艾滋病与儿童

“母婴包”升级:需做更多努力预防艾滋病病毒母婴传播

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-2262/Nesbitt
Carolyne Kemunto Gichana 护士与一位在肯尼亚尼安萨省科苏木镇科苏木东区产前检查所进行艾滋病病毒测试的孕妇在交谈。

美国纽约,2011年4月25日 – 每天,世界上会有1000多名婴儿在其母亲的怀孕、分娩或生产,以及哺乳的过程中感染艾滋病病毒。若不进行医学治疗,几乎半数的婴儿将无法顺利存活至两周岁。

从怀孕一直到哺乳结束的整个过程中,感染艾滋病毒的孕妇和母亲以及她们的婴儿都需要服用药物来阻止艾滋病病毒的传播。这项必要的治疗措施需要克服重重障碍:药物的匮乏、产检和分娩的高额费用、在诊所长时间的等待、通往健康中心的交通不便以及与艾滋病相关的污名和歧视。

在过去的几年里,联合国儿童基金会一直与合作伙伴致力于实施一项创新工程以解决其中的一些问题,该项创新工程就是“母婴包”。

“‘母婴包’是我们整体响应预防艾滋病母婴传播 (PMTCT) 的一个小型的创新部分,”联合国儿童基金会项目主管尼古拉斯.阿利波(Nicholas Alipui)博士说,“健全国家医疗卫生体系才是在预防艾滋病母婴传播 (PMTCT) 方面缩小差距的最好方式。这不仅扩展了婴儿早期诊断范围,也确保了母体健康以及对边缘儿童和青年的关照和治疗。”

确保质量和效果

投入使用创新“母婴包”的国家有喀麦隆、肯尼亚、莱索托和赞比亚。目前,由于在实施过程中产生了一些问题,除了莱索托之外,其他国家“母婴包”的发放均被停止了。现在,联合国儿童基金会与合作伙伴正在评估那些使“母婴包”项目发挥成效的首要事物,确保提供优质的服务。

这次评估包括了地方和社区的准备情况,当地的药物和物资保障,对于孕妇的清楚指导,以及健康和社区服务人员的培训。 报告、监控和评估系统也将被评估。每个国家都在通过提高社区医疗水平以对母亲们提供支持,使“母婴包”适用于自己的国情及所面临的挑战。

本次评估过程的合作者包括来自联合国儿童基金会 (UNICEF)、联合国艾滋病规划署 (UNAIDS)、世界卫生组织 (WHO)、国际药品采购机制 (UNITAID)、伊丽莎白格拉泽儿童艾滋病基金会 (Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation)、克林顿健康倡议组织 (Clinton Health Access Initiative)、美国全球艾滋病协调办公室 (Office of the US Global AIDS Coordinator)、美国国际发展署 (USAID)、美国疾病预防控制中心 (US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) 以及哥伦比亚大学 (Columbia University)的专家。

一旦该评估完成后,“母婴包”的发放工作就会向前推进,一系列工作都会到位,确保提供最优质高效的服务。

从地方到全球的创新工程

“母婴包”的概念始源于莱索托,那里的卫生保健工作人员最先开始把药物放入普通的棕色信封,然后让感染艾滋病的孕妇将其同新生儿一起带回家。在 2007 年,莱索托政府将这些“医药包”的发放列入了国家预防艾滋病母婴传播战略计划。

这些“医药包”对于莱索托而言是一个大的转折点。它们让政府和联合国儿童基金会重新思考怎样通过整体包装来更好地发放药品。

受到这个地方政策的启发,联合国儿童基金会和合作伙伴们研究出了“母婴包”,并根据世界卫生组织的最新指导方针添加了抗逆转录病毒药物 (ARV) 和抗生素药物,使其超越了莱索托的“医药包”。该“药物包”整体包装了从怀孕的第 14 周至产下婴儿的第 6 周期间所需的所有药物。产下婴儿 6 周后,妈妈们还被要求回到诊所接受定期的免疫接种,早期的婴儿诊断以及进一步的抗逆转录病毒药物 (ARV) 的治疗,防止在哺乳过程中传播艾滋病病毒。

扭转艾滋病病毒的蔓延趋势

联合国秘书长在 3 月 31 日发布的 2011 年艾滋病病毒和艾滋病防治进展报告中指出,全世界正在开始扭转艾滋病病毒的蔓延趋势。报告指出,在 2009 年,多于半数的感染艾滋病的孕妇和妈妈都获得了预防艾滋病病毒母婴传播的药物。尽管如此,要想彻底杜绝新生儿感染艾滋病毒并使妈妈存活,还需要做更多的努力。

