印度尼西亚

印度尼西亚萨邦区进行大规模验血以查找疟原虫

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Indonesia/2010/Estey
印度尼西亚萨邦区阿努克劳迪村的一所学校,护士伊布.努阿(左)正在采集孩子的血样,由联合国儿童基金会支持的验血项目旨在消除该地区所有人口(不仅仅是发病人群)的疟疾疾病。

爱德华德.卡沃丁报道

印度尼西亚萨邦区,2010年7月13日–22岁的默罕默德.萨福日纳从未患过疟疾,但他知道这是种很危险的疾病。然而,这位来自印度尼西亚西北部萨邦岛的工人面对跪在旁边戴着手套拿着针的护士却有些害怕。

默罕默德紧闭双眼,头转向一边,不看护士和针头。房间里的孩子目不转睛地看着深红色的血慢慢滴到玻璃片上。

整个过程几分钟就结束了。他的血样已被安全地存储下来,等待运送回距离阿努克劳迪村村几公里的实验室,阿努克劳迪村是这次消除疟疾疾病运动的中心地区。

这次运动主要面向14个村的约24000名群众。常规的疟疾检查只针对出现疾病征兆的患者,但本次运动要确保不遗漏任何潜在的病毒携带者。

当地的医护人员伊布.纳扎利亚说:“我们要检查出人们所携带的疟疾病毒,防止进一步的传播。如果有人携带了这种寄生虫,蚊子叮咬他后,就可能将病毒传播给其他人。”

检查与治疗

由于并不是所有携带疟疾病毒的人都会立刻发病,而且还有人发病后不能立即接受治疗,因此病毒传播的风险非常高,疟原虫检查是为了让受感染的病患能够迅速接受治疗,从而消除疾病。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Indonesia/2010/Estey
阿米尔.费萨尔将染色剂滴到玻璃片上,这是由联合国儿童基金会支持的血液检查项目,旨在消除印度尼西亚萨邦区疟疾疾病,任何发病者都能在24小时内接受到免费治疗。

联合国儿童基金会疟疾预防办公室工作人员比尔.霍利(Bill Hawley)专门负责印度尼西亚的消除疟疾项目,他说:“使用蚊帐以及喷洒灭蚊药都对减少病毒的传播有作用,但是还必须在病毒传播之前找出寄生虫并消灭它们。”

他还说:“萨邦是印度尼西亚第一个实行该项目的地区,旨在进行全面的疟原虫检查,从而在病毒再次被传播前治疗病患,最终让疟疾疾病消失。”

“每个人都想有健康的身体”

阿努克劳迪村的所有村民都积极参加检查。检查组的六名成员都来自该地区,其中还包括一名村民志愿者——塞夫.巴赫里,他主要帮助邻居们树立信心,以及向人们解释为什么血检能够拯救生命。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Indonesia/2010/Estey
印度尼西亚萨邦区巴提沙克村,伊布.苏巴妮(中)抱着她刚出生的儿子站在家里的防疟疾蚊帐里,她的家人站在她的身边。

他说:“每个人都想有健康的身体,在整个过程中,我在村民们接受检查时与他们沟通,向他们了解情况,发现了他们所需要的,比如蚊帐等,然后再报告给政府部门。如果社区人民能够积极参与,那么检查运动就会更有组织性,也更好管理了。”

塞夫还说:“我还鼓励人们听取正确的建议,了解疟疾疾病的情况。人们曾认为吃木瓜会得疟疾,这就是向大家传递准确信息的重要性,人们需要知道如果感染了疟原虫而不接受治疗,那么就会患病。”

社区服务工作

塞夫没有接受过正规的医疗培训,只是个普通工人,现在除工资外,每周可以拿到志愿者的20万印尼盾(约20美元)津贴。这只是笔很小的支出,但是考虑到这些志愿者为该项目所作的贡献,尤其是帮助赢得了当地人民的信任,这笔开支确实很有价值。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Indonesia/2010/Estey
社区志愿者塞夫.巴赫里身穿一件印有宣传画的T恤,和印度尼西亚萨邦区阿努克劳迪村的村民们聊天。当地的志愿者向人们积极宣传有关健康的知识,现在正在鼓动大家参与疟疾疾病的检查。

检查组成员帕克.哈斯巴拉说:“这些志愿者发挥了很大的作用,尤其在社会动员方面,他们知道去哪里找人,还有哪些人被遗漏了。我们必须让所有人都接受到检查,因为这正是树立社区人民信心的时候。”

检查小组上个月已经为11000名村民进行了检查,结果只发现了9名病毒携带者,但是帕克希望可以定期开展这样的项目。

他说:“该地区至少有6个村疟疾疾病盛行,应该每三个月进行一次检查。如果要消除疟疾疾病,我们就需要未雨绸缪。”

消除疟疾是可能的

检查项目卓有成效。2005年之前,萨邦每1000人中约有80人患疟疾,但是在联合国儿童基金会、国际关怀组织、抗击艾滋病、结核病和疟疾全球基金等组织大力投资后,2009年,萨邦地区每1000人中只有10人患有疟疾。

今年,萨邦疟疾患病人数的比例更是下降到了千分之二,因此,消除疟疾疾病便成为工作的重中之重。

玛利亚.梅尔迪(Maria Meldi)是当地政府的一名医疗官员,她坚信消除疟疾是可能的。

她说:“我们每季度都组织向公众宣传预防疟疾的活动,这使得来接受检查的人数不断上升。我们还向孕妇和儿童发放蚊帐,并计划在学校进行宣传预防疟疾的教育。”

这次大规模的检查运动可以成为该省份其他地区效仿的先例,受到联合国儿童基金会的支持,希望该运动的成功开展以及所获得的经验能够带动其他地区在当地政府的领导下采取同样的方法,消除疟疾疾病。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Indonesia

Universal blood tests hunt down the malaria parasite in Sabang district, Indonesia

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Indonesia/2010/Estey
Nurse Ibu Noua (left) takes a blood sample from a child at a school in the village of Aneuk Laot in the Indonesian district of Sabang. The blood-testing programme, supported by UNICEF, aims to eliminate malaria in the district by targeting the whole population – not just people showing symptoms.

