刚果民主共和国

在民主刚果,联合国儿童基金会支持为帮助童工重返校园所做的努力

科妮莉亚.沃尔特(Cornelia Walther)报道

刚果民主共和国吉普士(KIPUSHI),2012年6月13日——16岁的比特西瓦尔瓦.布库拉(Bitshilwalwa Bukula)满头大汗,准备破碎一个大石块。一件小塑料斗篷聊以遮蔽正午烈日的暴晒,工作非常辛苦。

视频:联合国儿童基金会通讯员苏珊娜.波克斯(Suzanne Beukes)就打破刚果民主共和国采矿业中的童工恶性循环所做的努力进行报道。  在Realplayer中播放

 

两年前,因父母付不起学费,比特西瓦尔瓦被迫辍学。每天,两个妹妹和她的母亲与她一起,前往吉普士的一家个体矿场从事碎石的工作。之后,这些碎石将作为建筑材料出售。

从周一到周日,她每天从早到晚都要重复相同的工作。忙碌一天,只有3000法郎的微薄收入,约合3.30美元,却可以解决全家人的口粮问题。

“我看到我的朋友们去上学,感到很难过。”她说。“我不想干这份工作,想回去上学。”

摆脱矿场生涯的出路

19岁的萨拉.马博耶(Sarah Mapoye)曾经在矿场做工,正在为一个年轻姑娘缝制衬衫,已经到收尾阶段。“做好这件衬衫,我的客户会付给我3500法郎。”她骄傲地说。

现在,萨拉是一名裁缝。四年前,她在吉普士矿场做工,像比特西瓦尔瓦一样做碎石的工作。“‘第一组’的工作人员在矿场遇见了我。就是他们教我学习缝纫的技巧,从而改善了生活。”萨拉说。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF DRC/2012/Walther
非政府组织“第一组”(Group One)是联合国儿童基金会的合作伙伴。在民主刚果吉普士矿场,该组织的一名社会工作者与一个正在工作的男孩攀谈。

非政府组织“第一组”在联合国儿童基金会的支持下,力图把儿童从矿场中拯救出来。年幼的孩子会被安排进入小学;16岁以上的青少年会被安排学习专业技能,比如缝纫、木工或机械制造等本领,使他们能够自食其力。“第一组”的项目经理菲菲.穆维泽(Fifi Mweze)解释道:“我们的目标是为他们提供可持续发展的替代技能。这些孩子及其家庭都知道在矿场做工不好,但是他们别无选择。额外提供的创收工具箱成为他们开创新生活的起点。”

正在取得进步

刚果民主共和国(DRC)拥有天然的巨大财富,但贫困状况令人触目惊心。加丹加(Katanga)省与法国领土面积相当,是世界上铜和钴矿藏最丰富的地区之一。在民主刚果从未接受教育的小学适龄儿童中,该省所占比例最高。

根据联合国儿童基金会与合作伙伴共同支持的2010年《多指标类集调查》(Multiple Indicator Cluster Survey)显示,约有25%的儿童未接受小学教育;在5至14岁年龄段,有42%的儿童从事各种各样的体力劳动。但是,社会在进步:该国已经批准了旨在推广免费小学教育和禁止利用儿童从事危险工作的多项政策。加丹加省省长莫伊泽.卡徒比.查普韦(Moïse Katumbi Chapwe)说:“如今,在矿场做工的儿童比十年前少了。父母们知道送孩子去那里做工是非法的。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF DRC/2012/Walther
萨拉.马博耶今年19岁,在民主刚果吉普士做裁缝工作。非政府组织“第一组”是联合国儿童基金会的合作伙伴,帮助她脱离了矿工生涯。

然而,该国的童工现象仍旧普遍,在矿区尤为明显。实际上,据估计目前在加丹加省南部矿区的童工数量达到四万,约占工人总数的三分之一。联合国儿童基金会驻民主刚果南部地区办事处儿童保护专员马克西姆.热尔曼(Maxime Germain)解释道:“矿区童工面临多种生理和心理侵犯及受虐待的危险。健康问题和缺乏教育才是最重要的,儿童还是需要做儿童该做的事。”

尊重儿童权利

尽管正式的小学教育是免费的,但学生仍需支付其他费用,以维持学校的基本运营,并弥补因政府投入不足所产生的缺口,为教师发工资。这对许多家庭来说就是沉重的负担,进而助长了童工现象。

