水、环境和卫生

联合国秘书长启动全球可持续环境卫生计划,力争在 2015 年之前实现环境卫生目标

联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克强调平等发展机会

布朗温.莱科特报道

美国纽约,2011 年 6 月 21 日 – 联合国秘书长潘基文今天上午在联合国总部向与会者指出:环境卫生和获得基本环境卫生服务必须处于发展讨论的重心位置,与会者包括秘书长的顾问委员会水利环境卫生部成员、以及其他要员。

视频:2011 年 6 月 21 日——联合国儿童基金会报道联合国秘书长潘基文在纽约总部启动了一项名为“可持续的环境卫生:2015 年前的五年奋斗行动计划”。

 

“环境卫生是一个敏感话题,”潘基文先生说,“这是一个不受欢迎的话题。也许这就是我们尚未得到针对环境卫生危机而应采取行动的原因 – 但是,必须改变这种局势。”

加快进程

他在“可持续的环境卫生:2015 年前的五年奋斗行动计划”的启动仪式上发表演讲,这个行动计划是由联合国大会通过,去年12 月创建的提案,旨在加快实现到 2015 年应实现的改善全球环境卫生的千年发展目标。

参与此启动仪式的还有联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克、乌干达水利环境部部长玛丽亚.穆塔刚巴和奥兰治王子殿下。

潘基文先生接着强调,改善环境卫生的积极影响是持久且深远的,特别是在健康卫生和教育等领域。

UNICEF Photo
© UN Photo/Eskinder Debebe
启动仪式上:联合国秘书长潘基文(右四)、卫生顾问委员会主席荷兰王储威廉.亚历山大(右三)、联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克(左三)、乌干达水利环境部部长玛丽亚.穆塔刚巴(左四),以及日本常驻联合国代表西田恒雄(右二)。

“生活在良好卫生环境下的人们能更好地抵御更严重的疾病,”潘基文生指出,“此外,适当的学校环境卫生设施已被证明可以提高女孩入学率,从而让她们获得平等权力。简而言之,改善环境卫生有利于我们实现所有的发展目标。”

环境卫生目标是千年发展目标中进展较慢的众多目标之一。环境卫生行动计划旨在将全球无法持续获得基本环境卫生的人口比例减半。世界上约 26 亿人口 - 欠发达地区人口的一半 - 仍然无法获得基本环境卫生服务。

环境卫生条件的平等

雷克先生谈到了平等问题。“很多社区不仅没有适当的环境卫生设施,甚至对环境卫生设施没有使用权,”他这样说道,“因此,我们可以通过更专注于实现这些社区的的环境卫生,来取得最大全球性进展。这是常识问题。”

全世界超过 10 亿人口根本没有环境卫生设施,他们随地大小便。雷克先生强调,在环境卫生领域取得真正进展需要大家从各自的社区环境卫生抓起,让在社区的人们积极关注环境卫生问题,并带头停止这种危险的行为。

UNICEF Photo
© UN Photo/Eskinder Debebe
秘书长潘基文(右)会见卫生顾问委员会水利环境卫生部主席荷兰王储威廉.亚历山大 (Willem-Alexander)。

他指出:“自我们强调在东部和南部非洲采取社区负责人带头的方法之后,通过联合国儿童基金会方案获得环境卫生设施使用权的人口数量增长了 6 倍。”

穆塔刚巴女士指出,为了让人们完全致力于全面环境卫生目标,教育必须成为重心。“人们常说,提供基本环境卫生服务不是复杂的事,的确如此,”她指出,“但是,它也不是那么容易,尤其是当你来到贫穷且支离破碎的国家时。”

全人类的环境卫生

穆塔刚巴女士补充道,在欠发达地区,人们往往还不了解诸如随地大小便的行为会给健康带来损灭性的危害、以及洗手这样简单的行为可以营造更好的生活。她指出,教育是形成此类环境卫生习惯的根基。

