阿富汗

联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴携手帮助降低阿富汗的产妇死亡率

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Afghanistan/2007
阿富汗启动新的计划及合作伙伴,以确保像这个小家伙一样的新生儿能在他们的母亲身边长大。

法瓦德.萨黑报道

阿富汗喀布尔2007年4月2日 - 阿富汗每九个妇女中就有一个在怀孕期间或分娩之后死亡,是世界上产妇死亡率最高的国家之一。喀布尔的玛拉莱妇产医院是阿富汗最为繁忙的医院之一,每天接生80至100个新生儿。 该医院正致力于使每位妇女活着看到她们的孩子长大。

自2001塔利班政权倒台以来,联合国儿童基金会已经提供给这个医院急需的支助,更新设备、扩建接待能力、培训医生和助产士、提供物资和药品。同时,他们还与社区组织合作开展大规模的安全母亲信息运动。 

医院是一个重要的培训中心,那里的妇产科医生成为培训导师,帮助提升全国数百名产科医生和助产士的技术水平。

妇产科的米拉夫苏恩.麦合.尼萨医生说:“这项支助对孕妇有巨大的影响,并且挽救了很多人的生命。”

“享用最好的医疗条件的权利”

2007年,阿富汗的六个省启动了“候产家庭”计划。  “候产家庭”是座落在医疗中心附件的居住设施,提供综合妇产科护理服务。  孕妇在这里可以接受产前护理,包括免疫计划、健康卫生习惯教育,并且可以在像家一样的环境下分娩,如果出现并发症,则可以转往附件的医疗中心。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Afghanistan/2007
新的计划希望能帮助阿富汗妇女了解产前和分娩时照顾自己与婴儿的重要性。

“候产家庭”计划已经被几个国家采纳,作为连接城乡地域差异的桥梁,农村地区缺乏高水平的医疗护理,而城市往往有更多的服务。 据估计,每个“候产家庭”一年可以服务一千名妇女。

 联合国儿童基金会保护儿童项目干事纳费萨.喀尼博士说:“阿富汗妇女应该知道她们有享用最好的医疗设施的权利,提供这种服务是政府的责任。”

稳定社会的核心

玛拉莱医院的医生们把高产妇死亡率归结为连年的战争对卫生系统的影响,再加上保守的文化传统威胁着阿富汗妇女的健康。

40%的阿富汗妇女在18岁之前结婚;她们中的三分之一成年以前就作母亲了。  许多孕妇没有基本的保健计划,只有11%的产妇在医疗院诊所分娩。

为实现千年发展计划,改善产妇健康状况,在联合国儿童基金会及其它联合国机构的支助下,阿富汗政府已经同意就设立一个降低产妇死亡率的合作项目,希望在2008年底前,将产妇死亡率降低20%。

家庭健康是社会稳定的核心,对所有阿富汗人建立长久的安全感至关重要。 虽然过去的五年中,阿富汗在降低产妇死亡率方面已经有很大进步,持续的技术和财务资源必须得到保障,才能使更多的产妇和新生儿生存下来。


 

 

搜索

Afghanistan

UNICEF and partners come together to help reduce maternal mortality in Afghanistan

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Afghanistan/2007
New programmes and partnerships are being launched in Afghanistan to help ensure that newborns like this one will be able to grow up with their mothers.

By Fawad Sahil

KABUL, Afghanistan, 2 April 2007  One in nine Afghan women dies during or shortly after pregnancy, accounting for one of the highest maternal mortality rates in the world. Kabul’s Malalai Maternity Hospital, one of the busiest in Afghanistan delivering 80 to 100 babies a day, is working to ensure that more women live to see their children grow up.

Since the fall of Taliban in 2001, UNICEF has provided much-needed support to this hospital through facility renovation, capacity building, training for doctors and midwives and providing supplies and medicine. They have also instituting a wide-ranging safe motherhood information campaign in collaboration with community groups.

The hospital is an important training centre, where obstetric care providers become master trainers and in turn help to upgrade the obstetric skills of hundreds of doctors and midwives across the country.

"This support has had significant impact on pregnant women and has saved so many lives," says Dr. Mirafzoon Meher Nisar of the Maternity Unit.

‘A right to the best medical facilities’

In 2007, the Maternity Waiting Home (MWH) project was launched in six provinces of Afghanistan. MWH’s are residential facilities located near medical centres that provide comprehensive obstetric care. Here women can receive prenatal care including immunizations and education on health and hygiene practices and can give birth in a home-like environment or be transferred to a nearby medical facility if complications arise.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Afghanistan/2007
New programmes hope to help Afghan women understand the importance of natal and prenatal care for the health of themselves and their children.

MWH’s have been adopted in several countries as a means to ‘bridge the geographical gap’ between rural areas with poor access to skilled care and urban areas where more services may be available. An estimated 1,000 women per year will benefit from the services of each MWH.
 
“Women in Afghanistan need to know that they have the right to the best medical facilities and that it is the responsibility of the government to provide that,” says UNICEF Project Officer on Child Protection Dr. Nafisa Qani.

The heart of a stable society

Doctors at Malalai Hospital attribute the alarming number of maternal deaths to the effects that years of conflict have wrought on the health system, as well as conservative cultural sensibilities that put the health of Afghan women at risk.

Forty per cent of women in Afghanistan are married before the age of 18; one third of these women have children before reaching adulthood. Many pregnant women are deprived of basic health care and only 11 per cent of deliveries take place in a health facility.

To help achieve the Millennium Development Goal of improving maternal health, the Government of Afghanistan with the support of UNICEF and other UN agencies has agreed to a Joint Programme for Maternal Mortality Reduction that aims to reduce maternal mortality 20 per cent by the end of 2008.

A healthy family is the heart of a stable society and is essential to building long-term security for all Afghans. While much progress has been made in the past five years towards reducing maternal mortality in Afghanistan, sustained technical and financial resources must continue so even more mothers and their babies live.


 

 

New enhanced search