尼泊尔

尼泊尔庆祝其成为亚洲第二个无雷区国家

UNICEF Photo
© UNMAT/2011/CSKarki
尼泊尔总理贾拉.纳特.卡纳尔(左)在布恰吉地区视察排雷工作。由尼泊尔政府军在过去长达十年的武装冲突中埋设的12070颗地雷中的最后一批终于被清除。

鲁帕.乔希报道

尼泊尔加德满都,2011 年 6 月 22 日 – 当雨季的乌云聚集在加德满都谷地西南边的布恰吉山上空时,突然从那里传来两声爆炸的巨响。烟雾从海拔 2700 米的布恰吉山顶腾空而起,远处观看的宾客开始欢呼,祝贺尼泊尔成为无雷国家。

自此,尼泊尔成为除中国外亚洲第二个无雷国家。目前亚洲仍有 26 个国家布有地雷。

冲突结束后清除地雷

尼泊尔总理贾拉.纳特.卡纳尔 (Jhala Nath Khanal) 和陆军参谋长查特拉.曼.辛格.古隆 (Chhatra Man Singh Gurung) 中将分别按下了引爆最后两颗地雷的开关。随后,联合国排雷行动组向尼泊尔军队颁发了“交接证书”,以确认尼泊尔境内的地雷已按照国际标准被完全清除。

“这是尼泊尔在《全面和平协议》框架下所取得的一项重大成就。”卡纳尔总理说,“我在此感谢所有关心和参与该行动的人士和组织,特别是联合国及其相关机构。”

在长达十年的武装冲突中,尼泊尔政府军在 53 处地点埋设了12070 颗地雷,以保护通讯设备和水电站等军事设施和基础设施。布恰吉雷区位于一处重要的、用于飞机导航的通讯塔周围。

作为于2006 年签订的《全面和平协议》的一部分,尼泊尔政府和毛派组织已承诺查找并清除所有地雷、简易爆炸装置以及其他在战后遗留的爆炸物。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Nepal/2007/Laurenge
学生正仔细阅读由联合国儿童基金会印发的防雷传单。在尼泊尔受地雷影响最大的地区,这一举措已成为地雷风险教育的一部分。

无惧危险的地形和恶劣的天气,身着蓝色制服的男女排雷队员搜索了雷区的每一寸土地。他们跪在地上测量、戳探、挖掘、剪断连线,并使用金属探测器排除每一颗地雷。

联合国排雷行动组成立于 2007 年 4 月,由联合国儿童基金会和联合国排雷行动处的成员组成。其对尼泊尔军队的人道主义排雷进程提供了重要支持。在过去四年中,尼泊尔军队共清除了超过 20 万平方米的雷区,向人民返还了 530 万多平方米可安全使用的土地。

地雷伤害预防和治疗

一直以来,联合国儿童基金会专注于在尼泊尔建立一个持续的全国地雷受害者信息系统,并开展地雷风险教育。武装冲突结束后,联合国儿童基金会不但向尼泊尔军队提供了 1.4 万个地雷危险标志,还帮助尼泊尔军队和警察部门训练了 2.5 万名地雷安全人员。

联合国儿童基金驻尼泊尔的执行代表威尔.帕克斯 (Will Parks) 告诉记者:“我们一如既往地同当地居民,特别是儿童和尼泊尔教育部合作,以提高大家对爆炸物的风险意识。此外,我们还在 70 个地区重点开展地雷风险教育。在受地雷影响最严重的地区,我们向 100 多万学龄儿童提供了地雷风险课程。现在,这一任务已交由尼泊尔和平与重建部继续执行。”

虽然尼泊尔已成为“无雷”国家,但由简易爆炸装置所引起的事故仍时有发生。这在某种程度上是因为许多武装组织依然使用简易爆炸装置作为其主要武器。自从联合国儿童基金会从 2006 年起开始监测地雷伤害以来,已报道 474 起因触发地雷引起的伤亡事故,这些事故主要是简易爆炸装置导致的。受害者中超过一半是儿童。

最近一起爆炸事件发生于彻底清除雷区的五天前。该起事件的受害者是 12 岁的吉旺。他是一名来自尼泊尔西部偏远山区的四年级学生。除了严重的弹片伤外,吉旺在爆炸中失去了右手的所有手指。当时,他捡起的一颗废弃土制炸弹发生了爆炸。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Nepal/2011/Joshi
尼泊尔布恰吉地区被废弃的地雷危险标志。通过联合国儿童基金会长期支持的排雷行动,尼泊尔现已成为无雷国家。

尽管如此,最近几年,由爆炸物所引起的伤亡事件数量已逐渐降低。在联合国驻尼泊尔协调员罗伯特.帕博 (Robert Piper) 看来,伤亡数量的下降主要得益于地雷风险教育。他指出:“可以说,正是由于实施了地雷风险教育,最近几年的爆炸伤亡人数才出现了大幅下降。在2009 至 2010 年间,伤亡人数下降了 40%。”

几乎所有的地雷爆炸幸存者都得到了及时合理的治疗。此外,必要时,他们还能享受到康复服务。尼泊尔政府、国际红十字委员会、国际助残组织、联合国儿童基金会、尼泊尔禁止地雷行动组等其他组织向地雷受害者提供了治疗支持和协助服务。

最后的障碍

在庆祝尼泊尔成为无雷国的仪式上,联合国官员敦促尼泊尔政府成为第 157 个签署《杀伤性地雷禁止公约》的国家。签署该公约后,签约国将同意销毁本国所储存的所有此类杀伤性武器。

