莱索托

莱索托青少年主动带领同龄人预防艾滋病

茨茨.辛吉兹报道

莱索托莱里贝,2011 年 8 月 25 日 — 在一阵热烈的欢迎声中,15 岁的李梦符.茉拉可坐了下来。在她的周围坐着很多人,围成了一个大圈。她的个子不高,身高不到一米五,而那些 11 —— 15 岁之间的同龄人显然都非常尊重她。她讲话的时候,他们也都听得非常认真。

视频:联合国儿童基金会通讯员苏珊娜.波克斯 (Suzanne Beukes) 报道莱索托为了提高青少年对艾滋病毒/艾滋病的意识、加强对艾滋病毒/艾滋病的预防而采取的社区青年计划。  在Realplayer中播放

 

“同龄人呼吁”可能会成为莱索托应对顽固的艾滋病毒/艾滋病的最新方法。 李梦符和其他很多受过培训的同龄领导和老师每周至少两次到莱索托高发病率地区的学校进行访问。他们通过交谈、体育活动和游戏等方式,向青少年传达预防艾滋病毒的生活技能和重要信息,帮助他们提高意识、预防感染,还帮助应对艾滋病对他们家庭造成的影响。

“儿童和青少年在成长的过程中,必须了解关于艾滋病毒/艾滋病的知识,才能保护自己,”李梦符说。“艾滋病毒和艾滋病是莱索托面临的一个巨大的问题,它不断地夺取人们的生命。”
UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
由联合国儿童基金会支持的同龄领导计划旨在提高莱索托青少年对艾滋病毒的认识。

同龄人支持至关重要

艾滋病毒给李梦符他们这一代人带来了特殊的危险。在莱索托一个两百万人的小山城,艾滋病毒感染率高达 23.6% ——位居世界第三(根据联合国艾滋病规划署的资料)。据估计,平均每天有 63 个成年人感染艾滋病毒。

令人担忧的是,统计数据显示,随着青少年长大成人,艾滋病毒感染率成倍增长。而在莱索托,仅 39% 的 15 – 24 岁之间的青年女性、29% 的青年男性有机会全面了解艾滋病毒知识。

因此,对于那些每周日常课程中只有一节生活技能基础课的儿童来说,这样的同龄领导项目是一个重要的补充。很多父母在与孩子讨论安全性行为时会感到尴尬,因此,同龄领导的访问是向青少年传播预防知识的窗口。

干预初见成效

联合国儿童基金会为那些同龄领导和老师的培训提供支持,以提高预防艾滋病毒的知识水平、降低感染的风险。干预措施将针对小学最后三个年级的学生和所有中学生。

凯撒.乐卡是山城学校的一位老师,李梦符经常作为同龄领导去她们学校访问,凯撒说这种访问已经初见成效了。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
“儿童和青少年应该在成长过程中了解关于艾滋病毒/艾滋病的知识,才能保护自己,”莱索托一名15 岁的同龄领导李梦符.茉拉可说。

“这些年轻的志愿者是学生的同龄人,”她说。“他们充满活力,而更重要的是,他们很容易互动,比如通过相互交谈、一起玩耍、做游戏等方式,分享看似沉重的信息。以这种方式教育学生,他们很容易就记住了。”

这个青少年项目正在帮助莱索托感染率最高的三个地区(马赛鲁、伯里亚和莱里贝)的青少年。自 2009 年启动以来,这个项目已经帮助了六万名青少年。

联合国儿童基金会也通过专门的求助热线和手机短信等方式对该国的青少年进行相关知识宣传,借助手机短信服务发送大量的艾滋病毒预防信息。通过手机短信服务,联合国儿童基金会每个月会收到青少年发来的至少 16,000 个的与艾滋病毒/艾滋病相关的问题。

需要扩大预防范围

然而,不幸的是,由于缺乏资金,这样的预防工作无法在莱索托所有的 10 个地区开展。尽管李梦符和其他同龄领导和老师做出了承诺,但是政府必须提供大部分治疗和护理艾滋病毒/艾滋病的资源。

