基里巴斯共和国

太平洋岛国基里巴斯的青少年积极关注气候变化

“2011 年世界儿童状况报告 — 青春期:一个充满机遇的年龄段”,这是联合国儿童基金会新发布的一篇代表性报告,其核心内容是关于全世界年龄在 10 至 19 岁之间的十几亿青少年的成长与权力问题。报告中包含系列报道、文章及多媒体文件,旨在促进和提高青少年应对贫穷、不平等及性别歧视的能力。本文即报道之一。

托马斯.延森报道

基里巴斯塔拉瓦,2011 年 3 月 4 日 - 太平洋中部岛国基里巴斯的青少年正在遭遇一场灾难。这场灾难正在缓慢地蚕食着他们的家园和文化。

视频:联合国儿童基金会报道太平洋岛国基里巴斯的青少年日益关注气候变化带来的影响。  在Realplayer中播放

 

他们的国家是一个美丽的珊瑚岛国,但由于国土地势低,而海平面越来越高,海浪日夜不停地拍打着这个岛国,使得本来就稀缺的淡水和耕地资源雪上加霜。越来越频繁的干旱威胁着他们的生活,吞噬着他们的资金,他们不得不把本来应该用于教育、医疗保健、交通、和通信基础设施的经费用来应对气候变化带来的负面影响。

解决环境问题

气候变化对很多人来说只是在媒体上看到过,但是从没有亲身经历。对基里巴斯的青少年来说,气候变化带来的灾难性的影响虽然缓慢,却真真切切,触目惊心。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
上升的海平面给太平洋上的小岛国基里巴斯带来严重威胁。

基里巴斯由 32 个珊瑚岛屿和一个岛构成,拥有 10 万居民,处于气候变化首当其冲的位置。

一些青少年团体长期活跃在他们的同龄人和社区中,积极地宣传气候变化的影响,并提出了一些应对策略。基里巴斯的温室气体排放只占全球温室气体排放总量微不足道的一小部分,所以,他们能否应对气候变化带来的问题,却完全取决于全世界的共同努力。

迫在眉睫

这个岛国青少年的声音出现在了基里巴斯共和国总统汤安诺 (Anote Tong) 阁下的报告《2011 年世界儿童状况报告》中。联合国儿童基金会是基里巴斯及其他发展中小岛国家青少年忠实的长期合作伙伴,并支持他们参与到全球气候变化的讨论及决策过程。

 

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/Kiribati/2011/Pirozzi
太平洋小岛国基里巴斯的青少年正在经历气候变化的影响。

基里巴斯青少年及基里巴斯总统传达的信息毋庸置疑,而且与地球上的每个人息息相关。全球气候变化正吞噬着青少年的未来,威胁到他们的身心发展。每一个家庭、每一个社区、每一个政府都应该立即行动起来,解决气候变化及其影响。


 

 

搜索

Kiribati

Young people raise awareness about climate change in the Pacific atoll nation of Kiribati

‘The State of the World’s Children 2011 – Adolescence: An Age of Opportunity,’ UNICEF’s new flagship report, focuses on the development and rights of more than a billion children aged 10 to 19 worldwide. This series of stories, essays and multimedia features seeks to accelerate and elevate adolescents’ fight against poverty, inequality and gender discrimination. Here is one of the stories.

By Tomas Jensen

TARAWA, Kiribati, 4 March 2011 – In the middle of the Pacific Ocean, the young people of Kiribati are experiencing a disaster that is slowly and steadily eroding their culture and home.

VIDEO: UNICEF reports on adolescents in the Pacific atoll nation of Kiribati raising awareness about the impact of climate change.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Their nation’s beautiful, low-lying atolls are pounded day and night by rising sea levels, which crowd in on scarce supplies of fresh water and limited patches of fertile land. Their lives are challenged by ever more frequent droughts, as well as diversions of funding away from the education, health, transportation and communications infrastructure to deal with the adverse effects of climate change.

Solving environmental problems

To the adolescents of Kiribati, the impact of this slow disaster – a topic often encountered in the media but not experienced directly by many around the world – is already frightening and real.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
A rising sea level poses a serious threat to the small Pacific atoll nation of Kiribati.

Kiribati, a country made up of 32 atolls and an island, and home to a population of about 100,000 people, is on the front line of climate change.

Groups of adolescents have long been active here in informing their peers and communities about climate change and coming up with solutions to mitigate the impact. With a marginal contribution to global emissions, Kiribati is, however fully dependant on global and collective solutions to global environmental problems.

Urgent action needed

The voice of adolescents from the atoll nation is echoed in the ‘The State of the World’s Children 2011,’ in an article by His Excellency Anote Tong, President of the Republic of Kiribati. And UNICEF is a committed long-term partner to the girls and boys of Kiribati and other Small Developing Islands States, supporting their participation in the global climate-change debate and decision-making process.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pacific/2011/Jensen
Youths in Kiribati are experiencing the effects of climate change.

Their message, and that of their president, is clear and relevant to everyone on the planet: Climate change is eating away our adolescents’ future and placing their physical and mental development at risk. Urgent action is required from every family, community and government to address climate change and its consequences.


 

 

New enhanced search