艾滋病与儿童

艾滋病防治同盟:一个关于改变性别不平等的播客

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2002-0323/ Pirozzi
在津巴布韦的一个艾滋病防治宣传会议上,一位来自国际计划组织的义务艾滋病辅导员与一群男孩子在一起。

美国纽约,2009年8月31日 – 联合国儿童基金会就儿童与艾滋病问题发布了新的系列播客。根据参加讨论的专家小组的意见,成年男性和男童的参与对减少艾滋病在妇女之间的传播是非常必要的。

 点击此处收听

在撒哈拉以南的非洲地区,妇女和女童极易感染艾滋病毒,那里的艾滋病毒感染率是全世界最高的。南部非洲少女感染艾滋病毒的比率要比男孩高出大约三倍。

在许多组织致力于教育女童和妇女了解艾滋病的知识和防止艾滋病毒传播的措施的同时,人们逐渐意识到男青年和男童在改变性别不平等,这一推动艾滋病蔓延的原因中,起着至关重要的作用。

乌干达“艾滋病防治支持组织”的创始人兼前任执行主任诺琳.卡利巴(Noerine Kaleeba)是参与播客的一个嘉宾,他说:“我们开始认识到,当我们将注意力集中在妇女和女童时,有些忽略了男童和男性的作用。”

弱势的妇女和女童

与卡利巴女士一起参与播客的嘉宾还有国际妇女问题研究中心的“性暴力和权利”高级技术顾问加里.巴克(Gary Barker),他是推动男性和男童的参与,帮助实现性别平等的专家。

巴克先生说:“社会观念对男性和女性的错误认识往往是造成女孩‘容易感染艾滋病毒’的幕后黑手。男孩们被教导认为他们在某种程度上拥有女人。”

卡利巴女士指出,家庭和社区的压力将男性塑造成具有侵略性的社会化角色,而女性则具有服从性。她回忆起自己在乌干达的成长经历:“我总是看到对我们女孩的要求和期望是一定要顺从。”乌干达女青年的艾滋病毒感染比率比男青年高。

社区推动的项目

巴克先生说社会结构赋予男性的定义,和对男性性生活的规范,不仅伤害了女性,同时也对男性造成伤害。

卡利巴女士强调,虽然女青年面临着较大的风险,但是男青年和男童也不能不参与防治艾滋病的工作。她说:“感染是由双方造成的。”

两位专家一致认为,有效的预防项目必须依靠社区推动。

巴克先生说:“关键的一点是,社区中要有一些背景相同的男性,站出来说,‘等等,男人还可以有别的活法’。”

 “不会开始得太早”

卡利巴女士补充说,只简单地为男人和男童开展项目还不够;必须扩大这些项目的规模,并与现有项目相结合。此外,改变对性别的态度的工作必须从幼童开始。

卡利巴女士是四个孩子的母亲,她还领养了14个孩子。她说:“开始传播新的知识永远都不嫌太早。”

今天发布的播客名为“艾滋病防治同盟:男性和男童在改变性别不平等造成的艾滋病传播中的作用”,由联合国和联合国儿童基金会广播电台的艾米.科斯特洛(Amy Costello)在纽约主持。


 

 

音频(英文)

主持人艾米.科斯特洛(Amy Costello)与乌干达“艾滋病防治支持组织”的创始人兼前任执行主任诺琳.卡利巴(Noerine Kaleeba)及国际妇女问题研究中心的“性暴力和权利”高级技术顾问加里.巴克(Gary Barker)交谈。
 音频 收听

防治艾滋病运动

搜索

Children and HIV and AIDS

Allies Against AIDS: A podcast on transforming gender inequality

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2002-0323/ Pirozzi
A volunteer AIDS counsellor with Plan International during an HIV/AIDS awareness session with a group of adolescent boys in Zimbabwe.

NEW YORK, USA, 31 August 2009  – The involvement of men and boys is imperative to reducing the spread of HIV among women, according to a panel of experts participating in a new UNICEF podcast – part of a series on children and AIDS.

AUDIO: Listen now

Women and girls are disproportionately vulnerable to HIV infection in sub-Saharan Africa, where HIV prevalence rates are the highest in the world. In southern Africa, adolescent girls are about three times more likely than adolescent boys to be infected.

While many organizations are working to educate girls and women about AIDS and how to prevent the spread of HIV, there is an increasing focus on the crucial role young men and boys play in transforming the gender inequalities that drive the AIDS epidemic.

“We are beginning to realize that in our effort to focus on women and girls, we kind of took our eyes off the boys and men,” said founder and former Executive Director of the AIDS Support Organization in Uganda, Noerine Kaleeba, one of the participants in the podcast.

Vulnerability of women and girls

Participating in the podcast with Ms. Kaleeba was the Senior Technical Adviser on Gender Violence and Rights with the International Centre for Research on Women, Gary Barker, an expert in engaging men and boys to help achieve gender equality.
 
"Harmful societal ideas of masculinity and femininity are often behind girls’ vulnerability to HIV," Mr. Barker said, noting: "Boys are taught to think they’ve got some ownership over women."

Ms. Kaleeba pointed to pressure within families and communities to socialize men as aggressors and girls as submissive. “I always saw the requirements and expectations of us girls with regard to how submissive we had to be,” she said, recalling her own experiences growing up in Uganda, where HIV prevalence rates are higher among young women than young men.

Community-driven programmes

Mr. Barker said social constructs of what it means to be a man, and how to live one's sexual life as a male, are harmful not only to women but also to men.

Ms. Kaleeba stressed that, although it is young women who are at greater risk, young men and boys must not be excluded in the effort to fight HIV. “It takes two to transmit an infection,” she said.

Both panellists agreed that effective prevention programmes must be community-driven.

“One of the key elements,” said Mr. Barker, “is having a group of men from the communities who ... come from the same background and who are coming out and saying, ‘Wait a minute, there are other ways to be men.’”

'Not too soon to start'

Ms. Kaleeba added that it is not enough to simply have projects for men and boys; these projects must be taken to scale and incorporated into existing programmes. In addition, the work of changing attitudes towards gender must begin when children are young.

"It is not too soon to start spreading new messages," Ms. Kaleeba said, speaking as a mother of four children and a foster mother of 14.

The podcast, released today, is entitled ‘Allies Against AIDS: The role of men and boys in transforming gender inequalities that drive the HIV epidemic’ and is moderated by Amy Costello of UN and UNICEF Radio in New York.


 

 

Audio

Moderator Amy Costello speaks with to founder and former Executive Director Noerine Kaleeba of the AIDS Support Organization in Uganda,  and Senior Technical Adviser on Gender Violence and Rights Gary Barker of the International Centre for Research on Women.
AUDIO listen

AIDS campaign

New enhanced search