南非

“科技女孩”计划教授南非年轻女性提供关键技能

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF South Africa/2011/Marinovich
可汉伊希里 (Khanyisile) 的家庭视教育为成功的秘诀,能在这样的家庭里成长,她非常幸运。

格瑞格.马里诺维奇 (Greg Marinovich) 和马里索尔.古铁雷斯 (Marisol Gutierrez) 报道

南非豪登省,2011 年 11 月 15 日 - 南非的科技和工程技能人才短缺。但让人吃惊的是,该国并没有鼓励女生学习这些科目,而这些科目历来都是男生占绝对优势,通常情况下,女生在这些科目的表现也不不尽人意。这一现象导致年轻女性本可享有的工作机会减少,收入潜力降低。不过,一项名为“科技女孩”的动态计划有望改变这一状况。

通过“科技女孩”计划,贫困学校中合格的女生可加入企业指导和技能发展活动。这项职业指导帮助他们建立自信,将学校课程与实际工作所需的技能对接。

弥合差距

18 岁的可汉伊希里.莫卡拉 (Khanyisile Mokele) 从小就听叔叔讲设计、建造桥梁的故事,因而树立了以后要当土木工程师的理想。“我要设计自己的桥梁!”她非常肯定地说。“沟通世界的桥梁。”

可汉伊希里 (Khanyisile) 是独生女,她的家庭将教育视为成功的秘诀,能在这样的家庭里成长,她非常幸运。在父母的支持和鼓励下,她总是积极向上,争取获得好成绩。对可汉伊希里来说,数学和物理完全不成问题。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF South Africa/2011/Marinovich

可汉伊希里已申请了茨瓦尼科技大学的土木工程,而且已经获批,只等今年的最后结果了。她向成功迈进的最后一步可能就是,入选并积极参与了“科技女孩”计划。该计划使她深入接触工作,并参加由成功女性举办的讲座,了解那些对工作中取得成功非常重要、但却容易被忽视的方方面面。

为成功作准备

莱纳西亚 (Lenasia) 约萨博 (M.H Joosub) 学校的老师伯汉.帕胡 (Burhaan Parbhoo) 教了“科技女孩”可汉伊希里三年数学。可汉伊希里只是他的小明星学生之一,学校里共有五个女孩入选“科技女孩”计划。事实上,其中两个女孩已经进入大学,另外一个女孩卢拉玛.贾约拉 (Lulama Jajola) 是约萨博学校去年的状元,她不但在计划中取得了成功,而且还立志成为一名和帕胡一样的老师。

“学生取得成绩的普遍因素包括努力、专心和聪明,以及父母对子女的教育的重视。”他说道。

积极的成果

帕胡强调,父母在帮助孩子开发潜能方面有重要的作用,但在很多家庭里,父母都要工作,几乎没有时间辅导家庭作业;还有一些失去父母的孩子,需要靠自己谋生。

“学校需要敬业的教师和专心的学生。”他说道。“虽然我们学校是莱纳西亚最贫困的学校之一,但 2010 年我们的考试通过率是该地区最高的,达到了百分之九十三。”

虽然学校取得出色成就的原因不止一个,但“科技女孩”计划功不可没。毕竟,从中受益的不仅仅是参与计划的学生。“这些女生在假期实习之后,会和学校里的其他学生分享经验。”帕胡微笑着说。“这样能激励每一个人,获得非常积极的效果。”

“科技女孩”计划由妇女、儿童和残障人士部门、公共部门、民间团体、联合国儿童基金会共同实施。

 


 

 

搜索

South Africa

Techno Girl programme teaches essential skills to young South African females

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF South Africa/2011/Marinovich
Khanyisile has been fortunate to grow up in a family that sees education as the recipe for success.

By Greg Marinovich and Marisol Gutierrez

GAUTENG, South Africa, 15 November 2011 - South Africa has a shortage of skills in science, technology and engineering. But surprisingly, the country’s girls have not been encouraged to pursue these traditionally male-dominated subjects, and often perform poorly in these fields when compared with boys. This contributes to reducing career opportunities – and earning potential – that girls would otherwise enjoy. But a dynamic programme called Techno Girl is set to turn this around.

Through the Techno Girl programme, young females are identified in underprivileged schools and placed in corporate mentorship and skills development initiatives. This career mentorship helps them gain confidence and links their school lessons to the skills they’ll need to succeed in the ‘real’ working world.

Bridging the gap

As a child, Khanyisile Mokele, 18, would hear stories of her uncle designing and building bridges, setting the stage for her own future ambition of becoming a civil engineer. “I want to design my own bridge!” she stated emphatically. “Bridges bring the world closer.”

An only child, Khanyisile has been fortunate to grow up in a family that sees education as the recipe for success. With her parents’ support and encouragement, she has always been motivated to achieve good results. Math and physics are no challenge for Khanyisile.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF South Africa/2011/Marinovich

Khanyisile has applied to study civil engineering at the University of Technology in Tshwane, and has been accepted pending her final results this year. What has perhaps been the final step in her preparation for success was her selection and enthusiastic participation in the Techno Girl programme. It has exposed her to in-depth work shadowing, and she has been able to attend workshops held by successful businesswomen about important yet neglected aspects of success in the workplace.

Preparing for success

Lenasia’s M.H Joosub School teacher, Burhaan Parbhoo has taught math to Techno Girl Khanyisile for three years. She is only one of his young stars - five girls from the school were selected for the Techno Girls programme. And the fact that two have already gone on to university, and another, Lulama Jajola, scored top marks at M.H Joosub School last year, is testament to both the success of the programme and the dedication of teachers like Parbhoo.

“The common factors for successful learners are hard work, dedication and working smartly, as well as parental interest in the child’s education,” he said.

Positive results

Parbhoo emphasizes the role of parents in helping children to reach their potential, but in many homes parents work and have little time to help with homework; and then there are the children with no parents, who have to fend for themselves.

“A school needs dedicated teachers and learners,” he explained. “Even though this is one of the poorest schools in Lenasia, we had the highest pass rate here in 2010 - 93 per cent.”

While no single initiative can claim all the credit for those excellent results, the Techno Girl programme can certainly lay claim to some of the school’s success. After all, it’s not only the participating girls who benefit from the opportunities. “When these girls get exposed to work shadowing in the holidays, they share their experiences with the other children at school,” said a smiling Parbhoo. “This motivates everyone – which is very positive.”

The Techno Girl programme is a is a collaboration between the Department for Women, Children and people with Disabilities, the public and private sectors and UNICEF.


 

 

New enhanced search