“通过这些简单的应对措施,我们就能够帮助莱索托的青少年预防艾滋病毒,”联合国儿童基金会驻莱索托代表艾哈迈德.梅根 (Ahmed Maga) 说。“政府对此表示支持,但是缺乏资源。为了扩大预防范围,改变他们这一代人的命运,我们需要国际社会的支援。

 


 

 

青年之声

防治艾滋病运动

搜索

Lesotho

Peer leaders take the initiative on HIV prevention among young people in Lesotho

By Tsitsi Singizi

LERIBE, Lesotho, 25 August 2011 – To a rousing welcome, Limpho Moleleko, 15, takes her place at the centre of the large circle. At just under 150 cm, she is not a tall girl, yet she evidently commands great respect among her peers, who range from 11 to 15 years of age. They listen attentively to what she has to say.

VIDEO: UNICEF's Suzanne Beukes reports on community-based youth initiatives to raise HIV/AIDS awareness and prevention among adolescents in Lesotho.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

It is this ‘peer appeal’ that may become Lesotho’s latest antidote to an unrelenting HIV/AIDS epidemic. Limpho and an army of trained peer leaders and coaches visit schools in Lesotho’s high-prevalence districts at least twice a week. Through peer talks, sport and games, the visitors offer life skills and vital information to help raise awareness, prevent HIV infection among young people and help them cope with the impact of AIDS in their families.

“Children and young people should grow up with knowledge on HIV/AIDS so that they are protected,” says Limpho. “HIV and AIDS is a huge problem in Lesotho, and people are dying.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
A peer-leader initiative supported by UNICEF aims to raise awareness about HIV among adolescents in Lesotho.

Peer support is vital

HIV has brought unique dangers to Limpho’s generation. In Lesotho, a small mountain kingdom with a population of 2 million, the HIV prevalence rate is 23.6 per cent – the third highest in the world – according to UNAIDS. An estimated 63 adults are infected with HIV every day.

Worryingly, statistics show that HIV prevalence rates multiply as adolescents grow into young adults. And comprehensive knowledge of HIV in Lesotho is as low as 39 per cent among young women aged 15 to 24, and 29 per cent among young men.

The sessions with peer leaders like Limpho are, therefore, a vital supplement for children who receive only one broad-based weekly lesson on life skills in their regular classes. With many parents uncomfortable talking to their children about safe sex, the peer visits provide a crucial window to spread prevention messages to young people.

Intervention yields results

UNICEF is supporting the training of Lesotho’s network of community-based peer leaders and coaches to raise the level of HIV knowledge and reduce the risk of infection. The intervention is targeting schoolchildren in the last three grades of primary school and all high school students.

Kaizer Leleka, a teacher at the Mount Royal School, which Limpho has visited as a peer leader, says this approach is beginning to yield results.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
“Children and young people should grow up with knowledge on HIV/AIDS so that they are protected,” says Limpho Moleleko, 15, a peer leader in Lesotho.

“The young volunteers are peers to the pupils,” she notes. “They are dynamic but, importantly, they easily interact, use peer talk, play and games to share a seemingly heavy message. When you teach pupils in such a way, they easily remember.”

The youth-based programme is reaching young people in the country’s three high-prevalence districts of Maseru, Berea and Leribe. Since it began in 2009, the initiative has reached 60,000 young people.

UNICEF is also reaching young people here with a unique helpline and an innovative cell phone SMS service that sends mass HIV prevention messages. The cell phone service receives at least 16,000 HIV/AIDS-related questions from young people every month.

Need to scale up prevention

Tragically, however, such prevention efforts lack the funding to take them to scale in all of Lesotho’s 10 districts. Despite the commitment shown by Limpho and other peer leaders and coaches, the government must allocate most of its HIV/AIDS resources to treatment and care.

“Through these simple responses, we can help prevent HIV among Lesotho’s adolescents,” says UNICEF Representative in Lesotho Ahmed Magan. “The government is supportive but lacks resource. All we require is international support and resources to scale up and have an opportunity to turn the tide for this generation.”


 

 

Voices of Youth

AIDS campaign

New enhanced search