联合国儿童基金会执行局

会议第三天,执行委员会讨论了儿童权利及国家委员会的重要作用

2010年年会

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1094/Markisz
联合国秘书长反对暴力侵害儿童事务特别代表玛尔塔.桑托斯.派(Marta Santos Pais)(右)在联合国儿童基金会执行委员会年会上发言。她的旁边(左起)依次是儿基会执行主任、2010年年会执行委员会主席安东尼.雷克,孟加拉国长期驻联合国代表阿布卡拉姆.阿卜杜勒.穆明(Abulkalam Abdul Momen),执行委员会秘书长尼克拉斯.普朗(Nicolas Pron)和联合国人权事务高级专员办公室副主任玛吉.尼科尔森(Maggie Nicholson)。

薇薇安.肖报道

美国纽约,2010年6月4日–联合国儿童基金会执行委员会2010年年会的第三天,会议重点讨论进一步促使《儿童权利公约》的任择议定书获得全球各国批准以及联合国儿童基金会国家委员会发挥的重要作用。

 点击此处查看视频

2000年5月,联合国大会为补充《儿童权利公约》通过了两项任择议定书。议定书为那些易受武装冲突、被贩卖、被迫卖淫或从事色情活动的儿童提供了道德和法律上的保障。

联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克在昨天的会议上说:“任择议定书是我们对全世界儿童,尤其是弱势儿童做出的承诺。时间已经向我们证明,这两项任择议定书是道义的要求。”

倡议全球批准的运动

联合国儿童基金会携手联合国及一些儿童权利专家于上月参加了庆祝任择议定书通过十周年的纪念活动,并发起全球运动,争取到2012年使这两项议定书获得全世界的批准。 到目前为止,全世界2/3的国家已经批准了两项议定书,但联合国领导人及倡导者仍在为议定书在全球获得道德上的认可而努力。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1092/Markisz
联合国儿童基金会执行委员会2010年年会在纽约联合国总部举行,联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克(中)在第三天的会议上发表讲话。

议定书获得全球批准十分必要:大约25万年轻人仍然在为世界各地的武装组织或武装部队服务,调查发现,每年约有120万名儿童被贩卖到国外,很多越境或境内贩卖儿童的行为都以卖淫为目的。

联合国秘书长反对暴力侵害儿童事务特别代表玛尔塔.桑托斯.派在对执行委员会发言时说到,议定书在全球范围内获得批准和贯彻实施将对保护儿童的权利有极其深远的意义。

玛尔塔.桑托斯.派女士说:“我们应该生活在这样的世界:孩子们拥有美好的童年,他们可以尽情玩耍、学习,他们的权利得到保护,身份得到承认,安全与福利得到充分的关注。我深信只要议定书能获得全球批准,我们的美好目标就能够实现。”

国家委员会的支持

建立一个适宜儿童生存的世界也是今天执行委员会就有关联合儿童基金会国家委员会工作而讨论的中心议题。联合儿童基金会国家委员会在36个工业化国家调动资源,支持联合国儿童基金会的工作。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1097/Markisz
联合国儿童基金会日本委员会(国家委员会之一)代表全速水(Ken Hayami)参加联合国儿童基金会执行委员会2010年年会。

国家委员会今年首次成为执行委员会年会特别议程的主题。联合国儿童基金会国家委员会常设小组和日本、冰岛、西班牙及瑞士国家委员会执行主任向执行委员会介绍了本国的相关计划及活动等最新动态。

每年, 国家委员会都为联合国儿童基金会的有关儿童项目筹集近10亿美元的资金。但他们所做的工作还远远不止这些,国家委员会是儿基会的重要合作伙伴,同各国政府、私有部门、社会名人以及大众媒体协力合作,提高民众保护发展中国家儿童权利的意识。

安东尼.雷克主任对国家委员会所作的贡献表示了诚挚的谢意,高度肯定了他们在支持联合国儿童基金会拯救、改善和保护儿童等方面发挥的重要作用。


 

 

视频(英文)

2010年6月3日:联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克讨论《儿童权利公约》的任择议定书获得全球各国批准的必要性。
 视频  |

2010年6月3日:联合国秘书长反对暴力侵害儿童事务特别代表玛尔塔.桑托斯.派在联合国儿童基金会执行委员会年会上就有关《儿童权利公约》的任择议定书发表讲话。
 视频  |

