乌兹别克斯坦

日间护理中心为乌兹别克斯坦感染艾滋病毒儿童带来希望

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Uzbekistan/2009/Fatihova
纳曼干的“Boychechak”日间护理中心,感染艾滋病毒的儿童在高兴地玩着中心提供的玩具。

卡米拉.法蒂奥娃和马克西辛.法兹利蒂诺瓦报道

乌兹别克斯坦塔什干,2010年12月10日 – 12岁的阿兹米感染艾滋病毒已经两年了。他现在来到位于乌兹别克斯坦东部纳曼干省的Boychechak日间护理中心,这里为艾滋病毒和艾滋病感染者提供服务。自2010年6月以来,像阿兹米一样因感染艾滋病毒而备受歧视和耻辱的550多名儿童在这些护理中心得到了安慰。这些中心甚至让他们有机会再次享受童年的快乐。

阿兹米说:“两年前我得知自己感染了艾滋病毒,我妈妈很难过,但也不知道原因。一年半以来,我每天都吃药,这让我感觉好多了。我有一本特别的日历,上面画了些鲜亮的图片,记录我吃药的情况。我妈妈经常带我去今年在镇上开放的Boychechak日间护理中心,我在那里和朋友们画画玩耍,妈妈跟其他孩子的妈妈一起聊天或者买东西。”

没有耻辱的环境

目前,联合国儿童基金会资助建立的四所日间护理中心已分别在在塔什干城(2008年开放)、安集延、纳曼干和费尔干纳(2010年启动)投入使用,为儿童及其家庭提供服务;这些地区都是乌兹别克斯坦受艾滋病毒和艾滋病影响最大的地区。在护理中心,感染艾滋病毒的儿童和成人能够接受获得社会心理帮助、医疗和法律咨询,最重要的是能拥有一个没有歧视和侮辱的环境。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Uzbekistan/2009/Fatihova
纳曼干的“Boychechak”日间护理中心,感染艾滋病毒的儿童在高兴地玩着中心提供的玩具。

塔什干“Kaldirgoch”日间护理中心的社工穆博拉克(Muborak)说;“我把儿子带到国家艾滋病中心时,听说了为艾滋病毒感染儿童建立的“Kaldirgoch”日间护理中心。来到护理中心后,我第一次看到了同我境况一样的母亲和与我儿子有同样遭遇的孩子。他们在玩耍、聊天,都很开心。我接受了咨询,并同其他父母大胆地谈了我的问题。这对我来说真是极大的安慰,我不再感到孤独。这次经历完全改变了我的生活,现在我在中心里做全职工作。”

护理中心里资源不多,但是还是为儿童安排学习、玩耍和很多娱乐活动,从而帮助家庭。中心还协助社区开展提高预防艾滋病毒/艾滋病意识项目,为包括孤儿在内的感染艾滋病毒儿童提供护理和治疗,以及建立同辈支持小组来帮助家庭。

希望的礼物

中心的另一个重要作用是呼吁医疗机构和社会保护机构代表家庭的社会利益。这帮助确保感染艾滋病毒的儿童能接受平等的医疗服务,并享受国家赋予的同等权利。

安集延、纳曼干和费尔干纳的护理中心位于当地的艾滋病毒中心,塔什干的护理中心则开设在国家儿科研究所。每个中心都有一位负责人、一到两名社工、一位心理学家和数名志愿者(大多数是感染艾滋病毒儿童的父母)。

阿兹米满怀信心地说;“中心的工作人员告诉我所有有关艾滋病毒的知识,现在我一点也不怕这种病了。我相信我能健康地长大,来照顾我的妈妈。”护理中心的工作人员给了他最好的礼物——希望。


 

 

搜索

Uzbekistan

Day care centres give hope to children living with HIV in Uzbekistan

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Uzbekistan/2009/Fatihova
HIV-positive children in the Boychechak Day Care Centre in Namangan enjoy playing with colourful toys.

By Kamila Fatihova and Maksim Fazlitdinov

TASHKENT, Uzbekistan, 10 December 2010 - Azim, 12, who is living with HIV, attends the Boychechak Day Care Centre, which provides services for people affected by HIV/AIDS in the eastern Uzbekistan province of Namangan. Since June 2010, over 550 children like Azim, who experience stigma and discrimination because of their HIV status, have found solace in such centres. They have also found a chance to enjoy their childhood once again.

“I learned that I am HIV-positive two years ago,” says Azim. “My mom was very upset but couldn’t explain much. For the last one and a half years I’ve been taking pills every day. This makes me feel better. I have a special calendar with bright pictures that helps me keep track of my medicine routine. My mom and I often come to the Boychechak Day Care Centre, which was opened in our town this year. I draw pictures and play with my friends while my mom talks to other children’s parents or goes shopping.”

Stigma-free environment

Today, four UNICEF-supported day care centres for children and their families operate in Tashkent city (where they opened in 2008), as well as the provinces of Andijan, Namangan and Fergana (launched in 2010) – the areas worst affected by HIV and AIDS in Uzbekistan. In these centres, children and adults whose lives are affected by HIV are given access to psycho-social support, medical and legal counselling, and most important, to an environment free of stigma and discrimination.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Uzbekistan/2009/Fatihova
A piece of artwork made of plasticine by a seven-year-old girl at the Kaldirgoch Day Care Centre for children living with HIV in Tashkent, Uzbekistan.

“I learned about the Kaldirgoch day care facility for HIV-affected children when I brought my son,” says a parent who is also a social worker at the Kaldirgoch centre in Tashkent. “When we came to the centre, it was the first time I saw moms like me and children like my son. They were playing, talking and having a good time. I received counselling and openly talked about my problems with other parents. This was a great relief for me. I stopped feeling lonely. This experience completely changed my life, and today I am a full-time employee of the centre.”

With limited resources, the centres assist families by providing children with basic learning packed with fun, recreational activities and lots of play. They also help with other needs, including HIV/AIDS awareness programmes, care and treatment for orphaned and vulnerable children and assistance in forming peer support groups for families.

The gift of hope

Another important function the centres perform is to represent social interests of families in health care facilities and social protection bodies. This helps to ensure that HIV-positive children get quality medical services and receive proper entitlements from the state.   

The day care facilities in Andijan, Namangan and Fergana are located on the premises of the local AIDS centres, and the one in Tashkent operates out of the National Paediatrics Institute. Each centre is managed by a director and staffed by one or two social workers, a psychologist, a paediatrician and a number of volunteers – usually parents of children living with HIV.

“People who work in the centre told me everything about HIV, and now I am not afraid of it,” says Azim, back at the Boychechak Day Care Centre. “I know that I will grow up and be able to support my mom.” The staff at the centre has given him the most wonderful gift of all – the gift of hope.


 

 

New enhanced search