孟加拉国

在灾害多发的孟加拉国,联合国儿童基金会支持的一个项目帮助儿童继续上学

克里斯.奈尔斯报道

美国纽约,2011 年 12 月 23 日 – 地势低洼的孟加拉国是受气候变化影响最大的国家之一,生活在沙尔斯群岛 (Chars) 的居民是该国最脆弱的群体。沙尔斯群岛是广茂的恒河三角洲区域因洪水冲刷或侵蚀而形成的小岛群。

视频:联合国儿童基金会通讯员克里斯.奈尔斯报道一个帮助孟加拉国儿童在紧急情况下继续上学的项目 在Realplayer中播放

纳特瓦尔帕拉沙尔斯岛上的生活异常艰难。许多家庭靠种植水稻或打渔维持生计。几乎没有经济发展和就业的机会。

“没有电,没有服务,也没有像样的学校,人们都不想在这儿生活。在沙尔斯生活一点儿好处也没有。”小学教师法丽达.亚斯明 (Farida Yasmin) 说。

对沙尔斯居民而言,要说可以“信赖”的,那只有洪水了。

“每年都遭受洪水袭击”

“这里每年都会发洪水,有些年的洪水比其他年份凶猛。”纳特瓦尔帕拉小学校长穆罕默德.孟瓦罗.伊丝拉姆.穆克塔 (Mohammad Monwarul Islam Mukta) 说。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
纳特瓦尔帕拉 (Natwarpara) 小学的学生们学习如何在危急情况下保证自己的安全。
他管理的学校大约有170 名学生,在联合国儿童基金会的支持下,这些学生都精通于应对频繁发生的紧急状况。

“洪水来袭时我被吓坏了。到处都是水。我们全家都陷入焦虑之中。我们该住在哪儿呢?我们吃什么?”小学生法扎纳.塔拉夫德尔.尼西说道。

幸运的是 10 岁的学生之星法扎纳有一个安全的去处,那就是她的学校。学校经过重建,目前已经可以在危急情况下继续运作。即使她所在的村庄被洪水淹没,她也从未落下一天的课程。

重回正轨

联合国儿童基金会支持的“紧急情况和危机后过渡阶段的教育”项目(也称“重回正轨”)是一种创新方案,旨在重建教育体系,。 该体系通常在正努力从危机过度到正常发展的国家中施行。

该五年期项目由荷兰政府和欧盟委员会资助。

“重回正轨”还提供对灾害预防的全面指导,以帮助学生和教师了解紧急情况下如何保证安全。联合国儿童基金会和救助儿童会联合出版的课本中详细阐述了课程的内容。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
孟加拉国纳特瓦尔帕拉小学的男孩们阅读由联合国儿童基金会和救助儿童会联合出版的读物《图尼的公鸡》(Tuni's Rooster),其中描述了儿童在紧急状况下应如何保证自己的安全。

“书名叫《图尼的公鸡》。我从这本书中了解到,学校应该建在高处,应该准备一艘船来摆渡学生,并应建设合理的厕所和管井。”学生塔斯米娅.娅米.翠舒提(Tasmia Yasmin Trishti)说道。

保证家人的安全

儿童还参加戏剧表演,巩固学到的有关如何保证自己和家人安全的知识。

“我们还传授自己在灾害预防培训手册中学到的知识,让学生和家长们了解灾难发生时应该做什么。我们召开家长会,告诉家长们孩子留在学校更安全。”穆克塔先生说。

在过去的三年里,自然灾害,尤其是飓风,已经导致超过150 万儿童的教育中断。但是最近,纳特瓦尔帕拉小学开始恢复正常的教学。

“我们发现,虽然经历了巨大的自然灾害,学校的入学率仍较高。入学率没有大幅下降,教学系统几乎没有受到影响。”孟加拉初级教育处长什亚莫尔.坎提.戈什 (Shyamal Kanti Ghosh) 说。

我想为这里的人们服务

继续上学对于法扎纳至关重要,她希望利用自己的才能和知识,让纳特瓦尔帕拉沙尔斯的人们过上更美好的生活。

“长大后我想成为一名医生。我们这个村庄没有好的医生,我想为这里的人们服务。”她说。
 
 


 

 

搜索

Bangladesh

In disaster-prone Bangladesh, a UNICEF-supported programme helps children stay in school

By Chris Niles

NEW YORK, USA, 23 December 2011—Low-lying Bangladesh is one of the countries most affected by climate change, and the people who live in the Chars – small islands created by floods or erosion in the vast Ganges delta—are the most vulnerable of all.

VIDEO: UNICEF correspondent Chris Niles reports on a programme that is helping Bangladeshi children stay in school during emergencies.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Life on Natwarpara Char is extremely difficult. Most families make a living from growing rice or fishing. There is little economic development and few employment opportunities.

“There is no electricity, no services. There are no good schools, people don’t want to live here; there are no real advantages to living in the Char,” said primary school teacher Farida Yasmin.

The one thing people in the Char can rely on are floods.

’Every year there is a flood’

“Every year there is a flood. Some years the floods are worse than others,” said Natwarpara Primary School Principal Mohammad Monwarul Islam Mukta.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Students at Natwarpara Primary School learn how to keep themselves safe during emergencies.

He heads a school of about 170 students who, thanks to UNICEF’s support, are all well versed in how to deal with frequent emergencies.

“I was very scared during the floods. There was water everywhere. My whole family was worried. Where would we stay? What would we eat?” said student Farzana Tarafder Nishi.

Fortunately Farzana, 10, who is a star student, had a safe space—her school. It was re-situated and is now able to stay open during emergencies. She did not miss a day of school, even though her village was inundated.

Back on Track

The UNICEF-supported Education in Emergencies and Post-Crisis Transition programme, also known as Back on Track, is an innovative programme designed to rebuild education systems, often in countries working to make the transition from crisis to normal development.

The five-year programme is funded by the Government of the Netherlands and the European Commission.

Back on Track also provides comprehensive instruction on disaster risk reduction, so students and teachers know how to stay safe during emergencies. The lessons are laid out in a book published by UNICEF and Save the Children.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Boys at Natwarpara Primary School in Bangladesh read 'Tuni's Rooster', a book jointly published by UNICEF and Save the Children, which explains how children can keep themselves safe during emergencies.

“The book is called 'Tuni’s Rooster'. I have learned from it that the school should be on higher ground. There should be a boat to ferry school children and the school should have a proper toilet and tubewell,” said student Tasmia Yasmin Trishti.

Keeping families safe

Children also participate in drama, which reinforces messages on how they can keep themselves and their families safe.

“We also teach from what we have learned in the disaster preparedness training handouts. From that we inform the students and their parents about what to do during disasters. We conduct parents’ meetings. We tell them that their children will be safer here at school,” said Mr. Mukta. 

In the past three years, natural disasters, particularly cyclones, have disrupted the educations of more than 1.5 million children. But recently classes at Natwarpara Primary School have continued as normal.

“Now even after a massive natural disaster we do find school attendance is high. We see that school attendance has not dropped significantly, and teaching systems have not really been affected,” said Director General, Bangladesh Directorate of Primary Education Shyamal Kanti Ghosh.

I want to work for the people here’

Staying in school is vital for Farzana, who hopes to use her talent and her education to make life better in Natwarpara Char.

“I want to be a doctor when I grow up. We don’t have a good doctor in this village so I want to work for the people here,” she said.
 
 


 

 

New enhanced search