By Edward Carwardine

SABANG, Indonesia, 13 July 2010 – Mohamed Safrina, 22, has never suffered from malaria, but he knows it’s a dangerous illness. However, the labourer from Sabang, an island district off the north-west coast of Indonesia, is terrified of needles and a little apprehensive of the gloved nurse kneeling beside him.

Mohamed shuts his eyes and turns his head away from the nurse and the needle. The children in the room watch with fascination as the drops of crimson blood gather on a glass slide.

A few minutes later, it’s over. His sample is recorded and safely stored for transport back to the laboratory, a few kilometres from this village of Aneuk Laot, which has been the focus of this special malaria elimination campaign.

The campaign is targeting everyone in some 14 villages – a population of 24,000 people. Routine malaria testing only covers those demonstrating symptoms of the disease, but the current exercise sets out to ensure that no potential carrier is missed.

“We want to identify the human reservoirs of malaria and stop them passing on the disease,” explains local health worker Ibu Nazaria. “If someone is carrying the parasite, and is bitten by a mosquito again, that mosquito can pass on malaria to someone else in the same family, or same community.”

Testing and treatment

Because not everyone with malaria immediately displays the symptoms, or may not come forward for medical help, the risk of transmission can be high – but hunting the malaria parasite means that infected patients can receive treatment quickly, helping to eliminate the disease.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Indonesia/2010/Estey
Amir Faisal drops staining agent onto a slide as part of a UNICEF-supported blood-testing programme that aims to eliminate malaria in the Indonesian district of Sabang. Any positive cases will receive free treatment within 24 hours.

“Using bed nets and spraying against mosquitoes all bring the caseload down to a low point – but at that stage you have to focus on finding the parasite and wiping it out before it can be transmitted again,” says UNICEF Malaria Officer Bill Hawley, who leads the organization’s malaria programme in Indonesia.

“Sabang is the first district in Indonesia to take on this approach, with a clear focus on tracing the parasite through universal testing, and then treating carriers before the disease can be spread by another mosquito,” he notes. “Ultimately, this is going to make malaria a thing of the past.”

‘Everyone wants to be healthy’

In Aneuk Laot the whole community is involved in the testing campaign. The team of six testers comes from the district, and includes a village volunteer, Saiful Bahri. His role is instrumental in securing the confidence of his neighbours and explaining why blood testing saves lives.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Indonesia/2010/Estey
Ibu Suparni (centre) holds her newborn son while surrounded by other family members under an anti-malaria bed net in her home in Batee Shak village, in Indonesia's Sabang district.

“Everyone wants to be healthy,” he says. “In the team, I collect information from the villagers as they are tested. I find out what they need – like bed nets – and pass on information to the authorities. When someone from the community is involved, things are more organized, easier to manage.”

Saiful adds: “I can also help by ensuring people get proper advice and that they understand what malaria is. People used to think you could catch malaria from fruit like papaya. That’s why giving accurate information to the community is the real strength – people need to know that if they have the malaria parasite they will get sick again and again if not treated.”

Community outreach

Saiful is not medically trained. He is normally a daily labourer, whose income is now supplemented by the 200,000 rupiahs (approximately $20) monthly stipend that is provided to malaria volunteers in the district. It’s a small cost, considering the value that these volunteers bring to the initiative – not least in providing a trusted source of reassurance for local people.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Indonesia/2010/Estey
Community volunteer Saiful Bahri wears an awareness t-shirt while talking to villagers in Aneuk Laot, Sabang district, Indonesia. Local volunteers are essential to spreading information about health issues, in this case a malaria-testing initiative.

“These volunteers are vital,” says team member Pak Hasballah, “especially for social mobilization, knowing where to find people, to identify who has been missed by the testers. And we have to reach everyone, as this is what builds confidence amongst the community.”

This team alone has tested 11,000 people in the last month, finding just nine positive cases. But Pak would like to see the initiative running on a regular basis.

“There are at least six malaria-endemic villages in the district that should be screened every three months,” he says. “We need to be more proactive if we are to stop malaria here.”

Malaria elimination is possible

The testing programme is showing results. Prior to 2005, there were an estimated 80 malaria cases for every 1,000 people in Sabang. After massive investments by organizations such as UNICEF, Care International and the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria – amongst others – that figure fell to 10 per 1,000 in 2009.

This year, the caseload has dropped even further to just 2 per 1,000. At this point, the shift in focus towards malaria elimination is of paramount importance.

Dr. Maria Meldi, a local government health official, is confident that elimination is possible.

“We organize public awareness campaigns about malaria every quarter, which result in a noticeable increase in the number of people coming to be tested,” she explains. “We have a programme of distributing bed nets for pregnant women and children, and we have plans next for malaria education in schools.”

The mass testing campaign is a model that could be introduced to other districts in the province. The Sabang initiative is being supported by UNICEF in the hope that its success – and the lessons learned from the experience – will encourage other areas to adopt the same approach, led by local government bodies.


 

 

New enhanced search