2010年6月3日:联合国儿童基金会日本委员会执行主任 早见肯(Ken Hayami )谈论日本与联合国儿童基金会的历史联系及所开展的工作。
 视频  |   

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

儿童权利公约

搜索

UNICEF Executive Board

On day three, Executive Board discusses child rights and the key role of National Committees

2010 Annual Session

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1094/Markisz
Special Representative of the Secretary-General on Violence against Children Marta Santos Pais (right) addresses the Annual Session of the UNICEF Executive Board. Beside her (from left) are Executive Director Anthony Lake, President of the 2010 UNICEF Executive Board (and Permanent Representative of Bangladesh to the UN) Abulkalam Abdul Momen, Executive Board Secretary Nicolas Pron and Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights Deputy Director Maggie Nicholson.

By Vivian Siu

NEW YORK, USA, 4 June 2010 – On day three of the UNICEF Executive Board’s 2010 Annual Session, discussions focused on moving towards universal ratification of the Optional Protocols to the Convention on the Rights of the Child and on the vital role played by UNICEF’s National Committees.

VIDEO: Watch now

In May 2000, the UN General Assembly adopted two Optional Protocols supplementing the wide-ranging protections of the Convention. The protocols offer additional protection for children who are vulnerable to armed conflict or to trafficking, exploitation, prostitution and pornography.

“The Optional Protocols are a promise we made to all the world’s children, especially to the most vulnerable,” UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake told the Executive Board at yesterday’s meeting. “It is time that all of us make clear that the Optional Protocols are morally mandatory.”

Global campaign for ratification

Last month, UNICEF, together with the United Nations and child-rights experts, marked the 10th anniversary of the adoption of the Optional Protocols and launched a global campaign aiming for their worldwide ratification by 2012. To date, two-thirds of the world’s nations have ratified the protocols, but UN leaders and advocates are seeking a moral consensus for universal ratification.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1092/Markisz
UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake (centre) speaks at the third day of the 2010 UNICEF Executive Board's Annual Session, held at UN headquarters in New York.

The need for this consensus is clear: Some 250,000 young people remain associated with armed groups or armed forces around the globe, and studies have placed the number of children trafficked across international borders annually at 1.2 million. Many of those trafficked both within and across borders are forced into prostitution.

In her address to the Executive Board, Marta Santos Pais, the UN Special Representative of the Secretary-General on Violence against Children, noted that universal ratification and effective implementation of the Optional Protocols would constitute an invaluable contribution to child rights.

“A world in which girls and boys can enjoy childhood, a time of play and learning, where they are protected and respected, where their rights are promoted, where their safety and well-being are paramount – I’m truly convinced that by universal ratification we will be getting closer to this ideal,” said Ms. Pais.

Support from National Committees

The ideal of a world fit for children was also at the centre of today’s Executive Board discussion about UNICEF’s National Committees, which mobilize resources and advocate in support of UNICEF’s work in 36 industrialized countries.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1097/Markisz
Japan Committee for UNICEF Executive Director Ken Hayami, one of the National Committee representatives participating in the Annual Session of the 2010 UNICEF Executive Board.

For the first time this year, the National Committees were the subject of a special agenda item at the Executive Board’s Annual Session. The Chairperson of the Standing Group of National Committees for UNICEF and the Executive Directors from the National Committees of Japan, Iceland, Spain and Switzerland updated the Executive Board on their respective initiatives and campaigns.

Each year, the National Committees raise a total of approximately $1 billion to fund UNICEF’s programmes for children. Yet fundraising is only one aspect of the support they provide. The committees are key partners, as well, in working with governments, the private sector, celebrities and the media, and raising the general public’s awareness of children’s rights and needs in the developing world.

Executive Director Anthony Lake expressed deep gratitude to the National Committees for their tireless dedication and acknowledged their critical role in UNICEF’s efforts to save, improve and protect the lives of all children.


 

 

Video

3 June 2010: UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake discusses the need for universal ratification of the Optional Protocols to the Convention on the Rights of the Child.  VIDEO  high | low

3 June 2010: Special Representative of the Secretary-General on Violence against Children Marta Santos Pais addresses UNICEF's Executive Board on the Optional Protocols of the CRC.
 VIDEO  high | low

3 June 2010: Japan Committee for UNICEF Executive Director Ken Hayami talks about his country's historic connections with UNICEF and its work.
 VIDEO  high | low  


Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

CRC @ 20

New enhanced search