“也许尼泊尔今天终于成为了无雷区国家,但还不能被称之为一个没有地雷存在的国家。尼泊尔政府军仍储存有杀伤性地雷。只有当这些储存的地雷被销毁后,尼泊尔才能真正成为一个无雷国家。”联合国排雷行动组高级技术顾问理查德.迪瑞克斯 (Richard Derieux) 如是说。

当嘉宾和政府高官动身离开布恰吉山时,沿途中穿着蓝色制服的排雷人员不断欢呼,彼此庆贺排雷工作的成功完成。在排雷人员站立处附近,堆着许多已经拆除的地雷警告标志。自此以后,这些标志将不会再出现在尼泊尔的国土上。


 

 

搜索

Nepal

Nepal celebrates becoming the second country in Asia to become free of minefields

UNICEF Image
© UNMAT/2011/CSKarki
Prime Minister of Nepal Jhala Nath Khanal (left) observes demining at the Phulchowki minefield. The mines were the last of 12,070 planted by the Nepal Army during a decade-long armed conflict to be destroyed.

By Rupa Joshi

KATHMANDU, Nepal, 22 June 2011 – As monsoon clouds gathered over Phulchowki hill, in the south-western rim of Kathmandu valley, two loud explosions filled the air. Guests cheered as smoke billowed from the top of the 2,700 metre hill. Nepal had become free of minefields.

It is only the second country in Asia, after China, to be declared minefield-free. There are still another 26 landmine-contaminated countries in the continent.

Cleaning up after conflict

The Prime Minister, Jhala Nath Khanal, and the Chief of Army Staff, General Chhatra Man Singh Gurung, each pressed a switch to detonate the remaining landmines. Afterwards the Nepal Army was given a ‘Handover Certificate’ by the UN Mine Action Team (UNMAT) confirming that the land has been cleared according to international standards.

"This is an important achievement under the provisions of the Comprehensive Peace Agreement,” Mr. Khanal said. “I thank all concerned who were involved, especially the United Nations and its related agencies."

A total of 12,070 landmines were planted by the Nepal Army in 53 locations throughout the country during the decade-long armed conflict, to protect military installations and infrastructure such as communications and hydropower stations. The minefield in Phulchowki was laid around one of the critical telecommunication masts that guided aircraft navigation.

As part of the 2006 Comprehensive Peace Accord, the Government and the Maoists had committed to identify and clear the landmines, improvised explosive devices (IEDs) and other explosive remnants of war.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Nepal/2007/Laurenge
School children study an awareness leaflet published by UNICEF as part of mine risk education in the most affected districts of Nepal.

Battling hostile terrain and inclement weather, the men and women in blue scoured the minefields inch by inch, down on their knees, measuring, prodding, digging, snipping, and using metal detectors to clear every single every mine.

Set up in April 2007 with UNICEF and UNMAS as members, UNMAT supported the Nepal Army in the humanitarian de-mining process. In the last four years, the Nepal Army has been able to clear more than 200,000 square metres of minefields and release over 5,300,000 square metres of safe land back to communities.

Injury prevention and care

UNICEF's focus has been on establishing an ongoing national victim information system and implementing mine risk education. Post-conflict, UNICEF provided the Nepal Army with 14,000 hazard signs and trained 25,000 security personnel from the police and army.

"We have also worked consistently with communities, especially children, and the Ministry of Education to raise awareness of the risks of explosive devices, and provided training to mine risk education focal points from 70 districts,” explained UNICEF Acting Representative in Nepal Will Parks. “We reached over one million school children from the most affected areas with mine risk education lessons. Now this task will be carried forward by the Ministry of peace and Reconstruction.”

Although Nepal is ‘minefield free’, incidents involving IED explosions continue to occur, in part because numerous armed groups are still using IEDs as their main weapon. Since UNICEF began monitoring injuries in 2006, 474 casualties from victim-activated explosions have been reported, predominantly by improvised explosive devices. More than half of the casualties were children.

The latest victim, five days before the minefield-free event, was Jeevan BK, 12, a fourth-grader from the far western hills of Nepal who, besides suffering from serious shrapnel injuries, lost all fingers of his right hand when an abandoned pipe bomb he had picked up exploded.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Nepal/2011/Joshi
Discarded mine hazard signs in Phulchowki, Nepal. After a long UNICEF-supported campaign the country is now free of landmine fields.

Despite this, the number of casualties in 'explosive' incidents has declined in recent years, which UN Resident Coordinator Robert Piper attributes to education. "It is arguably progress in the mine risk education that has led to the sharp reduction in the number of casualties over recent years, with a drop of 40 per cent from 2009 to 2010," he said.

Almost all survivors have received adequate and timely medical care and benefited from rehabilitation services when needed. This support and other victim assistance services have been provided by the Government, International Committee of the Red Cross, Handicap International, UNICEF, Nepal Campaign to Ban Landmines and others.

The final hurdle

UN officials at the minefield-free event urged the government to become the 157th country to sign to the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention, by which it would also agree to destroy any such stockpiled weapons.

"Nepal may be minefield free today, but it still cannot be declared a country free of landmines," said Richard Derieux, UNMAT Senior Technical Advisor. "The Nepal Army still has anti-personnel landmines in its stock. It is only when these are also disposed that Nepal can truly become a mine-free country."

As the guests and dignitaries started to make their way down the Phulchowki hill, the team of blue-suited de-miners working at the site cheered and congratulated each other on a job completed. Next to where they stood smiling was a pile of mine warning signs. They are finally no longer needed.


 

 

New enhanced search