改善环境卫生实实在在的好处包括实现更健康的体魄和更高的教育水平,这反过来又促成更多的财富和生产力。“可持续的环境卫生:2015 年前的五年奋斗行动计划”不仅要实现千年发展目标,还要超越此目标,确保全人类拥有良好的环境卫生条件。


 

 

搜索

Water, Sanitation and Hygiene

UN Secretary-General launches global drive to meet sanitation targets by 2015

UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake emphasizes equity-driven approach

By Branwyn Lancourt

NEW YORK, USA, 21 June 2011 – Sanitation and access to proper toilets must be at the centre of discussions on development, UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon told a gathering this morning at UN Headquarters that included members of the Secretary-General’s Advisory Board on Water and Sanitation, and other dignitaries.

VIDEO: 21 June 2011 - UNICEF reports on the launch of 'Sustainable Sanitation: Five-Year Drive to 2015' by UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon in New York.

 

“Sanitation is a sensitive issue,” said Mr. Ban. “It is an unpopular subject. Perhaps that is why the sanitation crisis has not been met with the kind of response we need – but that must change.”

Speeding up progress

He was speaking at the launch of ‘Sustainable Sanitation: Five-Year Drive to 2015’, an initiative established this past December with a resolution adopted by the UN General Assembly to speed up progress on the Millennium Development Goal target of improving global sanitation by 2015.

Also taking part at the launch were UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake, Ugandan Minister of Water and Environment Maria Mutagamba and his Royal Highness the Prince of Orange.

Mr. Ban went on to emphasize that the positive effects of improved sanitation are lasting and far-reaching, particularly in the areas of health and education.

UNICEF Image
© UN Photo/Eskinder Debebe
At the launch: UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon (fourth from right) Prince Willem-Alexander of the Kingdom of the Netherlands (third from right), Chair of the Advisory Board; UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake (third from left); Maria Mutagamba (fourth from left), Uganda’s Minister of Water and Environment; and Tsuneo Nishida (second from right), Permanent Representative of Japan to the UN.

“People living in hygienic conditions are better prepared to fight off harder diseases,” said Mr. Ban. “In addition, adequate school sanitation facilities have been shown to encourage school attendance by adolescent girls, contributing to their empowerment and equality. In short, improved sanitation can contribute to all our development goals.”

Sanitation is among the Millennium Development Goal targets making least progress. The aim is to halve the proportion of the global population without sustainable access to basic sanitation. About 2.6 billion people in the world – half of the population in developing regions – still don’t have access to a toilet or latrine.

Equity in sanitation

Mr. Lake addressed the issue of equity. “Many communities not only have inadequate access to sanitation. They have no access,” he said. “So we can make the greatest global progress by focusing our efforts more on reaching these communities. It’s common sense.”

Over a billion people worldwide have no sanitation facilities at all, and practise open defecation. Mr. Lake stressed that real progress in the area of sanitation needs to stem from the communities themselves, by getting them to talk about the problem and take the lead in ending this dangerous practice.

UNICEF Image
© UN Photo/Eskinder Debebe
Speaking with reporters (from left): UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon; Prince Willem-Alexander of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, Chair of the Advisory Board; Maria Mutagamba, Uganda’s Minister of Water and Environment; UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake

“Since we began emphasizing community-led approaches in Eastern and Southern Africa, the number of people who have gained access to sanitation through UNICEF programmes has increased six fold,” he said.

Ms. Mutagamba pointed out that in order to get people to fully commit to the idea of total sanitation, education must be a focus. “It is often said that providing toilets is not a rocket science and indeed it is true,” she noted, “…but it’s also not that easy, especially when you come to broken countries.”

Sanitation for all

Ms. Muragamba added that often in developing regions it is unclear how practices like open defecation can ultimately harm health or simply washing hands can lead to a better life. Education is fundamental to tempering such sanitation practices, she said.

The tangible benefits of improved sanitation include better health and higher levels of education, which in turn lead to increased wealth and productivity. ‘Sustainable Sanitation: Five-Year Drive to 2015’ aims to not only reach the Millennium Development Goal target, but go beyond it to ensure sanitation for all.


 

 

New enhanced search