艾滋病与儿童

《儿童与艾滋病问题第四次评估报告》发布

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0715/Nesbitt
在赞比亚卢萨卡,玛莎.蒙巴抱着她六个星期大的儿子文森特站在家门口。蒙巴女士参加了雀尔斯通诊所开展的一个防治艾滋病传播的项目,那里的工作人员用预防性的抗逆转录病毒治疗和检测方法为她的儿子进行预防艾滋感染治疗。

艾米.贝内特报道

美国纽约,2009年11月30日 – 今天在纽约发布的《儿童与艾滋病:第四次评估报告(2009)》聚焦抗击艾滋病对弱势家庭的影响,以及如何为面临风险的母亲和儿童提供救济保障。

 点击此处观看视频

这份由联合国艾滋病规划署、联合国人口基金、联合国儿童基金会和世界卫生组织联合发布的报告指出,减少艾滋影响的关键是预防艾滋病毒的母婴传播问题;而全球经济危机对那些艾滋病毒感染者和艾滋病患者的打击尤为沉重。

目标是全民覆盖

根据新的证据,报告指出艾滋病造成婴儿死亡的高峰期有可能发生在幼儿很小的时候。报告总结说,我们需要更加紧迫地推进婴幼儿早期诊断,和预防艾滋病毒的婴儿传染。

联合国儿童基金会艾滋病防治负责人兼项目助理主任吉米.科尔克尔(Jimmy Kolker)说:“在预防艾滋病母婴传播的工作中,45%有治疗需求的妇女得到了治疗,而四年前这一比例仅为10%。有19个国家达到了预防母婴传播普及治疗覆盖率80%的目标。当然,这也意味着还有100个国家没有达到这一目标。”

科尔克尔说:“如果要实现艾滋病预防、治疗、关怀和支持的普遍可及的目标,我们还需要加快努力的步伐。”

建立一个社会保障系统

这份报告还敦促要更多地投资于社会保障,对世界上最弱势的家庭提供综合支持措施,并确保这些弱势人群不必被迫面对他们所无法承受的选择。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Lesotho/2009/Barbadoro
在莱索托的乐巴康村,儿童资助计划的受益者们聚集在一起,等待着直升飞机的降落。这个项目的目标是改善弱势儿童的福祉状况,包括那些感染艾滋病毒和艾滋病的儿童。

南非人文科学研究理事会的琳达.里希特(Linda Richter)在“儿童与艾滋病问题的联合学习倡议”会议上表示:“艾滋病对家庭造成的一个普遍影响是将费用问题转变成疾病及其他照料病人的需要问题。”去年六月在联合国儿童基金会总部召开的这一会议介绍了一份对社会保障的作用进行独立分析的报告。

哈佛大学公共卫生学院卫生与人权中心的研究人员克里斯.德斯蒙德(Chris Desmond)参与撰写了这项分析报告。他说:“你可以为病人治疗,但如果他们在挨饿,那将会影响治疗效果。你可以提供服务,但如果人们负担不起这些服务,那么提供服务的意义又在哪里?”

联合国儿童基金会的科尔克尔先生就他所负责的工作指出,帮助弱势儿童,包括孤儿和其他面临危险的儿童,是联合国儿童基金会的优先事务。

科尔克尔说:“艾滋病使这个问题更加尖锐,在受艾滋影响的国家,这些弱势家庭确实需要获得来自外部的干预帮助。这些家庭和社区本身没有足够的资金,确保那些受艾滋影响的家庭里的儿童得到他们所需要的适当照顾。”

资助弱势家庭

莱索托是受艾滋病流行问题打击最严重的国家之一,该国一半人口生活在贫困线以下。莱索托的“儿童资助计划”是联合国儿童基金会支持的试点倡议,它为有需要的人群,包括那些艾滋孤儿提供现金补助。

这个项目是社会保障的最佳例子。生活在产妇和婴儿死亡率高的地区的家庭是现金补助的目标人群。

莱索托卫生和社会福利部长穆弗.拉马特拉彭博士(Mphu Ramatlapeng)就有些家庭靠年仅12岁的儿童照顾弟弟妹妹的现象说:“有许多儿童照顾着他们的家庭,而这些孩子的健康却没有得到关注。”

目前,有包括2370多名孤儿和弱势儿童的大约950户人家受益于按季度发放的小额补助金。这个试点项目将进一步得到完善,并在2011年之前,在莱索托的其他地区分阶段地推出。从长远来看,政府准备将这个儿童资助计划纳入国家的预算方案之中。

一个没有艾滋的世界

根据《儿童与艾滋病:第四次评估报告(2009年)》,在危机时期,无论是通过提供现金资助还是食物,社会保障都加强了居民面对艾滋病威胁时的生存能力和获取关键医疗的机会。

这份报告对所有受艾滋病影响的儿童的工作进展状况进行了评估,客观地审视了哪些工作有效果,哪些工作还有待改进。在全球经济不景气的形势下,这份评估报告强调,我们需要继续致力于构建一个没有艾滋病的世界的长远目标。


 

 

视频(英文)

《儿童与艾滋病:第四次评估报告(2009)》聚焦抗击艾滋病对弱势家庭的影响,以及如何为面临风险的母亲和儿童提供救济保障。
 视频   |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

防治艾滋病运动

搜索

Children and HIV and AIDS

Launch of 'Children and AIDS: Fourth Stocktaking Report'

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0715/Nesbitt
Martha Mumba holds her six-week-old son, Vincent, outside their home in Lusaka, Zambia. Ms. Mumba participates in a Chelstone Clinic programme to prevent transmission of HIV to her son with prophylactic anti-retroviral treatment and testing.

