肯尼亚

干旱威胁肯尼亚北部儿童的健康和生存

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Video
一名肯尼亚的儿童在领肥果,这是一种可以将儿童从饥饿的边缘挽救回来的食疗食品。

莎拉.卡梅隆报道

肯尼亚特坎纳,2008年10月31日 – 位于肯尼亚北部的特坎纳(Turkana)正处于灾难的边缘。该地区持续数月没有降雨,未来气象预报不容乐观,数千名儿童身处危险之中。

玛撒是六个孩子的母亲,腹中还怀着第七个孩子。她家的小草棚中已经没有食物储备了。昨天晚上,她向邻居借了些玉米喂她的孩子们,但是今天早上他们又不得不饿着肚子去上学了。她家的畜栏里曾经有30只羊,但是这些羊全部死于该地区流传的一种疾病,该疾病已经杀死了200万只羊。

一些机构正在购买有病的或者体质较弱的羊进行屠杀,并给各家各户现金来替换他们的家畜或者供他们购买所需的食物。该地区食品价格飞涨,甚至比肯尼亚其它任何地区都高。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Video
在干旱的影响下,肯尼亚营养不良的儿童很容易感染疾病。很多来到洛德瓦尔医院的儿童都患有肺结核、肺炎或者腹泻。

获救于饥饿的边缘

干旱、疾病和市场力量带来的悲剧给最年幼的人口造成了最猛烈的冲击。

1.3万名营养不良的五岁以下儿童在救助中心接受治疗,玛撒最小的孩子格拉迪斯(Gladys)就是其中的一个。在距特坎纳镇10公里远的纳达帕尔村,一个救助中心就被建在茂密的树冠下。

在一个炎热的下午,十个月大的罗卡利(Lokali)和其它几十名儿童一起接受卫生工作者的检查并领到可供一周食用的“肥果” ,即一种可以将儿童从饥饿的边缘挽救回来的食疗食品。

联合国儿童基金会驻肯尼亚新闻处主任萨拉.喀麦隆(Sara Cameron)说, “鉴于现在总体的食物情况如此严峻,孩子们把肥果或者其它的营养补充食品带回家,可以和家人一起分享。当然,孩子们恢复的速度还是没有达到应有的水平。”

喂养及治疗中心

没有足够的食物使虚弱的儿童很容易感染疾病。每天都有患肺结核、肺炎或者腹泻的儿童来到洛德瓦尔医院。

可喜的是大多数住院的儿童都恢复得很好。虽然有生命危险的儿童的数量仍在上升,但是被挽救的生命的数量也在增加。

肯尼亚政府知道如何应对紧急情况。喂养及治疗中心经常人满为患,但是只要能够及时获得它们所需要的资源,就可以阻止饥饿的降临。

特坎纳的情况十分危急,因此需要长期的解决方案。但是对于像格拉迪斯这样的儿童来说,尽早获得帮助对她、她的家人和所有人都无疑是最好的。


 

 

视频(英文)

2008年9月:联合国儿童基金会通讯员盖瑞.斯瑞克报道肯尼亚北部压垮众多家庭的干旱危机。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Kenya

Drought threatens child health and survival in northern Kenya

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Video
A Kenyan child receives a supply of Plumpy'nut, a therapeutic food that can bring children back from the edge of starvation.

By Sara Cameron

TURKANA, Kenya, 31 October 2008 – Turkana district in northern Kenya is on the brink of disaster. There's been no rain for months, the forecast is grim and thousands of children are at risk.

Martha is a mother of six with her seventh on the way. In her small grass shelter, there's no food in the family store. Last night, she says, she borrowed some maize from a neighbor to feed her children, but this morning they went to school hungry.

She once had 30 goats in her corral, but all of them have died from a disease that has killed 2 million goats in the region.

Some agencies are buying diseased or weak goats for slaughter, and providing cash for families to replace their livestock or buy much-needed food. Food prices have skyrocketed here – even higher than elsewhere in Kenya.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Video
In the grip of drought, Kenya's malnourished children fall prey to disease. Many arrive at Lodwar Hospital suffering from tuberculosis, pneumonia or diarrhoea.

Back from the edge of starvation
The combined tragedy of drought, disease, and market forces is hitting the youngest the hardest.

Martha's youngest child, Gladys, is malnourished – one of 13,000 children under five who are treated at relief centres like the one set up under a spreading tree at Nadapal village, 10 km from the town of Lodwar.

Among dozens of other children there on a hot afternoon, ten month-old Lokali gets checked by a health worker and is given a week's supply of Plumpy'nut, a therapeutic food that can bring children back from the edge of starvation.

"Because the general food situation is so serious," said UNICEF Kenya Chief of Communication Sara Cameron, "when the children go back home with Plumpy'nut or with supplementary food, they're sharing it out with many other family members. And, of course, the children aren't recovering as fast as they should."

Feeding and treatment centres
Without enough food to go around, the weakest children easily fall prey to disease. Many arrive each day at Lodwar Hospital, suffering from tuberculosis, pneumonia or diarrhoea.

The good news is that most children at the hospital are now doing well. Even though the number of children at risk is rising, so is the number whose lives are being saved.

Kenya's Government knows how to cope with emergencies. Feeding and treatment centres are often overwhelmed, but they can and do hold hunger at bay if the resources they need are available at the right time.

The situation in Turkana is critical, and longer-term solutions are needed. Yet for children like Gladys, getting the help she needs now rather than later is definitely best for her, for her family, and for everyone.


 

 

Video

September 2008: UNICEF correspondent Gary Stryker reports on the drought crisis that is devastating families in northern Kenya.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search