体育促进发展

联合国儿童基金会和世界一流的板球运动员携手对抗艾滋病毒和艾滋病

国际板球理事会2011年板球世界杯

艾米.法卡斯报道

美国纽约,2011年1月25日 – 全世界的球迷正在为2月19日将在孟加拉召开的国际板球理事会2011年板球世界杯赛倒计时,与此同时,来自14个参赛国的运动员和球队正联手帮助对抗艾滋流行病。

视频:观看国际板球明星印度的施瓦格(Virender Sehwag)和斯里兰卡的库马尔.桑贾卡拉(Kumar Sangakkara)参加制作的公益广告。这则公益广告主要是宣传国际板球理事会2011年板球世界杯开展的提高艾滋意识的“理性思考”活动。 在Realplayer中播放

在“理性思考:全球板球艾滋合作伙伴关系”的旗帜下,国际板球理事会、联合国儿童基金会、联合国艾滋病规划署与全球媒体抗击艾滋病倡议,以及众多当地合作伙伴开启了一项宣传活动,呼吁全球的球迷了解事实、保护自己并避免污辱社区里携带艾滋病毒的人。

在国际板球理事会2011年板球世界杯比赛期间,这项活动将在孟加拉、印度、斯里兰卡这三个主办国通过电视和网络媒体展开,同时还将在赛场进行宣传。该项目还在比赛城市的学校和社区里展开,从而让年轻人参与艾滋病毒/艾滋病教育。

泰米尔纳德邦首府钦奈的一名学生,14岁的施利亚(Shreya)说:“在印度,板球就像是一种宗教。每个人都崇拜这种比赛。要想传达重要的信息,没有比这项运动更好的媒介了。”施利亚和来自印度八个邦的数百名儿童一同参加了创新的板球和艾滋病教育项目。这个学校的项目是“理性思考”运动的一个重要方面。

UNICEF Photo
© International Cricket Council/2010
斯里兰卡的男孩们在打板球。斯里兰卡是国际板球理事会2011年板球世界杯三个主办国之一。

鼓励年轻人参与

参与项目的学校正借助板球的流行和人们对国际板球理事会板球世界杯的热情,鼓励年轻人参与预防爱滋的互动式学习机会。

一个学生说:“从板球运动员、楷模和英雄身上获得艾滋的信息,这使我们愿意坐好听他们讲话。这些学习课程不单调。课程很活跃,参与游戏和小组活动很有趣。”

这个项目是由联合国儿童基金会驻印度办事处与MAMTA合作制定的。MAMTA是一个在应对艾滋病毒/艾滋病问题方面众所周知的非政府组织。项目确保有关艾滋病的信息以尊重和诚实的方式传递。课程刚开始的时候播放“理性思考”影片并就板球运动进行讨论,打破僵局并让年轻人们参与这一过程。知名的板球运动员们随后传达有关艾滋的重要信息。

甚至关于耻辱和歧视的课程都是以一种特殊的方式传授的,学生们可以参与游戏和生动活泼的对话。

UNICEF Photo
© International Cricket Council/2010
在与联合国儿童基金会合作提高艾滋意识的工作中,南非国家足球队队长格雷姆.史密斯与西印度群岛的年轻板球运动员交谈。

打破壁垒

所有的体育运动都可以帮助打破壁垒并克服种姓和阶级的差别。出于这个原因,板球提供一个理想的平台,向广泛的人群传达至关重要的艾滋信息。

事实上,联合国儿童基金会亲眼目睹了板球在教育年轻人健康行为方面可以发挥的作用。例如,联合国儿童基金会与纳米比亚的体育监管机构“板球纳米比亚”合作实施“Kwata板球”项目。该项目旨在促进体育和游戏在儿童和青少年健康方面所发挥的重要作用。

11岁的伊夫琳.科嘉鲁库阿(Eveleen Kejarukua)住在纳米比亚温得和克市外的一个小镇。在说服了她母亲后,她参加了“Kwata板球”项目。她说这是应对由于同伴压力而过早进行性行为或饮酒的最好途径。虽然伊夫琳的母亲一开始对女儿参加这个项目有些犹豫,但是她现在说她的女儿理解了艾滋病毒、酒精和吸毒的风险,她也就更有信心了。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Namibia/2010
在纳米比亚,11岁的伊夫琳.科嘉鲁库阿(Eveleen Kejarukua)因她在“Kwata板球”中学到的技巧而感到自豪。“Kwata板球”是一个联合国儿童基金会支持的项目,旨在促进体育和游戏在儿童和青少年健康方面所发挥的重要作用。

板球国家的艾滋问题

全球约3330万名携带艾滋病毒的人口中,将近四分之一来自主要的板球国家。仅印度和南非就有将近800万人患有这种疾病。

南非国家队队长格雷姆史密斯(Graeme Smith)说:“你仅需要看看数据就知道为什么我对提高艾滋意识如此重视。”

他补充说:“每年有两百万人死于与艾滋相关的原因,而他们中有将近四分之三来自撒哈拉以南的非洲。带上了红丝带,我向全球数百万的球迷们传达一个信息,也就是他们不应该歧视携带艾滋病毒的人。”


 

 

防治艾滋病运动

搜索

 
UNICEF - GOALS FOR GIRLS!

