阿富汗

改善冲突中的阿富汗儿童和产妇的健康状况

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2007-1152/Noorani
在阿富汗北部巴尔赫省马扎里沙里夫市的萨勒哈巴亚特医院,女医生正在向一位新妈妈示范哺乳时应如何抱婴儿。

大卫.科什报道

阿富汗坎大哈,2009年2月5日 – 儿童的首要权利是生命权。但是在今天的阿富汗,儿童正为生存在世界上而面临着一些最困难的挑战。

 点击此处观看视频

在过去的八年中,阿富汗已经取得了显著的成绩。这些进展表现为总体提高获得医疗保健的机会、近乎消除小儿麻痹症、以及改善获得清洁水的渠道。但是,由于进入偏远社区的难度,今天要在这些成绩之上再进步,就变得越来越困难。

为了克服这些挑战,联合国儿童基金会的任务明确:推广由公共卫生部和数十个合作伙伴共同开发的一套全面干预措施,以获得更好的儿童保健和营养状况。

降低母婴死亡率

联合国儿童基金会保健和营养项目的主要目标是,通过支持和加强国家的卫生体系,来降低母婴死亡率。在这些领域,阿富汗有着世界上最危险的负面指标。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2007-1076/Noorani
在阿富汗南部坎大哈市赫拉特巴莎社区的波里诊所外,一位男孩正在接受口服小儿麻痹症疫苗。

联合国儿童基金会为早产儿提供暖箱,并为营养不良的儿童支持食疗设备。在许多情况下,母亲因病得太严重而无法喂养他们的孩子。

坎大哈省米尔瓦斯医院的儿科主任阿利亚.科吉(Alia Kochi)讲述她病房的情况时说:“我们面临许多挑战。这里所有的产妇自己都患有营养不良。”

“而同时,她们还要母乳喂养她们的孩子。她们生活贫困,不能为孩子从市场上买营养品。这里完全没有安全感。我们希望联合国儿童基金会继续为我们定期提供物资,用以治疗这些营养不良的儿童。”

联合国儿童基金会携手数十个合作伙伴,帮助运行扩大的免疫项目,控制可预防的疾病,如麻疹和小儿麻痹症。在坎大哈省,联合国儿童基金会、世界卫生组织与其他合作伙伴共同为阿富汗和巴基斯坦两国之间五岁以下的所有儿童接种疫苗。阿富汗和巴基斯坦是四个仍然流行小儿麻痹症的国家中的两个。

提高接生的专业化

确保产妇获得产前保健和分娩时由专业助产士协助,对降低惊人的产妇死亡率至关重要。然而目前,无论是因文化、经济还是地理原因,阿富汗孕妇在分娩时,很少有人获得医疗护理。

哈比巴.苏赫拉比(Habiba Suhrabi)省长说:“由于处于偏远地区,巴米杨省的产妇死亡率最高。”

联合国儿童基金会支持为孕妇提供扩展产前保健的项目。他们正为分娩时获得专业化协助、母乳喂养、教育及为医护人员和社区卫生员的培训提供更多的机会。

合作发展

在这种具有挑战性的环境下,联合国儿童基金会努力通过合作取得进展。这些联盟包括社区、儿童本身、非政府组织、其他联合国机构以及捐赠者。

每天,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴在医院、诊所、学校和家庭阵地,努力确保阿富汗儿童实现他们的权利,在生命的开端尽可能地获得健康,并茁壮成长到成年。


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会记者简.欧伯兰就联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴携手改善阿富汗持续不安局势下的产妇和儿童健康状况的报道。
 视频  高速 | 低速

搜索

Afghanistan

Improving child and maternal health amidst conflict in Afghanistan

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2007-1152/Noorani
A woman doctor shows a new mother how to hold her infant while breastfeeding at Saleha Bayat Hospital in the city of Mazar-e-Sharif in the northern Afghan province of Balkh.

By David Koch

KANDAHAR, Afghanistan, 5 February 2009 – A child's first right is the right to life. But in today's Afghanistan, children face some of the most difficult challenges to their survival in the world.

VIDEO: Watch now

The past eight years have yielded notable progress in Afghanistan. Among the improvements are increased overall access to health care, the near eradication of polio and improved access to clean water. But today it's becoming increasingly difficult to build on these successes due to limited access to remote communities.

In order to overcome these challenges, UNICEF's mission is clear: to promote better child health and nutrition with a package of across-the-board interventions developed with the Ministry of Public Health and dozens of partners.

Reducing infant and maternal mortality

A key objective of UNICEF's health and nutrition programme is to reduce infant and maternal mortality by supporting and strengthening national health systems. Afghanistan has some of the world's most alarming negative indicators in these areas.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2007-1076/Noorani
A boy receives oral polio vaccine outside Poli Clinic in the Herat Bazaar neighbourhood of the southern Afghan city of Kandahar.

UNICEF provides incubators for premature babies and supports therapeutic feeding units for malnourished children. In many cases, mothers are too ill to feed their own children.

Alia Kochi, head of the Paediatric Unit at Mirwais Hospital in Kandahar, describes the situation in her ward: "We face many challenges. All these mothers here are suffering from malnutrition themselves.

"At the same time, they have to breast-feed their children," she continues. "They are living in poverty. They cannot buy nutritious food for the children from the market. There is a complete insecurity here. We hope UNICEF continues to provide us regularly with supplies to treat these malnourished children."

Along with dozens of partners, UNICEF helps run expanded programmes on immunization to control preventable diseases such as measles and polio. In Kandahar province, UNICEF, the World Health Organization and other partners vaccinate all children under five crossing between Afghanistan and Pakistan – two of the four remaining countries where polio is endemic.

Increasing skilled delivery

Ensuring that mothers receive antenatal care and assistance during delivery by skilled birth attendants is crucial to lowering the staggering rate of maternal mortality. Today, however, far too few pregnant Afghan women have access to medical attention when they deliver their babies – whether for cultural, economic or geographic reasons.

"We have the highest maternal mortality rate in Bamyan province because of our remoteness," says Governor Habiba Suhrabi.

UNICEF supports programmes to expand antenatal care for pregnant women. They are providing increased access to skilled assistance at delivery, breastfeeding education and training for hospital staff and community health workers.

Partnerships for development

UNICEF is working to achieve progress in this challenging environment through partnerships. These alliances extend to communities and children themselves, as well as non-governmental organizations, other UN agencies and donors.

On the ground in hospitals, clinics, schools and homes each day, UNICEF and its partners are working to ensure that Afghanistan's children realize their right to get the healthiest possible start in life, and thrive long into adulthood.


 

 

Video

UNICEF correspondent Jane O’Brien reports on efforts by UNICEF and its partners to improve maternal and child health amidst continuing insecurity in Afghanistan.
 VIDEO  high | low

New enhanced search