斯威士兰

斯威士兰开展‘行走全国’活动,以提高人们对艾滋病以及预防艾滋病的意识

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Swaziland/2008/Diller
斯威士兰滕巴. 德拉米尼首相,身穿印有联合国儿童基金会标识的巴塞罗那足球俱乐部球衣,传递‘行走全国’活动的火炬。

斯威士兰曼凯延,2008年3月14日。现年63岁的安德烈.希米兰,是近2000名参加‘行走全国’活动者中最年长的一位,为期12天的活动,跨越了斯威士兰王国绵延的山麓,旨在为艾滋病毒感染者和艾滋病患者传播希望、意识和尊严。本次行走活动于昨日结束。

“自从我药检呈阳性,我便决定我将不会放弃,”已经感染了艾滋病毒数年之久的希米兰先生说。 “我一定要加入这项活动,以表明我与国家共同抗击这种流行病的决心。每个和我同龄的人都要行动起来,走出去与这一疾病作斗争。”

约有100名‘行走全国’活动的参与者走完了沿斯威士兰和莫桑比克边界到斯威士兰和南非边界的整整200公里的行程。每到一处,他们都得到了越来越多渴望参加的人的支持,并沿途吸引了近7000人参与了相关活动。这些活动的重点是促进艾滋病毒预防和咨询辅导,以及自愿接受艾滋病毒抗体测试。

本次行走活动的参与者跋涉于主要的农村地区,尽管那里传染率很高,却很少有人接受过有关艾滋病的教育。在各地区站点,有158人走出来自己教育自己,并了解自己的艾滋病毒状况。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Swaziland/2008/Diller
联合国儿童基金会工作人员轮流举起燃烧了12天的斯威士兰‘行走全国’活动的火炬。

一个难以抗拒的现实

当活动经过曼凯延小镇一所当地的医院时,该病的严峻现实表现的更加明显。病房人满为患,医务人员短缺使之根本无法应付众多急需治疗的患者的大量涌入。

护理人员朵丽斯.莎斑谷证实,大部份病人是患有与艾滋病有关的疾病。“就连我们的病房,也已变得拥挤不堪,以至有时我们甚至没有地方接治患者,”她说。

斯威士兰有33%以上的人口感染艾滋病毒,是世界上艾滋病毒患病率最高的国家,并且面临一场为人民生存而战的艰苦斗争。但希望却在该国的热血青年中折射了出来;在完成整个‘行走全国’活动的人中,有85%的人不足25岁。

朝着正确的方向迈进

由美国和平队和联合国儿童基金会以及18个其他组织共同规划和协调,行走活动吸引了不同年龄和来自各行各业的人。电视和广播电台对整个过程进行了跟踪报道,并反映了行走者的心声,强调他们每天的主题都不同。

就像他在3月2日打响了‘行走’的发令枪一样,斯威士兰滕巴.德拉米尼首相在活动结束的时候又亲临现场,熄灭了从社区到社区、从边境至边境一直传递的火炬。

斯威士兰王国在抗击艾滋病毒和艾滋病的斗争中可能还有很长的路要走,但‘行走全国’活动是朝着正确的方向迈出的一步。


 

 

防治艾滋病运动

搜索

Swaziland

Swazis ‘Walk the Nation’ to support HIV/AIDS awareness and prevention

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Swaziland/2008/Diller
Swazi Prime Minister Themba Dlamini, wearing an FC Barcelona jersey with the UNICEF logo, passes the ‘Walk the Nation’ torch.

MANKAYANE, Swaziland, 14 March 2008 – Andreas Simelane, at 63, was the oldest amongst the nearly 2,000 participants in ‘Walk the Nation’, a 12-day journey across the tiny mountain Kingdom of Swaziland. Carried out in hopes of spreading a message of hope, awareness and dignity for people living with HIV and AIDS, the walk concluded yesterday.

“Since I tested positive, I decided I’m not going to give up,” said Mr. Simelane, who has been living with HIV for several years. “I must join this to show that I’m with the nation in the fight against this pandemic, that everyone of my age must stand up and walk and fight this disease.”

About 100 ‘nation walkers’ marched the entire 200 km from the Swazi border with Mozambique to the border with South Africa. They were supported at various stages by increasing numbers of eager participants, and attracted nearly 7,000 people to related events along the way. The events focused on promoting HIV prevention and counselling, as well as voluntary HIV testing.

The trek took walkers through mainly rural areas, where few are educated about AIDS despite high rates of infection. At local stops, 158 people came out to educate themselves and find out their HIV status. 

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Swaziland/2008/Diller
UNICEF staff members take turns holding the torch that burned throughout the 12-day ‘Walk the Nation’ event in Swaziland.

An overwhelming reality

As the march passed through the small town of Mankayane, the stark reality of the disease was all too evident at the local hospital. Wards were packed, and shortages of medical personnel made it impossible to cope with the influx of so many in dire need.

Staff nurse Doris Shabangu confirmed that a large majority of the patients are patients suffering from AIDS-related illnesses. “Even our wards, they become congested so that sometimes we don’t even have the space to keep them,” she said.

At more than 33 per cent of the population, Swaziland has the world’s highest HIV prevalence rate and faces an uphill battle for the survival of those affected. But hope is reflected in the eagerness of the country’s youth; 85 per cent of those who completed the entire ‘Walk the Nation’ route were under the age of 25.

A step in the right direction

Planned and coordinated by the US Peace Corps in partnership with UNICEF and 18 other organizations, the walk attracted people of all ages and from all segments of society. Television and radio stations tracked their progress and mirrored the message of the walkers, who emphasized a different theme each day.

Just as he had kicked off the walk on 2 March, Swazi Prime Minister Themba Dlamini was on hand at its conclusion, extinguishing the torch that had been passed from community to community, and from border to border.

The Kingdom of Swaziland may still have a long way to go in the fight against HIV and AIDS, but ‘Walk the Nation’ was a step in the right direction.


 

 

Video

2 March 2007:
UNICEF correspondent Guy Hubbard reports on Swaziland's 'Walk the Nation' trek to raise awareness about HIV and AIDS.
 VIDEO  high | low

AIDS campaign

New enhanced search