艾滋病与儿童

在国际大会召开之前,联合国儿童基金会强调为消除艾滋病毒新感染病例而创新的必要性

7月22日,专家们将齐聚华盛顿特区,参加两年一度旨在减少艾滋病毒和艾滋病的国际艾滋病协会大会。联合国儿童基金会将举办领导论坛,强调为消除艾滋病毒新感染儿童病例而创新的必要性。联合国儿童基金会代表受艾滋病毒影响的儿童和妇女进行了大量的努力,谱写了一系列的故事,本文就是其中之一。

美国纽约,2012年7月19日——7月22日,专家们齐聚华盛顿特区,参加减少艾滋病毒和艾滋病的国际会议,联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克将借此机遇举办领导论坛,强调为消除艾滋病毒新感染儿童病例而创新的必要性。

联合国儿童基金会艾滋病毒/艾滋病项目负责人克雷格.麦克卢尔(Craig McClure)讨论联合国儿童基金会在国际社会抗击艾滋病毒/艾滋病中的作用。  在Realplayer中播放

 

国际艾滋病协会大会每两年召开一次,本次大会将持续至7月27日,雷克先生的论坛在会议的开始阶段举行。论坛预计会聚集超过两万名来自世界各地的代表,包括技术专家、民间团体、青少年及核心人口代表。他们将交换减少全球艾滋病的信息,并讨论接下来的步骤。今年大会的主题是“携手扭转趋势”。

实现扭转艾滋病趋势的国际承诺迫在眉睫,因此,此次大会应运而生。国际社会同意在2015年之前实现千年发展目标,包括与艾滋病毒和艾滋病直接相关的目标4、5、6。各国也承诺消除新感染艾滋病毒的儿童病例——将青少年新感染数量减半——同时,根据联合国艾滋病规划署的全球计划,在2015年之前,消除新感染艾滋病毒的儿童病例并维持其母亲的生命。

与会代表展示联合国儿童基金会的工作

曾担任国际艾滋病协会执行主任的艾滋病毒/艾滋病项目负责人克雷格.麦克卢尔带领联合国儿童基金会代表团参加此次国际艾滋病协会大会。他们将进行演讲,与其他专家参加研讨会,协助信息展位展示该组织的研究和宣传工作。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-2038/Markisz
联合国儿童基金会副执行主任吉塔.饶.古普塔(Geeta Rao Gupta)与联合国儿童基金会艾滋病毒/艾滋病项目负责人克雷格.麦克卢尔在纽约参加保护儿童免受艾滋病毒影响的小组讨论。

“我们的艾滋病毒项目的关键是集中关注儿童的生命周期。”麦克卢尔先生最近在接受采访时说道,“因此,未来几年当我们几乎消除艾滋病母婴传播时,如果我们保持专注,也需要记住......儿童生命的第二个十年——青少年阶段——也是极为重要的。我们认为,儿童拥有自出生至成年期不携带艾滋病毒的权利。

在即将举行的会议上,联合国儿童基金会代表将发表报告,强调在应对艾滋病毒时将儿童纳入其中的重要性,以及扭转艾滋病趋势时全球协调一致的必要性。

艾滋病毒和艾滋病高级顾问陈薇.罗(Chewe Luo)将于7月25日(周三)发表题为“扭转儿童和青少年的艾滋病毒/艾滋病趋势”的报告,并就“扭转趋势”所需的步骤做简要介绍:消除儿童艾滋病毒新感染病例;艾滋病毒的早期诊断和治疗;照顾青少年和弱势儿童;维持政治承诺。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-0726/Asselin
在塞拉利昂弗里敦(Freetown)的一家医院里,一名卫生工作者为一瓶抗逆转录病毒药物开处方。这瓶药是开给一名15岁的艾滋病毒抗体呈阳性的女孩的,用于防止她7天大的婴儿被感染。

关注青少年

那天晚些时候,联合国儿童基金会副执行主任吉塔.饶.古普塔将就满足青少年——特别是女童——的需求进行发言。

“我们的[青少年项目]重点关注撒哈拉以南非洲的青少年女性,因为她们在艾滋病毒感染面前首当其冲。”麦克卢尔先生说。“还要关注世界各地所谓的关键受影响人群(无论他们身处哪个国家,哪个大陆):与其他男性发生性关系的青少年男性,参与注射吸毒的青少年男性和女性,以及从事性工作的青少年。他们当然都是边缘化的群体。从公平的角度来看,我们需要确保他们的需求得到满足,就像任何其他人一样。”

