南非

儿童友好型学校帮助南非的年轻人创造更辉煌的未来

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF South Africa/2011/Delvigne-Jean
在林波波省的Magofe高中,Kgothatso (左)是GEM/BEM 社团的主席。他的同班同学Masai 是学生代表会的主席。

Thierry Delvigne-Jean 报道

南非 , 林波波省,2011 年 6 月 3 日  —— 该学校位于一条泥土路尽头的干草丛中。该学校的教室与附近的一个开阔庭院整齐地排成一排,在院子中几百名身着色彩鲜艳的校服的孩子在尽情地玩耍,不时发出喧闹的声音。

乍看,林波波省 Makgofe 高中与南非的大多数其他学校并无明显差异。但是在该所由砖和砂浆筑成的建筑物之后,您却可以看到该所学校令人印象深刻的转变。在过去的几年里,该学校一直比省内的大多数其他学校做得更好。

备受赞誉的教育

各种奖杯整齐地排列在校长办公室的窗台上,充分展现了该学校取得的各种成就。仅仅在几年的时间里,该学校就已从一所“备受批评的学校”,即为极端贫困、辍学率高且通过率低的孩子预留的一类学校,转变为省内最好的学校之一。这对该贫困的乡村社区来说是一个相当大的成就,因为那里的孩子面临着各种各样意想不到的困难。

该学校是儿童友好型学校计划的一部分,此计划在联合国儿童基金会和非政府组织(如连接社区发展组织)的支持下、由教育部实施。儿童友好型学校计划在南非以“安全和关爱儿童友好型学校”计划著称。

儿童友好型学校旨在通过提高生活技能、社区参与度以及健康和安全水平,从而帮助处于弱势地位的儿童增加学习机会、提高记忆力、完成学业并取得学习成就。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF South Africa/2011/Delvigne-Jean
“女孩和男孩教育活动”(GEM/BEM) 社团的成员们在南非Mathomomayo高中的同班同学面前表演滑稽短剧。儿童友好型学校赋予贫困地区的新一代学生受教育的权利,以帮助他们追求更辉煌的未来。

此外,学校还教授男孩和女孩们在应对日常成长危险(如少女怀孕和酒精滥用)时所需的知识并给予他们信心。

自 2008 年起,善于言辞且意志坚定的妇女 Abigail Setati 就一直担任学校的校长。“我们把所有人都看作家人,而且我们有着共同的目标。”她说道。该校共有 1000 多名学生和 33 名教师,她对学校的管理非常严格。

她非常清楚,让孩子们到学校上学并让他们一直呆在学校,这仅仅是挑战的一部分。为孩子们创造良好的学习和成长环境才是更具挑战性的事情。

在像 Makgofe 村庄这样的乡村社区,由于贫穷、步行上学的路途遥远以及教育资源的缺乏,使来自贫困家庭的孩子必须更加努力地学习才能实现他们的梦想。

“相亲相爱的大家庭”

17 岁的 Masai 是 Makgofe 高中学生代表会的主席,该代表会是一个监管学生事务的学生机构。他在几年前来到该学校。

“从我到学校的第一天起,我就知道这是一所与众不同的学校,”他说,“这所学校对我们来说就是一个大家庭。老师就像我们的父母,我们也将他们当做我们的父母。”

坐在 Masai 旁边的是 16 岁的 Kgothatso,女孩和男孩教育活动 (GEM/BEM) 学校社团的主席以及 11 年级的最高执行者。GEM/BEM 社团是儿童友好型学校计划的重要组成部分。他们帮助学生认识自身的潜力并使其得到充分发挥。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF South Africa/2011/Delvigne-Jean
Bridget 在Mathomomayo高中向她的同班同学介绍关于GEM/BEM 社团的情况。在确保学生可以参与学校事务方面,她一直都非常积极。

