刚果民主共和国

联合国儿童基金会救助营养不良儿童

UNICEF Photo: DR Congo, malnutrition, UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman visits
© UNICEF video
一个孩子和她的妈妈在刚果民主共和国东北部鲁班加的地方保健中心。这个中心是在政府、联合国儿童基金会和地方合作伙伴在社区层面治疗营养不良的努力中建立的。

联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.M.维尼曼正在刚果民主共和国进行为期五天的访问,以评估身处被普遍认为是非洲最严重的人道主义危机中的妇女和儿童的状况。

桑塔.布罗门报道

刚果民主共和国东方省,2009年8月26日 – 这里所有的地方保健中心都敞开大门为幼儿们提供测量体重和身高的服务,因为这种检查儿童健康状况的简单方法能带来巨大的影响。

 点击此处观看视频

保健中心没有等到儿童们生病住院再为他们提供治疗,而是致力于帮助儿童保持健康。

非政府组织“反饥饿行动”的一位营养学家阿贝尔.宁波杰杰(Abel Nimpojeje)解释道: “我们努力加强保健区治疗和预防营养不良的技术和直觉能力。社区项目更好,儿童们不用住院,他们可以呆在自己的社区里。”这个组织正在该省的27个保健中心提供各种服务。

监控与治疗

三岁的曼都拉(Mandula)的母亲通过社区志愿者了解到这个项目。她说:“一般情况下,她吃的很多,还和她的伙伴们玩耍。但是她现在没有胃口 ,晚上睡不着,也不和小朋友们玩了。” 曼都拉已经病了六个星期了。

通过保健中心的项目,她的身体状况每周都受到监控,治疗方案也根据需要不断调整。在一项检查显示她可以自己消化食物之后,她吃了一剂量的 “肥果”,一种用花生酱、牛奶和食用油做的现成食疗食品。

保健中心提供预先包装好的肥果作为营养补充品。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF DRC/2009/Marinovich
19个月大的吉莎患有急性营养不良,她正在刚果民主共和国鲁班加的保健中心接受治疗。

19个月大的吉莎.坎云皮(Gisha Kanyumpi)很不走运,没能在急性营养不良发作之前赶到鲁班加保健中心。在接受了大约三周的治疗之后,他仍患有腹泻、呕吐和发烧的症状,这使得药物更难在他身上起作用。

波保罗.卡夫(Popaul Kafu)说:“他吃的东西不够。他的母亲跟我说他一天只进食一次。这个问题很严重。但是我们不能怪这位母亲。她可能没有钱给她的孩子们买足够的食物。

全国监控

这种治疗营养不良的的方法始于2008年,那一年政府采纳了一个国家议定书和保健及社区工作者的培训模型。联合国儿童基金会及其43个合作伙伴正在帮助将这些服务扩展到该国更多的保健区。

社区志愿者们进行家访,还邀请营养不良儿童的母亲们参加每周在诊所举行的营养会议,目的是教育她们如何最好地、省钱地准备营养健康食品。

尼姆珀杰杰说:“我们发现导致营养不良的主要原因是喂养习惯。在我们的宣传活动中,我们努力让他们吃东西多样化 ,比如多吃农作物和鱼。还有很多的疟疾病例。如果儿童生病,他或她将出现消化问题,然后营养不良。”

有效干预

保健诊所的药剂师为需要的儿童们准备肥果食疗食品,再加上治疗疟疾、腹泻和其他疾病的药物。在鲁班加,曼都拉每天要服用三袋肥果,完全免费。她的身体要完全恢复并能重新和她的伙伴们玩耍可能还需要一个月的时间。

要让所有的儿童实现生存的权利,刚果任重道远。卫生系统薄弱、免疫覆盖率低、无法获得安全用水、卫生条件恶劣、普遍的营养不良,以及像疟疾这样的疾病仍旧威胁着数百万儿童的生命。然而,通过与社区和前线卫生工作者们合作,采取几种简单却有效的干预措施就可以帮助像曼都拉这样的儿童重回正常生活。
 
尼姆珀杰杰说:“在我们使用以前治疗营养不良的手段时,我们观察到很多情况下儿童们长期无人看管,因为他们的父母长期在医院里照顾住院的孩子而远离其他的孩子和社区。现在我们直接在社区里工作,这样家长们就有更多的时间陪所有的孩子了 。”


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会通讯员娜塔莎.伊柯丽报道为那些因刚果北基伍省的冲突而流离失所的家庭中的营养不良儿童提供以社区为基础的治疗。
 视频   |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Congo, Democratic Republic of the

Simple responses to child mortality make a dramatic difference in DR Congo

UNICEF Image: DR Congo, malnutrition, UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman visits
© UNICEF video
A child with her mother at a local health centre in north-eastern DR Congo. The centre is part of an effort by the government, UNICEF and local partners to treat malnutrition at the community level.

UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman is in the Democratic Republic of the Congo for a five-day visit to assess the situation of women and children amidst what is widely seen as Africa's worst humanitarian crisis. Here is the first in a series of related reports.

By Shantha Bloemen

ORIENTALE PROVINCE, Democratic Republic of the Congo, 26 August 2009 – Local health centres here have opened their doors for the weighing and measuring of young children. It’s a simple check on child health status, but it is having a dramatic impact.

VIDEO: Watch now

Instead of waiting for children to become so sick that they have to spend weeks in a hospital, the health centres work to keep children healthy.

“We try to reinforce [local capacity] to treat and prevent malnutrition,” explained Abel Nimpojeje, a nutritionist with the non-governmental organization Action Contre la Faim, which is rolling out services in 27 health clinics in the province. “The children are not hospitalized and they are able to stay in their community,” he added.

Monitoring and treatment

Three-year-old Mandula’s mother learned about the programme through a community volunteer. “Usually she would eat a lot, play with her friends. But she has lost her appetite…. She doesn’t sleep or play anymore,” said the mother.

Mandula was sick for almost six weeks before being brought to the health centre. Since then, her condition has been monitored each week, with treatment adjusted as needed. After a test showed that she could digest food on her own, she was prescribed three daily sachets of Plumpy’nut, a ready-to-eat mix of peanut butter, milk and oil.

The health centres provide pre-packaged Plumpy’nut as a nutritional supplement. In Mandula’s case, clinic staff expected it would take a month for her to fully recover and go back to playing with her friends. 

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF DRC/2009/Marinovich
Nineteen-month-old Gisha, suffering from acute malnutrition, is treated at a health centre in DR Congo.

Nineteen-month-old Gisha wasn’t lucky enough to make it to a health centre before his acute malnutrition set in. After almost three weeks of treatment, he was still suffering from diarrhoea, vomiting and fever, making it even harder for him to respond to the medicines.

“He doesn’t eat sufficiently. The mother told me he only eats once a day,” said health worker Popaul Kafu. “This is a serious problem. But we cannot condemn the mother. She may not have the money to give enough food to her children.”

Nutritional surveillance

The community approach to treating malnutrition began in 2008, when the Government of DR Congo adopted a national protocol and training modules for health and community workers. UNICEF, along with a network of 43 partner organizations, is helping expand those services to more health zones around the country.

Community volunteers visit homes and invite mothers of malnourished children to weekly nutrition sessions at the clinics, which aim to educate them on how to prepare healthy food cheaply.

“We find the principal cause of malnutrition is feeding habits,” said Mr. Nimpojeje of Action Contre la Faim. “There are also many cases of malaria, and if a child is sick, he or she will have problem with digestion and become malnourished.”

A nutritional surveillance system has been set up in 67 health zones (representing 13 per cent of such zones in the country). Results of the surveys have been used to guide decisions about establishing feeding centres; in addition, the data have strengthened the vulnerability assessment system supported by the UN Food and Agriculture Organization here.

Effective interventions

DR Congo has a long way to go before all its children are guaranteed their right to survival. Many combined factors – weak health systems, poor vaccination coverage, lack of access to safe water, inadequate sanitation, widespread malnutrition and diseases such as malaria – still threaten millions of young lives.

Yet it is remarkable how a few simple but effective interventions by frontline health workers can bring children like Mandula back to life.

“With the previous approach to treating malnutrition, we observed lots of cases of children being left on their own for long periods in the community because their parents were away taking care of the hospitalized children,” noted Mr. Nimpojeje. “Now we work directly in the community, and parents have more time with all their children.”


 

 

Video

UNICEF correspondent Natacha Ikoli reports on community-based treatment of malnourished children in north-eastern DR Congo.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search