危地马拉

在危地马拉预防母婴传染艾滋病毒

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
19岁的奥德利兹在第一次分娩之前接受艾滋病毒的检测。

汤姆斯.尼伯报道

危地马拉安提瓜,2009年2月5日 –19岁的奥德利兹.卡雷(Odaliz Canrey)怀上了她的第一个孩子。在联合国儿童基金会的帮助下,她正在接受艾滋病毒的检测。虽然危地马拉的艾滋病毒感染率很低——不到成年人口的1%,但是奥德利兹想要确定她的身体状况是否健康。

 点击此处观看视频

奥德利兹决定和母亲一起来,让母亲给她精神支持。母女俩离开她们一起住的房子,出发去往附近最近的国家医院。她在那里接受作为产前定期检查一部分的艾滋病毒检测。

在危地马拉,大约有五万九千人携带艾滋病毒。奥德利兹说在她的文化中人们不敢谈论这种疾病–甚至是像艾滋病毒如何传播这样的基本事实。她说在她的村庄阿勒特南哥,人们对艾滋病有很多误解。

奥德利兹说:“我曾经见到一位艾滋病毒呈阳性的妇女,人们都不愿碰她,他们不让自己的孩子和她或者她的孩子接触。她遭受了很大的耻辱。”

在危地马拉预防母婴传播艾滋病毒

联合国儿童基金会在危地马拉预防艾滋工作的重点是预防母婴传播艾滋病毒 (PMTCT)。联合国儿童基金会目前正支持该国37所国家医院中的15所,为它们通过提供技术援助、人力资源和孕妇艾滋检测。

对儿科病例的治疗是另一个重点。仅仅两年之前,危地马拉没有任何儿科治疗方案。医疗工作者正采用一种冒险的手段:为了治疗儿童,他们仅仅是把成人药片切成两片,却忽视了儿童需要不同的计量或者不同的药物。

自那以后,联合国儿童基金会帮助政府采购了儿科治疗用品。例如,通过与克林顿基金会的合作,为150名危地马拉儿童提供免费的、终生的抗逆转录病毒药物治疗。

在联合国儿童基金会的帮助下,危地马拉大约840名儿童在2006年获得了抗逆转录病毒治疗(2005年只有356名)。然而,一个仍然存在的挑战是尽早为儿童诊断。在很多情况下,儿童们来到保健中心的时候病情已经严重到无法医治了。

教育母亲

奥德利兹坐在拥挤的医院走廊里,一边和她的母亲交谈,一边等待着检查结果。在她的身边, 有数十位孕妇和新妈妈们在等待她们的结果。社会很少讨论节育的问题,所以一位妇女有10个孩子并不少见。

威尔马.萨拉扎(Vilma Salazar)护士说大多数来医院的妇女对艾滋病毒一无所知。
“她们可能从广播和电视上知道一点点,但是当我问她们具体知道什么的时候,她们一般都是保持沉默–这与文化、恐惧和羞愧有很大的关系,” 萨拉扎女士说。

惧怕耻辱

24岁的安娜(化名)在怀孕期间得知她携带了艾滋病毒。验血结果揭示了她的状况,随后的化验还证实了她的丈夫和孩子也携带这种病毒。她们现在正在接受免费的抗逆转录病毒治疗,但是她不敢向她在危地马拉的朋友和邻居透露她的状况。

安娜说:“在我的村子里没人知道。我不打算告诉他们,因为他们会害怕我们一家人把病毒传染给他们。”

在等了一小时后,奥德利兹被叫进护士办公室。她坐下并得知了结果:阴性。她和护士交流了预防手段。他们还为她安排了下次产前检查的时间。

奥德利兹回到走廊,把好消息告诉她的母亲。她还告诉母亲一条从护士那里得到的信息:预防是保证后代不携带艾滋病毒的关键。 


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会通讯员托马斯.奈博报道危地马拉预防母婴传染艾滋病毒。
 视频  高速 | 低速

联合国儿童基金会驻危地马拉代表瓜塔玛拉.亚德里亚诺.冈萨雷斯-雷奎尔介绍为母亲采取的预防艾滋措施。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

At a glance: Guatemala

Preventing mother-to-child transmission of HIV in Guatemala

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Odaliz, 19, is getting tested for HIV before delivering her first child.

By Thomas Nybo

ANTIGUA, Guatemala, 5 February 2009 – Odaliz Canrey is 19 and pregnant with her first child. Thanks to UNICEF, she’s getting tested for HIV. Although Guatemala has low HIV prevalence – less than 1 per cent of the adult population – Odaliz wants to be sure of her status.

VIDEO: Watch now

Odaliz decides to bring her mother along for support. The two of them leave the house they share and begin the journey to the closest national hospital, where her HIV test will be given as part of her regularly scheduled prenatal examination.

About 59,000 people are living with HIV in Guatemala. Odaliz says people in her culture are afraid to discuss the virus – even basic facts like how it is spread. She says there are misconceptions about HIV among people in her village of Alotenango.
 
"I've seen situations where if a woman is HIV-positive, people will not touch her, they won't let their kids hang out with her or her children," says Odaliz. "There's a lot of stigma."

PMTCT in Guatemala

UNICEF's efforts on HIV and AIDS in Guatemala are focusing on the prevention of mother-to-child transmission (PMTCT). UNICEF is currently supporting 15 of the country's 37 national hospitals by offering technical assistance, human resources and HIV testing for pregnant women.

Treatment for paediatric cases is another focus. Just two years ago, Guatemala had no paediatric treatment protocols. Health workers were taking a risky approach: To treat children, they would simply cut adult pills in half, ignoring the fact that children require different doses or different medication.

Since then, UNICEF has helped the government procure paediatric treatment resources – for example, through an alliance with the Clinton Foundation, which is providing free, lifetime treatment with antiretroviral (ARV) drugs for 150 Guatemalan children.

With help from UNICEF, about 840 children in Guatemala received antiretroviral treatment in 2006 (compared to 356 in 2005). One remaining challenge, however, is getting children diagnosed early. Too often, they arrive at health centres too sick to be saved.

Educating mothers

As Odaliz waits for her results, she sits in a crowded hospital hallway, talking with her mother. Around her, dozens of pregnant women and new mothers wait for their own results. Birth control is rarely discussed in this society, where it's not uncommon for a woman to have as many as 10 children.

Nurse Vilma Salazar says most of the women arrive at the hospital knowing almost nothing about HIV.

"They might know a little from the radio or watching television, but when I ask them what they know, they usually remain silent – which has a lot to do with the culture, with fear and shame," says Ms. Salazar.

Fear of stigma

Ana (not her real name), 24, learned she was living with HIV late in her pregnancy. A blood test revealed her status, and later tests confirmed that her husband and baby were also living with the virus. They are now receiving free ARV treatment, but she's afraid of revealing her status to friends and neighbors in Guatemala.

"Nobody in my village knows," Ana says. "I'm not going to tell them because they would be afraid they could get infected from my family."

After an hour's wait, Odaliz is called into the nurse's office. She sits down and is given the results: she is negative. She talks with the nurse about prevention strategies. They also schedule her next prenatal exam.

Odaliz walks back to the hallway and delivers the good news to her mother. She also shares a message she received from the nurse: Prevention is the key to ensure that future generations are born free of HIV.


 

 

Video

UNICEF correspondent Thomas Nybo reports on the prevention of mother-to-child transmission of HIV in Guatemala.
 VIDEO  high | low

UNICEF Representative in Guatamala Adriano Gonzalez-Regueral speaks about prevention measures for mothers with HIV.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search