吉尔吉斯斯坦

吉尔吉斯斯坦颁布有关强化面粉的法律以抗击隐性饥饿

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2009/Kira
吉尔吉斯斯坦有关强化面粉的新法律是为了帮助解决幼儿和孕妇的“隐性饥饿”问题。

吉尔吉斯斯坦比什凯克,2009年4月13日 – 吉尔吉斯共和国最近成为世界上第57个立法要求执行强化面粉标准的国家。根据这项法律,吉尔吉斯斯坦的所有面粉生产厂都必须为顶级和一级面粉加入由授权卫生机构批准的维生素和矿物质。

这项新的强化面粉法律不会引起面粉价格的大幅度上涨。

强化食用面粉的法律是为了帮助解决被专家们称为“隐性饥饿”的问题。“隐性饥饿”是指由吃廉价食品,饱肚但缺乏维生素和微量营养素引起的。这些问题尤其威胁着该国的儿童、孕妇和哺乳期的母亲们。

缺乏维生素的后果

“隐性饥饿”是吉尔吉斯共和国普遍存在的问题,解决缺乏微量营养素的问题是该国的当务之急。在2008年底,缺铁性贫血症的患病率在吉尔吉斯斯坦的幼儿当中是70%,在孕妇当中是50%。

强化面粉是与维生素缺乏作斗争的最简单的方法,它能改善吃面包、面条及其他面食的成人和年龄较大儿童的营养状况。

缺乏极为重要的营养元素将给成人和儿童带来严重的健康问题,甚至给腹中发育的胎儿造成永久性的伤害。只缺铁就会导致儿童智力和身体发育的延迟、妇女生殖系统紊乱、产妇死亡率高、免疫系统削弱和劳动生产率降低。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2009/Kira
在联合国儿童基金会的支持下,吉尔吉斯斯坦塔拉斯省的小磨坊为食用面粉加入微量营养素。

此外,如果孕妇没有摄入足够的叶酸,会造成婴儿的先天性神经管缺陷。比如脊柱裂,它是由不当形成的脊髓导致的终生残疾。

多年的努力

虽然强化面粉有许多好处,但是立法往往需要多年的准备。在日本的支持下,亚洲发展银行在吉尔吉斯共和国开始强化面粉运动。全球改善营养联盟(GAIN)资助试点项目和可行性研究,证明该国有强化面粉的能力。

尽管多次在政治上受到挫折,但是争取强化面粉的倡议在吉尔吉斯斯坦进行了十多年。在此期间,联合国儿童基金会给予地方政府技术上的支持,在小面粉厂开展试点项目,支持成立吉尔吉斯斯坦面粉厂协会,并资助对缺铁问题的研究。

为了促进这项新的立法,在地方媒体的支持下,在首都比什凯克举行了公众听证会。

议员奥斯蒙拜克.阿提克柏沃(Osmonbek Artykbaev)成为强化面粉问题的主要倡导者,并提供了有关吉尔吉斯斯坦流行贫血症的重要信息。由于所有这些努力,关于强化面粉的法律终于在今年2月被多数通过,并于3月17日由总统签署。


 

 

搜索

Kyrgyzstan

Kyrgyzstan enacts law on flour fortification to fight ‘hidden hunger’

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2009/Kira
Kyrgyzstan’s new flour-fortification law is designed to help resolve the problem of ‘hidden hunger’ among young children and pregnant women.

BISHKEK, Kyrgyzstan, 13 April 2009 – The Kyrgyz Republic recently became the 57th country in the world to approve legislation requiring flour fortification. Under the legislation, all flour producers in the country will have to fortify top-grade and first-grade flour with vitamins and minerals approved by authorized health agencies.

The new fortification requirements will not result in substantial price rise for flour.

The Law on Fortification of Baking Flour was designed to help resolve the problem of what specialists call ‘hidden hunger’ – which is caused by eating foods that are cheap and filling but deficient in essential vitamins and micronutrients. These deficiencies are especially dangerous for children, pregnant women and breast-feeding mothers in the country.

Consequences of vitamin deficiency
Solving the problem of micronutrient deficiency is one of the most urgent tasks in the Kyrgyz Republic, where ‘hidden hunger’ is common. At the end of 2008, the average prevalence of iron deficiency anaemia, for example, was 70 per cent among young children and 50 per cent among pregnant women in Kyrgyzstan.

Fortification of flour is one of the easiest strategies to combat vitamin deficiencies, as it improves the nutrition of adults and older children who eat bread, noodles and other wheat products.

Deficiencies in vital nutrients can lead to severe health problems in both adults and children, and can even cause permanent damage to developing children in utero. Iron deficiency alone leads to delayed intellectual and physical development in children, reproductive disorders among women, high maternal mortality, weakening of the immune system and a reduction in labour productivity.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2009/Kira
Baking flour is fortified with micronutrients at small mill in Talas province, Kyrgyzstan, with UNICEF’s support.

Furthermore, a lack of sufficient folic acid intake among pregnant women can cause neural tube birth defects such as spina bifida, which results in permanent disabilities from an improperly formed spinal cord.

Years in the making
Even though flour fortification has multiple benefits, legislation often requires years of preparation. In the Kyrgyz Republic, the Asian Development Bank – with support from Japan – set the stage by initiating flour fortification. The Global Alliance for Improved Nutrition (GAIN) funded pilot projects and feasibility studies that proved the country had the capacity to fortify flour.


Flour-fortification advocates have pursued the cause in Kyrgyzstan for over 10 years, despite numerous political setbacks. During that time, UNICEF gave technical support to the local governments by implementing pilot projects in small flour mills, supporting the creation of the Association of Mills of Kyrgyzstan and aiding research on iron deficiency.

To promote the new legislation, public hearings were held in Bishkek, the capital, with support from the local media.

Parliamentarian Osmonbek Artykbaev became a key advocate for fortification, and was provided with important information about the prevalence of anaemia in Kyrgyzstan. As a result of all these efforts, the law on fortified flour was approved by a majority in February, and signed by the President on 17 March.


 

 

New enhanced search