艾滋病与儿童

联合国儿童基金会的“母婴医药包”有助于预防母婴传播艾滋病毒

给身处险境的母亲和婴儿献上生命的贺礼

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0704/Nesbitt
在赞比亚卢萨卡的家中,阿格内斯.查布(Agness Chabu)刚给她10周大的儿子拉克森(Lackson)洗完澡,她脸上堆满了笑容。查布女士参加了一项预防母婴传播艾滋病的运动。通过这项运动,拉克森出生后就接受了预防性抗逆转录病毒治疗并在六周大的时候进行了艾滋病检测。

纽约,2010年5月7日 – 每年五月的第二个星期天是母亲节,这个节日为联合国儿童基金会提供了双重机遇。母亲节让全世界都关注母亲的爱心与奉献,也是帮助受到贫困、疾病和营养不良困扰的母亲和儿童筹措资金的契机。

点击此处观看视频

联合国儿童基金会的国家委员会通过在36个工业化国家筹款和倡议来支持儿基会的工作,今年将为母亲节献上一份大礼,不仅歌颂母亲的伟大,而且让捐赠者能够借此机会为拯救生命贡献出自己的一份力量。

这份礼物就是联合国儿童基金会全新的“母婴医药包”。

对东部和南部非洲的影响

这个“母婴医药包”旨在缓解艾滋病毒对东部和南部非洲地区的破坏性影响。在全世界210万感染艾滋病毒的儿童中,约有90%生活在这些地区。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0243/Markisz
“母婴医药包”内装有印着彩色编码的小盒子,盒子里有为感染艾滋病毒的孕妇及其新生儿准备的抗生素和抗逆转录病毒药物。

每天有一千多名婴儿因艾滋病毒的母婴传播而被感染。病毒在抚育和维持新生命的特殊过程——怀孕、分娩以及母乳喂养中传播。 

若不进行医学治疗,至少半数携带艾滋病毒的婴儿活不过两周岁。如果能够适时使用抗逆转录病毒药物进行治疗,就可以预防病毒的传播,保护母亲和婴儿的健康。

阻止艾滋病毒的传播

对于许多发展中国家的母亲和婴儿来说,完成整个疗程的药物治疗需要克服重重阻碍。比如,一名住在偏远地区的孕妇就可能无力支付几个月治疗期间发生的往返路费。况且并不是所有国家都拥有完备的医疗系统来确保药物的储备并跟踪病人的治疗情况。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-1963/Nesbitt
在赞比亚的萨姆菲亚,米丽娅姆.琼戈(右)参加了预防艾滋病毒母婴传播的一个项目,她正看着自己的母亲用毯子包裹起她的新生宝宝皮特。

对于许多发展中国家的母亲和婴儿来说,完成整个疗程的药物治疗需要克服重重阻碍。比如,一名住在偏远地区的孕妇就可能无力支付几个月治疗期间发生的往返路费。况且并不是所有国家都拥有完备的医疗系统来确保药物的储备并跟踪病人的治疗情况

这个“母婴医药包”解决了这些难题,为感染艾滋病毒的孕妇提供了一个完整的预先包装好的药物包,帮助预防艾滋病毒的母婴传播问题。
此外,药物包的使用强化了医生上门探访母亲和婴儿的重要性。在妊娠期,孕妇通过医护人员获得药物包;在哺乳期,让婴儿接受艾滋病毒的检测。

“关爱的传统”

莱索托医护人员创造的理念是,“母婴医药包”可以让母亲直接保护她们的孩子免受病毒感染。这些医药包将在喀麦隆、肯尼亚、莱索托和赞比亚等四个撒哈拉以南地区的国家大量生产。

今年,联合国儿童基金会英国国家委员会也将提供“母婴医药包”,让支持者以自己所爱的人的名义购买医药包作为“激励的礼物”。

联合国儿童基金会驻英国办事处执行主任大卫.布尔(David Bull)说:“母亲节不仅让我们想念自己的母亲,也让我们了解到发展中国家的母亲和儿童所面临的严峻挑战。”

他说:“不管是在今天这个重要的节日还是在任何一天,联合国儿童基金会的‘母婴医药包’都是给所有母亲的一份完美礼物。它让我们以母亲灌输给我们的关爱传统来尊敬自己的母亲,并且拯救那些急需援助的母亲和儿童。”

鲜花、糖果和其它传统的母亲节礼物能让人心旷神怡。但像“母婴医药包”这样的礼物能够带来长期的影响:给人带来快乐,这种快乐不只是几个小时或几天的快乐,而是可以延续很多年或影响几代人,这是一份生命的礼物。


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会记者桑塔.布卢门就有关莱索托开展的帮助预防艾滋病毒母婴传播的新运动报道。
 视频  |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

防治艾滋病运动

搜索

Children and HIV and AIDS

UNICEF 'Mother-Baby Pack' helps prevent mother-to-child transmission of HIV

A gift of life for mothers and babies at risk

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0704/Nesbitt
Agness Chabu smiles as she finishes bathing her 10-week-old son, Lackson, at their home in Lusaka, Zambia. Ms. Chabu participates in a programme on prevention of mother-to-child transmission of HIV, through which Lackson received prophylactic anti-retroviral treatment after his birth and an HIV test at six weeks of age.

