幼儿生存和发展

在世界母乳喂养周开始之际,联合国儿童基金会敦促给母亲们更多的支持

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/Benin/2006/Pudlowski
以社区为基础的推动工作是提高全母乳喂养率最有效的方法之一。图为贝宁一个母亲之间互助的支持母乳喂养的团体。

伊丽莎白.基姆

美国纽约,2008年8月1日 — 在全球120个国家开展庆祝活动的世界母乳喂养周,今天拉开了帷幕,活动呼吁各国政府、医疗工作者和各地妇女对新妈妈给予更多的支持,她们需要母乳哺喂婴儿的空间、时间和鼓励。

“在改善儿童生存问题上,母乳喂养是一个关键的手段,”联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.维尼曼说。“在发展中国家,对生命的最初6个月的全母乳喂养,能够避免多达13%的5岁以下的儿童的死亡”。

联合国儿童基金会支持世界母乳喂养行动联盟的目标,建立倡导母乳喂养的全球网络,从而“为母亲们提供支持创造最佳条件”。

推动全母乳喂养

最关键的支持网络,联合国儿童基金会方案主任尼古拉斯.阿利普伊博士说,是“围绕母亲和孩子的核心圈,他们对母乳喂养的益处有一个很好的理解。”

家庭成员、母亲们和医疗工作者都可以发挥作用,要鼓励新妈妈超越客观条件或身体的障碍,坚持母乳喂养,避免‘混合喂养’和用米汤,其他液体或食品稀释母乳。

如果不这样,将会产生严重的影响。拿26岁的毛里塔尼亚母亲达达.明.布莱希姆来说 ,她不得已而给新生儿喂浓缩奶,因为她认为她没有足够的母乳。对人工替代品的反应,让婴儿丧失了母亲的抗体, 达达的婴儿得了重病。

达达的医生是第一个对医疗体系的缺憾感到惋惜的人。“尽管强烈地建议采用母乳喂养,但在我们这个每年约有7000名婴儿诞生的产科病房,我们既没有一个特别的单位,也没有一个母乳喂养的特别方案,”他说。

政府的支持作用

在国家层面上,各国政府必须制定“保护产妇”的政策,联合国儿童基金会阿利普伊博士说。坚持母乳喂养最常见的障碍之一就是妇女需要回去工作,因为条件常常不容许她把孩子带在身边或抽时间给孩子哺乳。

阿利普伊博士补充说,各国政府还必须关注提倡母乳喂养优于婴儿配方奶,婴儿配方奶“如此诱人以至于人们认为它更可取。了解母乳喂养与婴儿配方奶或奶粉是多么不同的人越多,选择母乳喂养的人就越多。”

一个很好的例子就是印度尼西亚,那里相对较高的母乳喂养率已经被发生自然灾害期间所捐赠的母乳代用品给改变了,从1987年的高达63%下滑到现在仅有7%的印尼新生儿采用全母乳喂养。

基层的工作

虽然国家政策对提高认识是十分重要的,但当地社区的工作往往更有效。从非洲到南美洲,在一些最不发达国家和最具挑战的国家,母乳喂养工作取得了迅速而意义重大的进展。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/ HQ96-1032/Noorani
在菲律宾马尼拉荷西.法贝拉‘爱婴’纪念医院,医疗工作者帮助一名女子用母乳哺喂她的新生儿。

在马达加斯加,多亏了社区的医疗措施,在短短的一年中,全母乳喂养,从46%上升至83%。

在贝宁,母乳喂养的宣传认识到,把信息传递给社区的妇女,而不是代表家庭做决定的男人。现在,这些支持领袖认识到,母亲和祖母们必须对母乳的优越性深信不疑。

由于许多家庭面临着严重的食品短缺问题,新生儿人工食品的经济成本是支持全母乳喂养的另一个很好的理由。

母亲肩负负责

在尼日尔,只有14%的母亲采用全母乳喂养婴儿,联合国儿童基金会支持100多个母亲团体。辅导员们提醒母亲们奶粉昂贵,鼓励她们考虑母乳喂养是对家庭的经济贡献。

在多哥,营养顾问强调,在食物不稳定时,母亲要靠照顾好自身的健康来细心呵护她们的婴儿。

“现在是鼓励孕妇和哺乳期的母亲们对自身的健康负责任的时候了,特别是在贫困和与营养不良作斗争的乡村,这是一个迫切关注的问题,”联合国儿童基金会营养官员米文森特.马库说。

8月1日至7日是世界母乳喂养周。


 

 

视频

2008年7月31日:
联合国儿童基金会记者伊丽莎白.基姆就支持团体在促进全母乳喂养中的作用进行了报道。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Young child survival and development

UNICEF urges more support for mothers as World Breastfeeding Week begins

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/Benin/2006/Pudlowski
A mother-to-mother breastfeeding support group in Benin. Community-based promotion efforts are one of the most effective methods of increasing exclusive breastfeeding rates.

