艾滋病与儿童

《儿童与艾滋病问题:第二次调查报告》列举了目前取得的进展

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/HQ05-0862/Noorani
10岁的玛丽(化名)住在联合国儿童基金会资助的海地太子港孤儿院。在该孤儿院受到照顾的儿童要么是艾滋病感染者,要么是因亲人患艾滋病而成为孤儿的人。

克里斯.内尔斯报道

美国纽约,2008年4月3日。2005年10月,联合国儿童基金会和联合国艾滋病规划署共同发起了“携手儿童青少年,携手抗击艾滋病”的行动呼吁。自那以后,在抗击艾滋病毒/艾滋病传播方面的工作取得了重要进展。

今天发布的《儿童与艾滋病问题:第二次调查报告》指出,在改善母婴传染率方面看到的改善最为显著。在2005年,只有11%的女性艾滋病毒感染者使用药物以防止母婴传染。现在,有31%的妇女接受了这样的治疗。

在促进儿科治疗方面也同样取得了显著的成绩。在2005年,只有7万名儿童获得抗逆转录病毒药物(ARVs),但在2006年,这一数字已经上升到12.7万 — 一年内增长了70%。

‘巨大的进步’

“这是巨大的进步,”联合国儿童基金会艾滋病主任吉米.科勒说。

联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴致力于加强国家卫生系统,以及利用社会的支持,而不是孤立的解决办法。这个策略取得了成效。

“对这个问题要有所关注。它是涉及100个国家的国家计划,对这个问题的认识在全国层面上会有所提高,即使是难以接触的群体,或者最贫穷的国家,”科勒先生说。

数百万儿童的生命已经因艾滋病毒/艾滋病而彻底地改变了。在2007年,估计有210万儿童感染了艾滋病毒/艾滋病,还有1500万儿童因此失去了父、母或双亲。由联合国儿童基金会,世界卫生组织和联合国艾滋病规划署共同撰写的儿童与艾滋病问题的报告指出,预防新的传染是今后两年内面临的最大挑战。

传播信息

“问题是这么多人 — 尤其是年轻人 — 还在受到感染。我们正在传播改变行为的信息,并着眼于弱势群体,但这一进展始终没有得到应有的鼓励。每年仍有数十万新的感染者。”科勒先生说。

到2010年,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴,计划为需要得到帮助的80%的妇女和儿童提供预防艾滋病毒的服务和抗逆转录病毒药物,并将全球青少年艾滋病毒感染率减少25%。


 

 

视频(英文)

2008年4月3日: 联合国儿童基金会记者克里斯.内尔斯对联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴在儿童预防艾滋病毒/艾滋病方面已经取得的进展进行了报道。
 视频  高速 | 低速


联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.维尼曼在艾滋病调查报告发布会上讲话。
 视频  高速 | 低速


联合国艾滋病规划署主任贝蒂尔.林德布拉德讨论在预防艾滋方面取得的进展及存在的问题。
 视频  高速 | 低速


世界卫生组织艾滋病战略信息部的技术官员伊夫.苏德朗德,谈论抗击艾滋病工作再取得新进展。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

防治艾滋病运动

搜索

Children and HIV and AIDS

‘Children and AIDS: Second stocktaking report’ cites progress made to date

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HQ05-0862/Noorani
A 10-year-old girl living in a UNICEF-supported orphanage in Port-au-Prince, Haiti, that cares for children who are living with or have been orphaned by HIV/AIDS.

By Chris Niles

NEW YORK, USA, 3 April 2008 – Important progress has been made in combating the spread of HIV/AIDS since UNICEF – as a UNAIDS co-sponsoring agency – launched the Unite for Children, Unite against AIDS campaign in October 2005.

Released today, the ‘Children and AIDS: Second stocktaking report’ says efforts to reduce the rate of mother-to-child transmission have seen the most significant gains. In 2005, only 11 per cent of women living with HIV were getting drugs to prevent transmission. Now, 31 per cent are receiving treatment.

Advances in paediatric care have been equally dramatic. In 2005, only 70,000 children were getting antiretroviral drugs (ARVs), but in 2006, that number rose to 127,000 – a 70 per cent increase.

‘Enormous progress’

“That’s enormous progress,” said UNICEF Chief of HIV and AIDS Jimmy Kolker.

UNICEF and its partners have concentrated on solutions that don’t operate in a vacuum but strengthen national health systems, as well as harnessing community support. The strategy is paying off.

“There is attention to the issue. It’s in 100 countries’ national plans and there’s a sense that this is something that can be scaled up on a nationwide basis, even to hard-to-reach groups, even in the poorest countries,” said Mr. Kolker.

Millions of children’s lives have been irrevocably altered by HIV/AIDS. In 2007, an estimated 2.1 million children were living with HIV and 15 million children had lost one or both parents to the virus. The report on children and AIDS, co-authored by UNICEF, the World Health Organization and UNAIDS, says the biggest challenge over the next two years is to prevent new infections.

Honing messages

“The problem is that so many people – especially young people – are continuing to get infected. The behaviour-change messages are being honed and focused on vulnerable groups, but the progress there hasn’t been as encouraging as it should be. There’s still hundreds of thousands of new infections every year,” said Mr. Kolker.

By 2010, UNICEF and its partners aim to provide HIV-prevention services and ARVs for 80 per cent of women and children who need them, and to reduce the rate of HIV infection among young people by 25 per cent.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

Video

3 April 2008:
UNICEF correspondent Chris Niles reports on the progress UNICEF and its partners have made in preventing AIDS in children.
 VIDEO  high | low


UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman speaks at the AIDS stocktaking report launch.
 VIDEO  high | low


UNAIDS Director Bertil Lindblad discusses both progress and problems in preventing HIV/AIDS.
 VIDEO  high | low


World Health Organization Coordinator of Strategic Information in the HIV Department, Yves Souteyrand, talks about building on the progress made so far against AIDS.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

AIDS campaign

New enhanced search