By Amy Bennett

NEW YORK, USA, 30 November 2009 – Combating the effects of HIV and AIDS on vulnerable families and providing hardship protection for mothers and children at risk are the focus of 'Children and AIDS: Fourth Stocktaking Report 2009', which was released today in New York.

VIDEO: Watch now

Published jointly by UNAIDS, the UN Population Fund, UNICEF and the World Health Organization, the report finds that preventing the transmission of HIV from mother to child is key to reducing the impact of the pandemic – and that the global economic crisis has been especially hard on those struggling with the effects of HIV and AIDS.

Universal access is the goal

With new evidence suggesting that peak AIDS mortality in infants may come at a very early age, there is even more urgency to establishing early infant diagnosis and preventing HIV transmission to babies, the report concludes.

"In prevention of mother-to-child transmission, 45 per cent of women in need are getting help, compared to 10 per cent just four years ago," said UNICEF Chief of HIV/AIDS and Associate Director of Programmes Jimmy Kolker. "And 19 countries have already reached the universal access target of 80 per cent coverage for prevention of mother-to-child transmission. But of course, that means that 100 countries still haven't reached that target.

"We're going to have to accelerate our efforts if we want to meet that goal of universal access for prevention, treatment, care and support," added Mr. Kolker.

Building a social protection system

The report goes on to urge more investment in social protection, a comprehensive approach to supporting the world's most vulnerable families and ensuring that they are not forced to confront impossible choices.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Lesotho/2009/Barbadoro
Beneficiaries of the Child Grants Programme gather as helicopters land in Lebakeng village, Lesotho. The programme aims to meet the basic needs and improve the well-being of vulnerable children – including those affected by HIV and AIDS.

"One of the universal impacts of HIV and AIDS on households is to divert expenditure to the illness and other care needs of a sick person," said the Executive Director of Child, Youth, Family and Social Development at the Human Sciences Research Council in South Africa, Linda Richter. Ms. Richter was speaking at a meeting of the Joint Learning Initiative on Children and HIV/AIDS, which presented an independent analysis of the role of social protection last June at UNICEF headquarters.

Research associate with the FXB Centre for Health and Human Rights at the Harvard School of Public Health Chris Desmond also contributed to that analysis. "You can get treatment to people, but if they're hungry, it's going to have limited effect," he said. "You can offer services, but if people can't afford to get to the services, there's no point in offering them."

For his part, Mr. Kolker of UNICEF noted that helping vulnerable children – including orphans and others at risk – is UNICEF's priority.

"And AIDS has made that problem more acute," he said. "In AIDS-affected countries, those families really do need to be helped with some sort of outside intervention. The families and communities themselves don't have the wherewithal to be sure that children are getting the proper attention they need when their families are affected by AIDS."

Grants for vulnerable households

In one of the countries hardest hit by the AIDS pandemic, Lesotho, half the population lives below the poverty line. Lesotho's Child Grants Programme, a UNICEF-supported pilot initiative, gets cash to those in need, including children who have been orphaned by AIDS.

The programme is a prime example of social protection. Its cash grants are targeted to households in areas with high maternal and infant mortality rates.

"We have children looking after families and people not looking after their health," said Lesotho's Minister of Health and Social Welfare, Dr. Mphu Ramatlapeng, referring to households in which children as young as 12 years of age care for younger siblings.

Around 950 households – comprising over 2,370 orphans and vulnerable children – are currently benefiting from the small quarterly grants. The pilot programme will be refined for a phased rollout in other districts of the country by 2011. In the longer term, the government plans to absorb the programme into its national budget.

A world free of AIDS

Whether through cash grants or food deliveries in times of crisis, social protection can provide families with the strength to survive and get critical care when confronted with HIV and AIDS, says 'Children and AIDS: Fourth Stocktaking Report 2009'.

The report assesses progress made for all children affected by AIDS and takes an honest look at where efforts work, where they fall short and where work may be improved. Amidst an economic downturn that is global in scope, the stocktaking report stresses the need for a continued commitment to the long-term goal of world free of AIDS.


 

 

Video

30 November 2009: UNICEF correspondent Amy Bennett reports on the launch of 'Children and AIDS: Fourth Stocktaking Report 2009'.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

AIDS campaign

New enhanced search