各地区和总部的工作人员也将作口头摘要介绍,并就各自专长的领域和地区问题进行专题讨论。随着大会的召开,雷克先生的领导论坛也将在华盛顿的战略与国际研究中心举行。论坛是其“消除母婴传播的领导日程(eMTCT)”的组成部分,关注创新的必要性,以在22个重点国家(大部分位于撒哈拉以南非洲)实现eMTCT目标。


 

 

防治艾滋病运动

搜索

Children and HIV and AIDS

Ahead of major international conference, UNICEF stresses need for innovation to eliminate new HIV infections

On 22 July, experts will gather in Washington, D.C., for the International AIDS Society’s biennial conference on rolling back the HIV and AIDS epidemic. UNICEF will host a leadership forum stressing the need for innovation in eliminating new HIV infections in children. This story is part of a series illustrating UNICEF's efforts on behalf of children and women affected by HIV.

NEW YORK, USA, 19 July 2012 – As experts gather in Washington, D.C., on 22 July for a major international conference on rolling back the HIV and AIDS epidemic, UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake will host a leadership forum on the need for innovation to eliminate new HIV infections in children.

UNICEF HIV/AIDS Chief Craig McClure discusses UNICEF's role in the global fight against the HIV/AIDS epidemic.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Mr. Lake’s forum comes at the start of the International AIDS Society’s biennial conference, which runs through 27 July. That event is expected to bring together more than 20,000 delegates from around the world, including technical experts, civil society, youth and people from key populations. They will meet to exchange information on rolling back the global epidemic and to discuss next steps. The theme of this year’s conference is ‘Turning the Tide Together’.

It comes as time for achieving international commitments on reversing the epidemic is running short. The world community has agreed to accomplish the Millennium Development Goals by 2015, including Goals 4, 5 and 6, which relate directly to HIV and AIDS. And countries have also committed to eliminating new HIV infections among children – and halving new adolescent infections – by the same date, under the UNAIDS Global Plan towards the Elimination of New HIV Infections among Children by 2015 and Keeping their Mothers Alive.

Delegates to showcase UNICEF’s work

HIV and AIDS Section Chief Craig McClure, who formerly served as Executive Director of the International AIDS Society, is leading the UNICEF delegation to the IAS conference. Staff will make presentations, participate in workshops with other experts and lend a hand at an information booth showcasing the organization’s research and advocacy work.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-2038/Markisz
UNICEF Deputy Executive Director Geeta Rao Gupta and UNICEF HIV/AIDS Chief Craig McClure attend a panel discussion in New York City about protecting children from HIV.

“What’s key in our HIV programme really is that we focus on the life cycle of a child,” Mr. McClure said in a recent interview. “So while we are on the verge of eliminating mother-to-child transmission in the next few years, if we remain focused, we also need to remember that… that the second decade of a child’s life, the adolescent phase, is critically important. We believe that children have the right to be born HIV-free and to remain HIV-free through to adulthood.”

At the upcoming meeting, UNICEF staff will present plenaries stressing the importance of including children in the HIV response and emphasising the need for coordinated global action to reverse the epidemic.

On Wednesday, 25 July, Senior HIV and AIDS Advisor Chewe Luo will deliver a plenary entitled ‘Turning the Tide on HIV/AIDS in Children and Youth’.  She will provide an overview of steps needed to ‘turn the tide’: eliminating new HIV infections in children, early HIV diagnosis and treatment, care for adolescents and vulnerable children, and sustaining political commitment.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-0726/Asselin
A health worker prescribes a bottle of antiretroviral medicine at a hospital in Freetown, Sierra Leone. The medicine is being dispensed to an HIV-positive 15-year-old girl for her 7-day-old baby, part of efforts to prevent transmission of the disease.

Focus on adolescents

Later that day, UNICEF Deputy Executive Director Geeta Rao Gupta will speak on addressing the needs of adolescents, particularly girls.

“Our focus [in adolescent programming] is on young girls in sub-Saharan African who bear the brunt of HIV infection,” Mr. McClure said. “And throughout the world in whichever country, in whichever continent, the so-called key affected populations: Young males having sex with other males, young girls and boys engaged in injecting drug use, and young people involved in sex work. These are, of course, communities that are marginalized. From an equity perspective, we need to ensure that their needs are as met as anyone else’s.”

Regional and HQ staff will also make oral abstract presentations and offer symposia on their areas of expertise and regional issues.
Mr. Lake’s Leadership Forum will take place at Washington’s Center for Strategic and International Studies as the conference gets underway. It is part of his Leadership Agenda on the Elimination of Mother-to-Child Transmission (eMTCT), and focuses on the need for innovation to achieve eMTCT targets in 22 priority countries, most in sub-Saharan Africa.


 

 

AIDS campaign

New enhanced search