老挝人民民主共和国

联合国秘书长称赞老挝为提高预防艾滋意识所做的努力

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Lao PDR/2009/Holmes
联合国秘书长潘基文在老挝万象与来自联合国儿童基金会所支持的Peaun Mit流浪儿童项目的儿童见面。

老挝人民民主共和国万象,2009年4 月14 日 – 在上周末对老挝的访问期间,联合国秘书长潘基文赞扬了联合国及其合作伙伴为提高老挝人民对艾滋病的意识和理解所做的努力。

潘基文在首都万象的一个青年中心发表了讲话,他还与艾滋病患者的代表以及其他从事该领域工作的团队代表见了面。

联合国秘书长对联合国儿童基金会支持的一个青少年广播节目的记者说:“你们为帮助老挝年轻人所做的工作,以及为培养他们对预防艾滋的意识所做的努力给我留下了深刻的印象。”

克服耻辱感

虽然与其他东南亚国家相比,老挝的艾滋病毒感染率较低,但是有迹象显示在一些弱势青少年群体中艾滋病感染率有上升的趋势。

潘基文指出全球抗击艾滋病的运动是联合国的首要任务,并赞扬了他在一个帮助艾滋病患者克服耻辱感并融入社会的中心所见到的年轻的辅导员和志愿者–包括一群佛教僧侣。

潘基文说:“重要的是要使老挝的社区、政府和人民一同为艾滋病毒携带者提供良好的辅导、照顾、支持和鼓励。”

挑战依然存在

隶属老挝妇女联盟的万象青年中心于2001年建立,该中心带头促进该国青少年能力发展和赋权。在联合国人口基金、联合国毒品和犯罪问题办事处及联合国儿童基金会的援助下,该中心开办了一个提供有关艾滋病问题建议的电话热线业务、一个提供生殖保健服务的诊所以及一个同辈教育项目。

在访问万象期间,潘基文会见了老挝人民民主共和国主席朱马利.赛雅贡及其他政府官员。秘书长出席了联合国驻老挝新总部大楼的启用仪式并发表讲话,他说他对老挝实现千年发展目标并实现到2020年摆脱最不发达国家地位的目标表示乐观。

潘基文祝贺老挝政府在改善健康、教育和生活水平方面取得了稳步的进展,但是也强调了挑战依然存在——例如在农村地区应对儿童营养不良、孕产妇死亡和贫困问题。

合作的精神

秘书长还强调说老挝最近发布的《千年发展目标进展报告》是该国政府及其发展伙伴的重要工具。他还呼吁老挝政府增加在人类发展、社会部门和环境可持续性发面的投入。

在对该国200多名联合国工作人员的讲话中,潘基文说培养联合国机构之间的合作精神是促进发展的最有效的手段。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Lao People's Democratic Republic

UN Secretary-General applauds AIDS awareness efforts in Lao PDR

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Lao PDR/2009/Holmes
UN Secretary general Ban Ki Moon meets children from the UNICEF-supported Peaun Mit project for street children in Vientiane, Lao PDR.

VIENTIANE, Lao People's Democratic Republic, 14 April 2009 – United Nations Secretary-General Mr. Ban Ki-moon praised the efforts of the UN and its partners to raise awareness and understanding of HIV/AIDS in Lao PDR on a visit there this past weekend.

Mr. Ban was speaking at a youth centre in the capital, Vientiane, where he met representatives of people living with HIV and AIDS, and of other groups working on the issue.

“I am very much impressed by all that you are doing to help young people of Laos, to teach them awareness and the importance of prevention of HIV/AIDS,” the Secretary-General told reporters from a UNICEF-supported youth radio programme.

Overcoming stigma
Although rates of HIV infection are low in Laos compared with other parts of South-east Asia, there are signs that it is gaining hold among some vulnerable adolescent groups.

Pointing out that the global campaign against HIV and AIDS is a priority for the UN, Mr. Ban applauded the young counsellors and volunteers – including a group of Buddhist monks – he met at a centre dedicated to helping people with HIV overcome stigma and integrate into society.

“It is very important for the community, the government and citizens of Laos to work together to provide good counselling, good care and support, and a good source of encouragement to people living with HIV/AIDS,” said Mr. Ban.

Challenges remain
Established in 2001 under the Lao Women’s Union, the Vientiane Youth Centre is a pioneer in promoting youth capacity development and empowerment in the country. With assistance from the UN Population Fund, the UN Office on Drugs and Crime and UNICEF, the centre runs a telephone hotline offering advice on HIV/AIDS issues, a clinic providing reproductive health services and a peer-to-peer education programme.

During his stop in Vientiane, Mr. Ban held talks with the President of Lao PDR, H.E. Choummaly Sayasone, and other government officials. In an address at the inauguration ceremony for a new UN headquarters, the Secretary-General said he was optimistic that the country would achieve the Millennium Development Goals and graduate from Least Developed Country status by the target date of 2020.

Mr. Ban congratulated the government for its steady progress in improving health, education and living standards, but stressed that challenges remain – such as overcoming child malnutrition, maternal mortality and poverty in rural areas.

A collaborative spirit
The Secretary General also highlighted a newly released MDG report as a valuable tool for the government and its development partners. He went on to urge greater investments in human development, the social sector and environmental sustainability.

In an address to more than 200 UN staff members working here, Mr. Ban said fostering a collaborative spirit among the various UN agencies was the most effective means of promoting development.


 

 

AIDS campaign

New enhanced search