“该社团已在很多方面给予我帮助,让我对自己充满信心并保持乐观的心态,”Kgothatso 说道,“我们会考虑学校里的各种问题并提出各种方法来解决这些问题。”通过戏剧、诗歌和其他活动,学校社团的成员们(即大家所熟知的“gembemmers”)表现出了他们在面对逆境时所具有的主动精神和开拓精神。

“一些孩子告诉我‘如果我连吃饭问题都没解决,那么我该如何去上学呢?’”Kgothatso如是说,“因此,我们在学校后面开垦了一个菜园并种植蔬菜,以便为那些在家里不能吃饱的孩子提供食物。”

儿童友好型、整体教育方法

Setati女士说这种整体教育方法大放异彩,取得了良好的成绩。“我们学校教授孩子们的不仅仅是书本知识,”她解释道,“我们还教导他们正式课程中没有的知识,但是这些知识却是非常重要的,例如像如何相互问候与相互支持这样的社会技能。”

对于Setati女士而言,该计划的成功与否取决于是否采用了正确的方法。“我们通过学生会让学生参与到我们制定的每一项决策中来,因此,学生是此项计划取得进展的重要推动因素。”Setati 女士这样说,并在随后补充说道:“学校制定的每一项决策均旨在为孩子们创造有利的学习和生活环境。”

据负责监管林波波省计划执行情况的连接社区发展协调员Guy Bostock所说,该计划的另一股推动力量是儿童友好型学校计划可以适应每一所学校的需求。

“不同的学校关注的事情均会有所不同,这取决于他们所面临的具体问题,”他解释说道,“该方法有六项主要原则,但是学校会确定他们自己的优先改进重点。”自从 2004年儿童友好型学校计划开始实施以来,全国范围内已有超过800所学校加入了该计划。

学校规模的大小并不重要。在林波波省首府波罗克瓦尼附近的Mathomomayo高中仅有 350 名学生和 11 名老师,但是相同的成就感却是有目共睹的。18岁的 Bridget是Mathomomayo高中GEM/BEM社团的主席。她拥有坚定的意志和十足的信心。

激励他们的同龄人

在到达学校之后不久,她便在学校管理部门的支持下,聚集一组学生建立社团。“起初,一些学生嘲弄我,但是我并不在乎,”她回忆道,“我告诉他们,这是他们表达自己弱点的方式……现在我们都非常积极地参加学校各项活动。”

允许像Masai 和 Bridget 这样的学生自由表达自己的观点是儿童友好型学校教育方法的核心,因为当孩子们充分参与到学校的管理方法中时,他们就会成为自身改变的促变因素。


 

 

为了非洲的学校

搜索

South Africa

Child-friendly schools inspire a brighter future for South Africa's young people

By Thierry Delvigne-Jean

LIMPOPO PROVINCE, South Africa, 3 June 2011 – The school stands in the middle of dry grass at the end of a dirt road. Its classrooms are neatly aligned around an open courtyard where hundreds of children play noisily in their brightly-coloured uniforms.
At first glance, nothing distinguishes Makgofe high school in Limpopo province from most other schools in the country. But behind the bricks and mortar, the school has seen an impressive transformation. For the past couple of years, it has outperformed most other schools in the province.

VIDEO: Schools for Africa is a UNICEF international fundraising campaign that was created with partners in 2004. The initiative aims to provide millions of children a safe and proper environment in order to receive a quality education.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Award-winning education

The trophies neatly aligned on the windowsill in the principal’s office show the school’s progress. In just a few years the school has gone from being ‘critical’ – a category reserved for schools suffering from extreme levels of poverty, high dropout rates and low pass rates – to one of the best. This is no small achievement in this poor, rural community, where children face many odds.

The school is part of the child-friendly school initiative – known in South Africa as the ‘Safe and Caring Child-Friendly School’ programme – that is being implemented by the Department of Education, with support from UNICEF and non-governmental organisations such as Link Community Development.

