艾滋病与儿童

联合国艾滋病规划署的报告指出抗击艾滋病毒的工作已取得进展,但依然存在巨大的挑战

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/HQ06-1378/Pirozzi
在南非开普敦海耶利特萨镇,19岁的蒂姆毕.恩古巴和她的女儿呆在家里。蒂姆毕的艾滋病毒抗体呈阳性,但多亏蒂姆毕参加了一个艾滋病预防方案,她女儿的艾滋病毒抗体仍然呈阴性。

克里斯.内尔斯

纽约,2008年7月29日 — 联合国艾滋病规划署今天发布了‘2008全球艾滋病流行状况报告’,报告显示艾滋病死亡人数比前几年有所下降,艾滋病感染者的人数也有所下降。

“结果令人鼓舞,”联合国儿童基金会艾滋项目负责人吉米.考克说。

“治疗工作已经取得了成效已经开展了让人们接受治疗的工作,”他补充道。“这意味着人们可以活得更长,尽管预防新增感染仍然面临巨大的挑战,然而预防的观念似乎已经深入民心。”

联合国艾滋病规划署是由联合国10个部门共同组成的艾滋病毒/艾滋病工作机构,其中就包括联合国儿童基金会,而其职能是预防新增艾滋病毒感染、照顾艾滋病毒感染者并减轻艾滋病对全世界的影响。联合国艾滋病规划署通过全球性报告每两年公布一次关于艾滋病的最新统计。

增加接受治疗的机会

今年的全球报告正好处于2001年联合国大会抗击艾滋病承诺宣言和千年发展目标中设定的抗击艾滋病的最后期限2015年的中段。

自2001年以来,国际上用于艾滋病的资金已经增加了六倍。但是,联合国艾滋病规划署的报告指出进展并不均衡,而抗击疾病的前景尚不明朗。

该报告指出,新增感染率不降低,艾滋病流行的局面就不能扭转。朝着这个目标,过去两年中在预防母婴艾滋病毒传播上已经取得了巨大的进展。

注重早期检测

“在较低和中等收入国家中,能够有效得到如何预防其婴儿感染病毒的妇女的比例,从2004年的9%增加到了2007年的33%,这是引人瞩目的,”考克先生说。

与此同时,儿童新增感染数量的下降却不明显。根据联合国艾滋病规划署提供的数据,2007年这一数字下降到27万,而前一年是大约30万。

考克先生说:“今年工作重点应放在综合服务上,联合国儿童基金会的优先工作将是为妇女和儿童建立一个持续性医疗保健体系,重点将放在艾滋病毒的早期检测上。

‘对这一代人的挑战’

联合国儿童基金会的另一项优先工作是针对15岁至24岁的200多万艾滋病毒感染者。

在这组人中,感染率没有下降,预防艾滋病毒的知识仍然低得令人不安。在中低收入国家中只有约40%的青少年能够正确地回答有关如何感染艾滋病以及如何预防艾滋病的五个简单问题。

“2001年我们已订下了到今年要超过90%的目标,所以在有关艾滋病毒的基本知识方面我们还太落后,”考克先生说。他接着指出,联合国儿童基金会正与它的合作伙伴一道,分辨处于危险中的年轻人,找到影响他们的方法。

“艾滋病死亡人数的降低,表明了我们走上了正确轨道,但每年还是有数百万人死亡,并有3300万人感染了艾滋病毒。所以它对我们这一代人的确是一个巨大的挑战,”考克先生说。


 

 

视频(英文)


2008年7月29日:联合国儿童基金会艾滋病毒/艾滋病方案的负责人吉米.考克谈联合国艾滋病规划署今年的全球艾滋病报告。

 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

防治艾滋病运动

搜索

Children and HIV and AIDS

UNAIDS report says progress being made in fighting HIV but huge challenges remain

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HQ06-1378/Pirozzi
Thembi Ngubane, 19, with her daughter at home in the township of Khayelitsa in Cape Town, South Africa. Thembi is HIV-positive but her daughter remains HIV-negative, thanks to Thembi’s participation in an AIDS prevention programme.

By Chris Niles

NEW YORK, 29 July 2008 – The ‘2008 Report on the global AIDS epidemic’, released by UNAIDS today, reveals that fewer people are dying of AIDS than in previous years and fewer are becoming infected.

“The results are encouraging,” said UNICEF’s Chief of HIV/AIDS programmes, Jimmy Kolker.

“Putting people on treatment has worked,” he added. “It means that people are living longer and the prevention messages seem to be getting through, although there are still huge challenges for preventing new infections.”

UNAIDS, the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS, brings together 10 UN agencies – including UNICEF – to help prevent new HIV infections, care for people living with HIV and mitigate the impact of AIDS worldwide. Through its global reports, UNAIDS releases updated AIDS figures every two years.

Increase in access to treatment

This year’s UNAIDS report is at the halfway mark between the 2001 UN General Assembly Declaration of Commitment to combat AIDS and the deadline for the Millennium Development Goal to reverse the epidemic by 2015.

A six-fold increase in international funds since 2001 has helped to ensure that more people have access to life-saving AIDS treatment. But the UNAIDS report says progress is uneven and the future course of the disease is far from certain.

The report notes that AIDS cannot be reversed without reducing the rate of new infections. To this end, programmes aimed at prevention of mother-to-child HIV transmission have seen enormous progress in the last two years.

Focus on early testing

“The percentage of women in lower- and middle-income countries who’re able to access prevention treatment for their infants has increased from 9 per cent in 2004 to 33 per cent in 2007, which is dramatic,” said Mr. Kolker.

At the same time, however, the number of children who are newly infected has gone down only slightly – dipping to 270,000 in 2007, compared to about 300,000 the preceding year – according to UNAIDS.

“The focus this year should be on integrating services,” Mr. Kolker said, adding that UNICEF’s priority will be to establish a continuum of health care for women and children – with a particular focus on being able to test for HIV at an early age.

‘Challenge to our generation’

Another priority for UNICEF will be the more than 2 million young people between the ages of 15 and 24 who are living with HIV.

Among this group, rates of infection have not fallen and knowledge about HIV prevention remains disturbingly low. Only about 40 per cent of teenagers in low- and middle-income countries are able to correctly answer five simple questions about how AIDS is caused and how to prevent it.

“We had set a target in 2001 of over 90 per cent by this year, so we’re far behind in just basic knowledge about HIV,” said Mr. Kolker. He pointed out that UNICEF is working with its partners to identify young people who are at risk and develop ways to reach them.

“The lower number of AIDS deaths is a sign that we’re on the right track, but there are millions are dying every year, and 33 million people living with HIV. So it really is a huge challenge to our generation,” said Mr. Kolker.


 

 

Video


29 July 2008:
UNICEF’s Chief of HIV/AIDS programmes, Jimmy Kolker, discusses the implications of this year’s UNAIDS global report.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

AIDS campaign

New enhanced search