老挝人民民主共和国

破伤风免疫活动到达老挝人民民主共和国的偏远地区

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Lao PDR/2009
琅勃拉邦的一位妇女接种孕产妇和新生儿破伤风疫苗。

老挝人民民主共和国文格夏区,2009年12月16日 – 老挝一个根除孕产妇和新生儿破伤风的政府免疫活动正式启动的四天后,就到达了该国一些最偏远地区的妇女身边。

活动最后到达的几个地区之一是文格夏区,一个靠近越南东北边界山区的偏远地区。

上个月,在一所被当作临时免疫中心使用的寄宿学校,154名女学生排队等候接种破伤风疫苗。还有另外将近250名妇女从附近的村子里赶过来接种疫苗。

当地的卫生官员说,在一个免疫率一直很低的地区能有这么多的人前来接种疫苗,表明这次的活动一定能够实现预定的目标。老挝政府正致力于到明年第三轮活动结束之前,为高危地区的80多万名年龄在15岁到49岁之间的妇女免疫。

区卫生局的冯尼万(Phonevanh)博士说:“在学校里接种疫苗是个很好的主意。女孩们正在这儿上课,老师们可以快速的组织她们接种疫苗。”

农村地区的威胁

老挝人民民主共和国是全球44个、亚太地区8个没有根除孕产妇和新生儿破伤风的国家之一。在农村地区,这种疾病尤其是一种威胁,因为大多数的新生儿都出生在没有恰当消毒设备的家里。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Lao PDR/2009
在气球的装点下,巴色孕产妇和新生儿破伤风免疫活动的启动仪式显得色彩纷呈。

对新生婴儿来说,破伤风通常是致命的。世界卫生组织估计2004年有12.8万新生儿死于新生儿破伤风。

这项活动受到了高层的政治支持,包括上个月老挝国家主席朱马利.赛雅贡发表的一篇演讲。在讲话中,他呼吁社会各界人士都能够给予支持。

联合国儿童基金会驻老挝人民民主共和国办事处的卫生和营养主管阿布杜.卡利姆.安德烈(Aboudou Karimou Andele)说:“我们的目标是减少孕产妇和新生儿破伤风的病例数,使它不再构成一个严重的问题。”

这项免疫活动是在联合国儿童基金会、世界卫生组织、日本国际协力事业团、卢森堡发展合作署和世界宣明会的支持下开展的。

村长发挥关键作用

媒体和当地卫生工作者大规模地宣传这项活动。为了扩大影响,五岁以下儿童还拿到了维生素A补充剂及驱虫片剂。在一些高危地区,年幼的儿童还接种了口服脊髓灰质炎疫苗。

在像华潘省这样的偏远地区,卫生部要实现覆盖95%育龄妇女的目标还困难重重。像内森村的帕姆.彭夏韩(Pam Phengxaykhan)这样的村长在确保妇女了解这项活动并按时出席方面发挥至关重要的作用。

帕姆先生说:“我们一从省工作人员那里听到消息,就通过村里的公共广播系统在整个村里做宣传,我们还跟老挝妇女联盟的负责人和工作人员组织开会。”
结果,内森村里59名妇女中有53名在活动开展到第三天前接种了疫苗。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Lao People's Democratic Republic

Tetanus vaccination campaign reaches remote areas of Lao PDR

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Lao PDR/2009
A woman receives a Maternal and Neonatal Tetanus vaccination in Luang Prabang province.

VIENGXAY DISTRICT, Lao PDR, 16 December 2009 – Four days after its official launch, a Government  campaign to eliminate Maternal and Neonatal Tetanus (MNT) in Lao PDR is being taken to women in some of the most remote parts of the country.

Among the latest districts to be reached is Viengsay, a remote region close to the mountainous north-eastern border with Vietnam.

At a boarding school being used as a makeshift immunization centre last month, 154 female students – including many ethnic Hmong and Kmu – stood in line to receive the tetanus vaccine. They were joined by nearly 250 women from nearby villages.

In a region where immunization rates have traditionally been low, local health officials said the large turnout was a welcome sign that the campaign would reach its targets. The Government aims to vaccinate more than 800,000 women between the ages of 15-49 in high-risk areas by the third round of the campaign next year.

“It’s a good idea to do the vaccination here at the school,” said Dr. Phonevanh of the district health authority. “The girls are already here for class and the teachers can quickly organize them to receive the injection.”

A threat in rural areas

Lao PDR is one of 44 countries worldwide – and one of eight in the East Asia Pacific region  –  that have not yet eliminated MNT. The disease is a particular threat in rural areas where most most births take place at home without adequate sterile procedures.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Lao PDR/2009
Balloons give the Maternal and Neonatal Tetanus vaccination campaign a colourful lift-off at a launch event in Pakse.

For newborn babies, tetanus is usually fatal. WHO estimates that in 2004, 128,000 newborns died of Neonatal Tetanus.

The campaign has been boosted by high-level political support, including a speech last month by Lao President Choummaly Sayasone in which he urged people at all levels of society to lend their support.

“Our goal is to reduce the number of maternal and neonatal tetanus cases to such low levels that it is no longer a major problem,” said UNICEF Laos PDR Chief of Health and Nutrition Dr. Aboudou Karimou Andele, at a campaign launch event in Pakse.

The campaign is taking place with the support of UNICEF, the World Health Organization, the Japan International Cooperation Agency, the Luxembourg Agency for Development Cooperation (Lux-Development) and World Vision.

Village chiefs play a crucial role

The new campaign has been extensively promoted in the media and by local health workers. In order to maximize impact, children aged under five also receive Vitamin A supplements and de-worming tablets. In some high-risk areas young children also receive polio drops.

In remote areas like Huaphan province, the Ministry of Health’s target of reaching 95 per cent of all women of reproductive age becomes a challenge. Village chiefs like Pam Phengxaykhan of Nathan Village play a crucial role in ensuring that women are informed about the campaign and show up at the appropriate time.

“Once we got word from provincial health staff, we put out word over the village public address system, as well as organized a meeting with unit heads and staff from the Lao Women’s Union,” said Mr. Pam.

As a result, 53 out of 59 women from Nathan Village had been vaccinated by the third day of the campaign.


 

 

New enhanced search