Child-friendly schools aim to increase access, retention, completion and learning achievement for the most vulnerable children by promoting life skills, community participation, and health and safety.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF South Africa/2011/Delvigne-Jean
At Magofe high school in Limpopo province, Kgothatso (left) is the president of the GEM/BEM club. His classmate, Masai, is president of the Representative Council of Learners.

It’s also about equipping and empowering boys and girls with the knowledge and confidence they need to make their way through the daily perils of growing up – such as teenage pregnancy and alcohol abuse.

Abigail Setati, a soft-spoken and determined woman, has been the school’s principal since 2008.  “We see ourselves as one family, with a common goal,” she says. With more than 1000 students and 33 teachers, she runs a tight ship.

She is well aware that getting children to school and keeping them there is only half the challenge. Creating favourable conditions for children to learn and thrive has proven to be much more challenging.

In rural communities like Makgofe village, children from disadvantaged backgrounds have to work harder to achieve their dreams due to poverty, long walks to school and a lack of educational materials.

‘Like a family’

Masai, 17, is president of the Representative Council of Learners at Makgofe high school, the student body that oversees student affairs. He arrived at the school a couple of years ago.

“From the first day I arrived here, I knew this was a different school,” he says. “This school is like a family for us. Teachers are like our parents, we regard them as our parents.”

Sitting next to him is Kgothatso, 16, who is president of a Girls and Boys Education Movement (GEM/BEM) school club and the top performer in 11th grade. The GEM/BEM clubs are a key element of the child-friendly school programme. They help learners to recognise and make the most of their potential.

“The club has helped me to be positive about myself,” says Kgothatso. “We look at issues in the schools and we come up with ways to address these issues.” Using drama, poetry and other activities, the members of the school clubs – ‘gembemmers’ as they are known – show initiative and entrepreneurship in the face of adversity.

“Some children tell me ‘how am I going to go to school today if I have nothing in my stomach?’” says Kgothatso. “So we started a garden behind the school to help feed those who don’t have enough to eat at home.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF South Africa/2011/Delvigne-Jean
Bridget speaks to her classmates about the GEM/BEM club at Mathomomayo high school. She is very active in making sure students have a voice in school affairs.

Child-friendly, holistic approach

Ms. Setati says that this holistic approach to education has made the difference. “Our school goes beyond the curriculum,” she explains. “We teach them things that are not in the formal curriculum but that are important – social skills, for example, like how to greet and support each other.”

For Ms. Setati, the success of the programme is in its rights-based approach. “We involve learners – through the learners’ council – in every decision we make, so learners are part of the process,” she says, adding that every decision the school makes is designed to be child-friendly.

Another strength of the initiative, according to Guy Bostock, the Link Community Development coordinator who oversees the implementation of the programme in Limpopo, is that the child-friendly school programme can be adapted to each individual school’s needs.

“Different schools pick up on different things, depending on the specific issues they face,” he explains. “The approach has six main principles, but the schools identify their own priorities for improvement.” Since the child-friendly school programme began in 2004, over 800 schools have joined nation-wide.

And size does not matter. The same sense of accomplishment is visible at Mathomomayo high school – with its 350 learners and 11 teachers – near Limpopo’s provincial capital of Polokwane. Bridget, 18, is the president of the Mathomomayo high school’s GEM/BEM club. She exudes determination and confidence.

Inspiring their peers

Soon after arriving at the school, she gathered a group of students to set up the club, with support from the school management. “At first, some students made fun of me, but I didn’t care,” she recalls, ‘I told them it was their way of expressing their weakness… and now we are very active in school activities.”

Empowering and giving a voice to learners like Masai and Bridget is at the core of the child-friendly school approach because when children are involved in the way their school is managed, they become agents of change themselves.


 

 

Schools For Africa

Child-Friendly Schools

Learn more about Child-Friendly Schools (CFS) and quality education

New enhanced search