为创建一个尊重儿童享受教育、安全饮用水、食物、保护及医疗服务等权利的环境,众多合作伙伴必须齐心协力,展开合作。

“通过我们称之为‘保护社区’的计划,联合国儿童基金会正在支持该国政府为儿童建立全国范围的社会保障体系,藉此加强社区照顾儿童的能力。”热尔曼先生强调。不仅仅是政府和各个社区,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴,包括世界银行和美国国际开发署(USAID),也在倡导私营部门投入到矿区的社会变革中来。


 

 

搜索

Congo, Democratic Republic of the

In DR Congo, UNICEF supports efforts to help child labourers return to school

By Cornelia Walther

KIPUSHI, Democratic Republic of the Congo, 13 June 2012 – Sweat is running from 16-year-old Bitshilwalwa Bukula’s forehead as she tries to smash a rock into smaller pieces. A small plastic canopy offers some protection from the harsh midday sun, but the work is hard.

VIDEO: UNICEF correspondent Suzanne Beukes reports on efforts to break the cycle of child labor in the mines of the Democratic Republic of the Congo.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Bitshilwalwa was forced to leave school two years ago because her parents were unable to afford the school fees. Together with her two sisters and her mother, she comes every day to the artisanal mine of Kipushi to break rocks, which are then sold as building materials.

Every day she does the same work, from morning to evening, from Monday to Sunday. For today’s work, she will earn a meagre 3,000 francs, the equivalent of US$3.30. It is enough to buy rice and vegetables for her family.

“I can see my friends going to school and it hurts me,” she said. “I want to leave this work and return to school.”

A way out from a life in the mines

Away from the mines, 19-year-old Sarah Mapoye puts the finishing touches to a shirt she is making for a young girl. “My client will pay me 3,500 francs for this shirt,” she said proudly.

Sarah is a tailor. Until four years ago, she was working in the mines of Kipushi, breaking rocks like Bitshilwalwa. “The people of Group One met me in the mine. They are the ones who taught me how to sew to make a better living,” Sarah said.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF DRC/2012/Walther
A social worker from the NGO Group One, a UNICEF partner, speaks to a boy working at a mine in Kipushi, DR Congo.

The nongovernmental organization Group One, which is supported by UNICEF, aims to get children out of the mines. While the younger ones are integrated into primary school, adolescents above 16 years are provided with professional skills such as sewing, carpentry or mechanics that will allow them to earn an alternative income. Group One Project Manager Fifi Mweze explained, “Our objective is to offer them a sustainable alternative. These children and their families know that it is not good for them to be in the mines, but they have no choice. Income-generating kits complement the package that forms the point of departure for a new life.”

Progress being made

The Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) is home to both tremendous wealth and staggering poverty. Katanga province, a territory the size of France, is home to some of the richest deposits of copper and cobalt in the world but also has the highest number of primary school age children in the DRC who have never had access to education.

According to the 2010 Multiple Indicator Cluster Survey, supported by UNICEF and partners, approximately 25 per cent of children do not attend primary school, and 42 per cent of children between ages 5 to 14 are engaged in some kind of labour. But progress is being made: the country has adopted policies that promote free primary school education and forbid the use of children for dangerous work. The Governor of Katanga, Moïse Katumbi Chapwe said, “Today, there are fewer children in the mines than a decade ago. Parents know that taking them there is illegal.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF DRC/2012/Walther
Sarah Mapoye, 19, makes clothing for a living in Kipushi, DR Congo. The NGO Group One, a UNICEF partner, helped her leave the mines.

Still, child labour remains common across the country, in particular in the mining areas. In fact, the number of children working in the mines in southern Katanga is today estimated at 40,000, about one third of the total number of workers. As Maxime Germain, Child Protection Specialist with UNICEF DRC’s Southern Zonal Office, explained, “Children working in the mines are at risk of multiple physical and psychological violations and of abuse. While health issues and lack of education are of paramount importance, there is also a need for the children to be children.”

Respecting the rights of children

Even though primary schooling is officially free, students still have to pay additional fees to contribute to the basic functioning of the school and to complement the small contributions a school might receive from the government for teacher wages. These can represent significant burdens on families, contributing to child labour.

To create an environment where the rights of children to education, safe water, food, protection and health care are respected, many partners must work together.

“UNICEF is supporting the government to establish a countrywide social protection system for children, through what we call ‘protecting communities’, an approach that aims to strengthen the capacities of communities to take care of their children,” stressed Mr. Germain. Beyond the government and individual communities, UNICEF and its partners, including the World Bank and USAID, are advocating to involve the private sector in social change in the mining areas.


 

 

New enhanced search