斯威士兰

联合国儿童基金会与合作伙伴巴塞罗那足球俱乐部的代表访问斯威士兰

UNICEF Photo: Swaziland, FC Barcelona
© UNICEF Swaziland/2007/ Phakathi
巴塞罗那足球俱乐部主席拉波尔塔(左)和副主席拉斐尔.幼苏提(右),将联合国儿童基金会合作伙伴足球球衣赠给斯威士兰副总理康司坦斯.谢墨拉尼。

南赫兰拉.赫力塔.恩卡布利报道

斯威士兰恩卡比尼,2007 年12月13日。虽然足球是用塑料袋做的,而不是由职业球员用专业设备制作的,但是它并不影响巴塞罗那足球俱乐部那些著名球员和为孤儿和易受感染儿童开办的居民区关爱站的孩子们玩抢球的游戏,这也是本月初在斯威士兰为期两天访问中的一项活动。

参加活动的人是部分代表团成员,包括巴塞罗那足球俱乐部主席拉波尔塔和俱乐部副主席拉斐尔.幼苏提。他们也作为巴塞罗那基金会和联合国儿童基金会西班牙国家委员会的代表。在2006年,联合国儿童基金会和巴塞罗那足球俱乐部成为了援助世界各地儿童的全球合作伙伴。

斯威士兰是第一个受惠于全球风险基金,并接受了150万欧元用以改善受到艾滋病毒影响的儿童生活的国家。在最近的访问中,代表们亲眼看到了孩子们是如何从合作伙伴项目中受益的。

拉波尔塔先生说:“我们正在斯威士兰,了解这里的孩子和它们所面临的挑战。 我们很荣幸能与联合国儿童基金会结成伙伴,以深化我们的社会责任,并尽力使这个世界成为一个对儿童来说更美好的地方。在这里,我们正在进行着一场生命中最重要的比赛,一场消除贫困和疾病的比赛。总之,我认为我们可以赢得这场比赛。”

目前的成果

斯威士兰是世界上成年艾滋病病毒流行率最高的国家之一,并伴随着长期干旱和普遍的贫穷。

联合国儿童基金会驻斯威士兰的代表贾马.古赖德博士说:“斯威士兰儿童和妇女面临着巨大的挑战,但并非不可克服。有政府和民间社会,和像巴塞罗那那样慷慨而富远见的基金会的持续合作,我们可以带给这些孩子们希望,给他们一个更好的生活。”

UNICEF Photo: Swaziland, FC Barcelona, Joan Laporta
© UNICEF Swaziland/2007/ Phakathi
身着传统斯威士服装的拉波尔塔参观了为孤儿和易受感染儿童开办的居民区关爱站,它是由联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴巴塞罗那足球俱乐部支持的。

在还不满一年的合作伙伴关系中,巴塞罗那足球俱乐部和联合国儿童基金会已经为斯威士兰的儿童做了许多。

除了建立23个新居民区关爱站,合作双方还支持培训了近900名可照看3.5万个孩子的护理员。已为超过43500名儿童颁发了出生证,使他们能够享受卫生保健,教育和其他的社会服务。

在学校,孩子门在玩中学到了生活知识。已为近4000名学生提供了安全饮用水和“游玩式抽水泵”。这项创新的游玩式抽水泵,无须借助电力就可对水进行扬升,它还成为一种教学手段,使孩子们在娱乐中了解了饮水安全的重要性。

体育作为一种动员的工具

拉波尔塔先生及代表团参观了一处位于蛇乌拉的农村诊所,该诊所最近扩大了它的服务,并增加了艾滋病毒检测和咨询,帮助预防母婴传播艾滋病毒。

代表团的最后一站是在一所已经实施了“通过体育提高生活技能”方案的小学,这个项目把编排的有关艾滋病的意识和性别平等的讯息都纳入体育运动。

拉波尔塔先生说:“体育是动员人民的最好工具之一,和他们交谈并教他们。我很自豪,我们可以利用足球和其他体育活动作为工具,帮助有需要的儿童,教他们重要的生活教训,并帮助他们有好心情,享受童年的时光。”


 

 

防治艾滋病运动

搜索

Swaziland

In partnership with UNICEF, delegates from Fútbol Club Barcelona visit Swaziland

UNICEF Image: Swaziland, FC Barcelona
© UNICEF Swaziland/2007/ Phakathi
Fútbol Club Barcelona President Joan Laporta (left) and Vice-President Raphael Yuste (right) present a UNICEF partnership football jersey to the Deputy Prime Minister of Swaziland, Constance Simelane.

By Nonhlanhla Hleta-Nkambule

NKAMBENI, Swaziland, 13 December 2007 – A ball made from plastic bags is not among the usual equipment used by professional footballers. However, that didn’t stop members of the renowned Fútbol Club Barcelona from joining in a pickup game with children at a 'Neighbourhood Care Point' for orphans and vulnerable children during a two-day visit to Swaziland earlier this month.

The players were part of a delegation that included FC Barcelona President Joan Laporta and club Vice-President Raphael Yuste, as well as representatives from the Barcelona Foundation and the Spanish National Committee for UNICEF. In 2006, UNICEF and FC Barcelona entered into a global partnership to assist children around the world.

Swaziland was the first country to benefit from the global venture, receiving €1.5 million to improve the lives of children affected by HIV. During their recent visit, the delegates saw firsthand how children are benefiting from the partnership.

“We are in Swaziland to learn about the children here and the challenges they face,” said Mr. Laporta. “We are proud to partner with UNICEF to develop our social responsibility, and to try to make the world a better place for children. We are playing the most important match of our lives here – a match against poverty and disease. Together, I think we can win this match.”

Accomplishments to date

Swaziland has one of the highest adult HIV-prevalence rates in the world, along with chronic drought conditions and widespread poverty.
 
“The challenges facing children and women in Swaziland are great but they are not insurmountable,” said UNICEF's Representative in Swaziland, Dr. Jama Gulaid. “With continued collaboration between government and civil society, and generous funding like that from Barcelona, we can bring hope to these children and give them a better life.”

UNICEF Image: Swaziland, FC Barcelona, Joan Laporta
© UNICEF Swaziland/2007/ Phakathi
Dressed in traditional Swazi attire, Joan Laporta visited a Neighborhood Care Point for orphaned and vulnerable children that is supported by a partnership between UNICEF and FC Barcelona.

Less than a full year into their partnership, FC Barcelona and UNICEF have already accomplished much for children in Swaziland.

In addition to establishing 23 new Neighbourhood Care Points, the partnership has supported training of nearly 900 caregivers to serve 35,000 children. Birth certificates have been provided to over 43,500 children, giving them access to health care, education and other social services.

In the schools, children are learning about life while playing. Safe water and ‘play pumps’ have also been provided to nearly 4,000 students. The innovative play pumps lift water without the aid of electricity and act as an educational tool for children, who learn about the importance of safe water as they play.

Sport as a tool for mobilization

Mr. Laporta and the delegation visited a rural clinic in Shewula that has recently expanded its services and increased HIV testing and counselling, helping to prevent mother-to-child transmission of HIV.

The delegation’s last stop was at a primary school that has implemented the ‘Life Skills through Sport’ programme, which weaves messages about HIV awareness and gender equality into sports. 

“Sport is one of the best tools to mobilize people – to talk to them and teach them,” said Mr. Laporta. “I am proud that we can use football and other sports as tools to help children in need, to teach them important life lessons and also to help them have fun and enjoy being a child.”

 


 

 

AIDS campaign

New enhanced search