Team UNICEF

UNICEF and world-class cricketers team up to battle HIV and AIDS

ICC Cricket World Cup 2011

By Amy Farkas

NEW YORK, USA, 25 January 2011 – As fans around the world count down to the ICC Cricket World Cup beginning on 19 February with a match in Bangladesh, players and squads from the 14 competing countries are teaming up to help combat the AIDS epidemic.

VIDEO: Watch a public service announcement with international cricket stars Virender Sehwag of India and Kumar Sangakkara of Sri Lanka promoting the ‘Think Wise’ campaign on HIV/AIDS awareness, developed for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Under the banner, ‘Think Wise: The Global Cricket AIDS Partnership,’ the International Cricket Council, UNICEF, UNAIDS and the Global Media AIDS Initiative – along with numerous local partners – have launched a campaign asking fans around the world to get the the facts, protect themselves and avoid stigmatizing those in their communities who are living with HIV and AIDS.

The campaign will run throughout the ICC Cricket World Cup via television and online media, and with in-stadium messaging in the three countries hosting the tournament: Bangladesh, India and Sri Lanka. It is also being rolled out in schools and communities in match-playing cities to engage young people in HIV/AIDS education.

“In India, cricket is like religion. Everyone worships the game, and there is no better medium to communicate anything of significance,” said Shreya, 14, a student in Chennai, the capital of Tamil Nadu State. Shreya is just one among hundreds of children across eights states in India participating in innovative cricket and HIV education programmes. The school programme is a critical facet of the ‘Think Wise’ campaign.

UNICEF Image
© International Cricket Council/2010
Boys play cricket in Sri Lanka, one of the three host countries for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011.

Engaging young people

The participating schools are building on the popularity of cricket, and excitement about the ICC Cricket World Cup, to engage young people in interactive HIV-prevention learning opportunities.

“Getting information on HIV from cricket players, our role models and heroes, makes us want to sit up and listen. The sessions are not boring. They are really active, and it is fun being part of games and group activities,” said one student.

The programme was designed by UNICEF India in partnership with MAMTA, a well-known non-governmental organization working on HIV and AIDS issues. It ensures that information on HIV is imparted in ways that are respectful and honest. Sessions open with ‘Think Wise’ films and discussions about cricket, breaking the ice and getting the young participants engaged in the process. Famous cricketers then deliver key HIV messages.

Even the session on stigma and discrimination is delivered in a participatory style that engages students in games and lively conversations.

UNICEF Image
© International Cricket Council/2010
South African national team captain Graeme Smith speaks to young cricket players in the West Indies as part of his work with UNICEF to spread awareness about HIV/AIDS.

Breaking down barriers

All sports can help to break down barriers and overcome differences of caste and class. For this reason, cricket provides an ideal platform to impart life-saving HIV information to diverse audiences.

In fact, UNICEF has seen firsthand the role that cricket can play in educating young people about healthy behaviour. For example, UNICEF collaborates with Cricket Namibia, the governing body of the sport in that country, in implementing Kwata Cricket, a programme that promotes sport and play as vital elements of child and adolescent health and well-being.

Eveleen Kejarukua, 11, who lives in a township outside of Windhoek, Namibia, joined Kwata Cricket after convincing her mother that it was the best way to help her deal with peer pressure to engage in early sexual activity and underage drinking. While initially hesitant to let her daughter participate in the group, Eveleen’s mother now says her daughter appreciates the risks of HIV and alcohol and drug use, and that she is more confident.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Namibia/2010
In Namibia, Eveleen Kejarukua, 11, is proud of the skills she has acquired through Kwata Cricket, a UNICEF-supported programme that promotes sport and play as vital elements of child and adolescent health and well-being.

HIV in cricketing countries

Of the estimated 33.3 million people living with HIV worldwide, nearly a quater are from major cricketing countries. India and South Africa alone have nearly 8 million people living with the disease.

“You only have to look at the statistics to understand why I am passionate ... to raise awareness about HIV,” said South African national team captain Graeme Smith.

“Two million people die of AIDS-related deaths each year, and nearly three-quarters of them come from sub-Saharan Africa,” he added. “By wearing a red ribbon, I am sending a message to the millions of fans across the world that they shouldn’t discriminate against people living with HIV.”


 

 

AIDS campaign

New enhanced search