NEW YORK, 7 May 2010 – Mother’s Day, which is celebrated in many countries on the second Sunday in May, presents a dual opportunity for UNICEF. The holiday recognizes the care and devotion of mothers around the globe. It’s also a chance to raise the funds urgently needed to help women and children who face overwhelming challenges of poverty, disease and malnutrition.

VIDEO: Watch now

This Mother’s Day, UNICEF’s national committees – which support the organization’s work through fundraising and advocacy in 36 industrialized nations – are offering a gift that both pays tribute to mothers and gives donors a chance to make a potentially life-saving donation.

That gift is UNICEF’s new Mother-Baby Pack.

Impact in eastern and southern Africa

The pack is an innovative response to the devastating impact of the HIV epidemic in the region where it hits hardest – eastern and southern Africa. Of all the world’s 2.1 million children living with HIV, some 90 per cent are found there.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0243/Markisz
In a Mother-Baby Pack, components are packaged in a colour-coded box containing antibiotic and anti-retroviral medications for HIV-positive pregnant women and their newborn babies.

Every day, more than 1,000 babies are infected with HIV by mothers who are themselves living with the virus. Transmission takes place through the very processes that nurture and sustain new life: pregnancy, labour and delivery, and breastfeeding. 

Without medical intervention, at least half of those babies born with HIV will die before their second birthday. But the right anti-retroviral medicines, given at the right time, can prevent HIV transmission and protect the health of mother and baby.

Stopping the spread of HIV

This approach, known as prevention of mother-to-child transmission – or PMTCT – is the best way to stop the spread of HIV in young children. When mothers and babies get the full course of drugs on schedule, from pregnancy through breastfeeding, PMTCT is highly effective.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-1963/Nesbitt
In Samfya, Zambia, Mirriam Chongo (right), who participates in a programme on prevention of mother-to-child transmission of HIV, watches as her mother wraps Ms. Chongo’s newborn son, Peter, in a blanket.

For many mothers and infants in developing countries, daunting obstacles stand in the way of receiving a full course of drugs to prevent infection. An impoverished pregnant woman living far from a clinic, for instance, may be unable to afford long, repeated trips for treatment over many months. And not all countries have health systems that are strong enough to maintain drug stocks or track patient progress.

The Mother-Baby Pack overcomes these problems by giving pregnant women living with HIV a complete, pre-packaged set of drugs to prevent transmission of the virus to their children.
What’s more, the pack reinforces the importance of clinic visits for mothers and babies; mothers receive it from health-care workers during pregnancy and return during breastfeeding to have their infants tested for HIV.

‘The tradition of caring’

Based on an idea developed by health workers in Lesotho, the Mother-Baby Pack gives mothers direct control over protecting their children from infection. It will be rolled out in four sub-Saharan countries: Cameroon, Kenya, Lesotho and Zambia.

UNICEF’s United Kingdom National Committee is among those offering the Mother-Baby Pack this year as an ‘Inspired Gift’ for supporters to purchase in the name of a loved one.

“Mother’s Day is an opportunity for all of us to reflect not just on our own mothers but on the grave challenges facing mothers and children in the developing world,” said UNICEF UK Executive Director David Bull.

“UNICEF's Mother-Baby Pack is a perfect gift for mothers on this important day, or any other day of the year,” he added. “It lets each of us honour our mums by carrying on the tradition of caring they instilled in us -- and providing life-saving aid for a mother and child who desperately need it.”

Flowers, candy and other traditional Mother’s Day gifts are enjoyable in themselves. But gifts such as the Mother-Baby Pack offer a lasting reward: the knowledge that they will provide happiness to others, not just through hours and days, but across the years and over entire generations. Like mothers themselves, they provide the gift of life.


 

 

Video

UNICEF's Shantha Bloemen reports on a campaign in Lesotho to help expectant mothers living with HIV avoid transmitting the infection to their children.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

From UNICEF's national committees

AIDS campaign

New enhanced search