孟加拉国

向孟加拉国的城市贫民讲授卫生知识

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Bangladesh/2009/Noorani
孟加拉国北部的社区卫生促进员马穆达.阿科特尔(红衣)帮助那里的居民勾画水和卫生的社会地图。

奈姆尔.哈克报道

孟加拉国戈伊班达,2009年3月25日 — 马穆达.阿科特尔(Mahmuda Akhter)是一位二十多岁的受过教育的年轻女孩。这天早上,她在召集家庭妇女们参加一个非正式的会议。她想要和大家分享个人卫生、社区清洁、环境卫生及使用安全饮水方面的知识。她在一个叫做“驾驶员区”的地区工作,那里住着很多低收入的司机及他们的家人。

在孟加拉国首都达卡西北方向约250公里以外的戈伊班达地方城镇的东戈宾多布尔,马穆达在傍晚举行的讨论会上解释为什么居民们应该花费时间和金钱建造卫生的厕所并在管井周围建起水泥的平台。

讲授卫生知识

马穆达被社区里的人称作“穆克塔”。 她指着绳子上挂着的一张手绘的地图邀请其他的家庭妇女参与讨论。

穆克塔问:“谁家有卫生间和有水泥平台的管井?”

观众中有几个人举起了手,而那些家里没有卫生设施的妇女们不好意思地看着彼此。
驾驶员区共有居民264人,却只有6个卫生厕所。34个供水点中,26个没有水泥平台用来预防污染。因为没有人定期打扫,厕所和管井周围很脏。

穆克塔跟大家说:“今天我们将讨论并学习个人卫生的知识。每个人都应该参加,不要因为和他人讲述自己的问题而感到尴尬。”

创造热情

穆克塔参加的非正式教育项目是全国性的“孟加拉国环境卫生、个人卫生教育及供水”项目的一部分。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Bangladesh/2009/Noorani
14岁的穆罕默德.珠儿.米娅用浏览图表进行儿童对儿童式的对话,讲解有关个人卫生和环境卫生的知识。

该项目由联合国儿童基金会和孟加拉国政府于2007年启动,并得到英国国际发展部的资助。该项目致力于在31个都会区内降低死亡率、发病率,以及由疾病导致的营养不良——尤其是要帮助妇女和儿童。

与穆克塔一起做联合国儿童基金会志愿者的法汗娜(Farhana)说:“我们已经连续三个月在驾驶员区开展讨论,你可以看到人们参与的热情。”

穆克塔和法汗娜还为儿童和少女举行了类似的会议。

建造厕所

会议说服了墨桑梅特.帕尔文(Mosammet Parvin)在她家建造自己的卫生厕所。之前,帕尔文女士和很多其他住在“司机的地盘”的居民一样,与邻居共用不卫生的厕所和管井。

除了教育社区以外,该项目还计划建造数千个厕所——包括公共厕所,各个城市还将获得帮助以设置雨水集存器、新的排污系统和垃圾堆肥厂。

该项目还将提供堆肥桶和三轮卡车用来帮助垃圾堆肥,并为城市居民提供谋生机会。用于建造720个水管系统、以帮助欠发达城市社区获得安全饮水的资金也已经到位。


 

 

搜索

Bangladesh

Teaching sanitation to the urban poor in Bangladesh

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Bangladesh/2009/Noorani
Mahmuda Akther (in red), a community hygiene promoter in northern Bangladesh, assists residents in drawing a water and sanitation social map.

By Naimul Haq

GAIBANDHA, Bangladesh, 25 March 2009—Mahmuda Akhter is an educated young woman in her 20s. This morning, she is rounding up housewives for an informal meeting. Her mission is to share lessons on personal hygiene, neighbourhood cleanliness, sanitation and using safe drinking water. She is working in a district called Driver Para – or drivers’ area – where low-income drivers’ families live.

During the evening discussion in East Gobindapur, in Gaibandha district town, about 250 km north west of Bangladesh’s capital city Dhaka, Mahmuda explains why the residents should spend their time and money constructing sanitary latrines and concrete platforms around tubewells.

Teaching sanitation
Mahmuda, popularly known as Mukta in her neighbourhood, points to a rough sketch of a map hung from a rope and invites fellow housewives to participate in discussion.

“Who owns sanitary latrines and tubewells with concrete platforms?” Mukta asks.

A few hands are raised from the audience, while those without hygienic facilities look shyly at one another.

Although there are 264 people in Driver Para, there are only 6 hygienic latrines. Of 34 water points, 26 do not have concrete platforms to prevent contamination. The areas around the latrines and tubewell are dirty, as no one cleans them regularly.

“Today we will discuss and learn about personal hygiene. Everyone should participate and no one should feel embarrassed about sharing her personal problems,” Mukta tells her audience.

Generating enthusiasm
The informal education programme Mukta attends to is part of a nationwide project known as Sanitation, Hygiene Education and Water Supply in Bangladesh.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Bangladesh/2009/Noorani
Using a flip chart, Mohammad Jewel Mia, 14, conducts a child-to-child session on hygiene and sanitation.

The project, initiated by UNICEF and the Bangladesh Government in 2007, and funded by the U.K. Department for International Development (DFID), works to reduce mortality, morbidity and malnutrition due to diseases – especially among women and children – in 31 urban municipalities.

“It is now three months since we started the courtyard discussions here in Driver Para, and you can already see the enthusiasm among the audience,” said Farhana, who works with Mukta as a UNICEF volunteer.

Makta and Farhana also run similar meetings with children and teenaged girls.

Constructing latrines

The meetings convinced Mosammet Parvin to have her own sanitary latrine at home. Until recently, Ms. Parvin, like many Driver Para residents, was sharing unhygienic latrines and tubewells with her neighbours.

Beyond educating communities, the broader programme is planning to build thousands of latrines – including public latrine facilities – and municipalities will receive support in installing rain water harvesters, new drainage systems and waste composting plants.

Composting barrels and tricycle trucks will also be provided to aid in waste disposal, and provide livelihood opportunities for urban residents. Funds are also available for the construction of 720 water pipe systems to bring safe water to less developed urban communities.


 

 

New enhanced search