niamey, Niger – the only Plumpy’nut factory in West Africa – now produces up to 40 tonnes per month.

“They call it the magical product,” says Regional Humanitarian Advisor Jan Eijkenaar of the European Commission’s Humanitarian Aid Department (ECHO). “It helps children recover very quickly when they become malnourished. In Niger – which is amongst the poorest countries in the world – children can become malnourished very quickly, and this can help them recover.”

Since 2005, the Société de Transformation Alimentaire (STA) factory in Niamey has been producing the lifesaving food. It is the only Plumpy’nut factory in West Africa, and production has grown to about 40 tonnes a month, attracting the interest of neighbouring countries.

With ECHO’s financial support, last year UNICEF was able to purchase about 130 tonnes of the Plumpy’nut produced at the STA factory. This year, UNICEF continues to strongly support local production of the user-friendly food.

Looking towards long-term solutions

Part of the appeal for this winning formula is its accessibility.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
With ECHO’s financial support, UNICEF Niger last year purchased about 130 tonnes of locally produced Plumpy’nut, which comes in both wrappers and the small tubs shown here.

“Plumpy’nut is an easy-to-use product – easy to use and easy to make,” says STA Chief Executive Officer Fatchima Cissé. “It’s a product that doesn’t get contaminated because there’s no water in it, so its conservation is relatively easy. And it answers perfectly to the needs of the malnourished child because it enables him or her to gain back significant weight each day.”

Last year, the product was used to treat more than 63,000 malnourished children. Typically, it allows children to return to a healthy weight within three to four weeks.

“Plumpy'nut is really effective and useful for the treatment of severely malnourished children who can follow the treatment at home in ambulatory care, therefore allowing us to touch a lot of children at once,” explains UNICEF Niger’s Head of Nutrition, Noël Marie Zagré.

While Plumpy’nut has made a difference in many young lives in Niger, malnutrition remains a deeply rooted problem here and in other countries of the semi-arid, sub-Saharan region known as the Sahel. In the long term, the needs of the population must be met on a sustainable basis, notably through community-based food production, to effectively overcome the country’s annual cycle of nutrition crises.

But today, as Niger looks towards these long-term solutions, Plumpy’nut is saving children’s lives.


 

 

Video

7 May 2007:
UNICEF correspondent Sabine Dolan reports on joint efforts by ECHO and UNICEF to promote the production of Plumpy’nut in Niger.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search