By Elizabeth Kiem

NEW YORK, USA, 1 August 2008 – Celebrated in 120 countries around the globe, World Breastfeeding Week kicks off today with an exhortation to governments, health workers and women everywhere to give increased support to new mothers who need the space, time and encouragement to breastfeed their babies.

“Breastfeeding is a key tool in improving child survival,” said UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman. “Exclusive breastfeeding for the first six months of life can avert up to 13 per cent of under-five deaths in developing countries.”

UNICEF supports the objective of the World Alliance for Breastfeeding Action, the global network for breastfeeding advocacy, to “create optimal conditions for the provision of mothers support.” 

Promoting exclusivity
The most crucial network of support, says UNICEF Director of Programmes Dr. Nicholas Alipui, is the “inner circle around the mother and child, [who] have a good understanding of the benefits of breastfeeding.”

Family members, fellow mothers, and health workers can all play a role by encouraging new mothers to persevere over logistical or physical obstacles to breastfeed and to avoid ‘mixed feeding’ and dilution of breast milk with rice water, or other liquids or foods.

Failing to do so can have serious repercussions. Take the case of Dadda Mint Brahim, a 26-year-old mother in Mauritania who felt compelled to give concentrated milk to her newborn, thinking that she didn’t have enough breast milk. Reacting to the artificial substitute and deprived of his mother’s antibodies, Dadda’s baby became severely ill.

Dadda’s doctor was the first to lament the shortcomings of the health system.

“Even though breastfeeding is strongly recommended, we have neither a special unit, nor do we have a specific programme for breastfeeding in our maternity ward, which  carries out around 7,000 childbirths yearly,” he said.

Governments’ support role
On a national level, governments must enact policies “to protect maternity,” said UNICEF’s Dr. Alipui. One of the most common barriers to sustained breastfeeding is a woman’s need to return to work – often in conditions that don’t allow her to bring a child with her, or take time to breastfeed.

Dr. Alipui added that governments must also take care to promote breastfeeding above infant formula, which has been “so glamorized that people think it is preferable. The more people realize how vastly different breast milk is from infant formula or powdered milk, the more people will opt to breastfeed.”

A case in point is Indonesia, where relatively high rates of breastfeeding have been eroded by the donation of breast milk substitutes during natural disasters. Today, just 7 percent of Indonesian newborns are exclusively breastfed, down from a high of 63 per cent in 1987, according to newly available country data.

Grassroots efforts
While national policies are important to advancing awareness, local community efforts are often even more effective. Rapid and significant gains in breastfeeding have been made from Africa to South America -  and in some of the least developed and most challenged countries.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/ HQ96-1032/Noorani
Health workers help a woman adjust to breastfeeding her newborn infant at the ‘baby-friendly' Jose Fabella Memorial Hospital in Manila, the Philippines.

In Madagascar, one of the first countries to adopt a grassroots breastfeeding education approach, exclusive breastfeeding rose from 46 per cent to 83 per cent in targeted areas over a single year, thanks to community health initiatives.

In Benin, breastfeeding advocates have learned to deliver their message to the women of the communities rather than to the men, who typically make family decisions. Now, these support leaders know that it is the mothers and grandmothers who must be convinced of the superiority of breast milk.

With many families already facing extreme food insecurity, the economic costs of artificial foods for newborns are another good reason to step up support for exclusive breastfeeding.

Mothers taking charge

In Niger, where just 14 per cent of mothers feed their infants only breast milk, UNICEF supports over 100 mothers’ groups. Counsellors remind mothers that milk powder is expensive and encourage them to consider breastfeeding an economic contribution to their families.

In Togo, nutrition advisors emphasize that in a time of food instability, mothers will best serve their babies by attending to their own health.

“Now is the time to encourage pregnant and lactating mothers to take charge of their health, particularly in villages where the fight against poverty and malnutrition is already a pressing concern,” said UNICEF Nutrition Officer M. Vincent Maku.

World Breastfeeding Week is observed 1-7 August.


 

 

Video

31 July 2008:
UNICEF correspondent Elizabeth Kiem reports on the role of support groups in promoting exclusive breastfeeding.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search