确保“母婴包”能为杜绝艾滋病母婴传播做出贡献是至关重要的,而达到最高水平的监控和药物发放则起着决定性作用。联合国儿童基金会将致力于应对此项挑战并会在未来的几个月中继续报道相关的调查结果。


 

 

防治艾滋病运动

搜索

Children and HIV and AIDS

Mother-Baby Pack update: More efforts needed to prevent mother-to-child transmission of HIV

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-2262/Nesbitt
Nurse Carolyne Kemunto Gichana speaks with a pregnant woman who has taken an HIV test at the antenatal clinic at Kisumu East District Hospital in Kisumu Township, Nyanza Province, Kenya.

NEW YORK, USA, 25 April 2011 – Every day, more than 1,000 infants worldwide are infected with HIV during their mothers’ pregnancy, labour or delivery, or through breastfeeding. Without medical intervention, nearly half of these babies will die before their second birthday.

Pregnant women and mothers living with HIV, and their infants, need to receive medicines from pregnancy all the way through to the end of breastfeeding in order to stop the transmission of HIV. Barriers to this needed treatment include lack of medication, the high cost of antenatal care and delivery, long waits at clinics, lack of transportation to health centres, and HIV-related stigma and discrimination.

For the last few years, UNICEF has been working with partners on an innovation to address some of these issues – the Mother-Baby Pack.

“The Mother-Baby Pack is one small, innovative part of our overall response to the prevention of mother-to-child transmission [also known as PMTCT],” says UNICEF Director of Programmes Dr. Nicholas Alipui. “Strengthening national health systems is the best way to close the gap in PMTCT. This is in addition to expanding early infant diagnosis, ensuring maternal health and making care and treatment available to hard-to-reach children and young people.”

Ensuring quality and effectiveness

Cameroon, Kenya, Lesotho and Zambia are the countries where this innovation is being developed. At this stage, the distribution of the Mother-Baby Pack has been stopped in all but Lesotho, as a number of issues in implementation have arisen. UNICEF and partners are now reviewing pre-requisites for effective Mother-Baby Pack programmes to ensure quality service delivery.

This review is covering site and community readiness, availability of medicines and supplies at sites, clear instructions for pregnant women, and training of health and community providers. Reporting, monitoring and evaluation systems are also being assessed. Each country is shaping the Mother-Baby Pack to its own conditions and challenges – with a focus on strengthened community-level support for mothers.

Partners in the review process include experts from UNICEF, UNAIDS, the World Health Organization (WHO), UNITAID, the Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation, the Clinton Health Access Initiative, the Office of the US Global AIDS Coordinator, USAID, the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and Columbia University.

Distribution of the Mother-Baby Pack will move forward once this review is complete and processes are in place to ensure the highest quality and most effective service delivery possible.

From local to global innovation

The concept of the Mother-Baby Pack originated in Lesotho, where health-care workers began putting medicines in plain brown envelopes for pregnant women living with HIV to take home with their newborn infants. In 2007, the Government of Lesotho included these packs in their national PMTCT strategy.

For Lesotho, the packs were a game changer. They made the government and UNICEF re-think how to better deliver medication through co-packaging.

From this local idea, UNICEF and partners developed the Mother-Baby Pack, which goes beyond the Lesotho pack and contains anti-retrovirals (ARVs) and antibiotics consistent with the latest WHO guidelines. The packs co-package medications for use starting from 14 weeks of pregnancy until six weeks after the birth of the infant. After six weeks, mothers are asked to return to the clinics for regular immunizations, an early infant diagnosis test and further ARVs to stop potential infection during breastfeeding.

Reversing the spread of HIV

The UN Secretary General’s 2011 progress report on HIV and AIDS, released on 31 March, points out that the world is beginning to reverse the spread of HIV. The report notes that in 2009, more than half of all pregnant women and mothers living with HIV received the medications they needed to prevent transmission to their babies. Still, much more needs to be done to achieve the elimination of all new HIV infections in children and to keep mothers alive.

Ensuring that the Mother-Baby Pack can contribute to the goal of elimination is vital, and achieving the highest standards of monitoring and delivery is crucial. UNICEF is committed to this challenge and will continue to report on its findings in the months ahead.


 

 

AIDS campaign

New enhanced search