青少年

联合国儿童基金会和青年:为“适合儿童生存的世界”通力合作

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/HQ07-1923/ Markisz
2007年12月青年代表参在联合国儿童基金会总部大楼出席儿童论坛的开幕式。

艾米.贝内特报道

美国纽约,2008年1月15日。2007年是联合国“适合儿童生存的世界”行动计划5周年纪念 — 由世界领导人承诺的保护和促进儿童的权利。也是联合国儿童基金会进一步扩大在加强儿童的权利,倾听他们的呼声方面所取得的成就的一年。

12月,“适合儿童生存的世界5周年” — 2002年联大儿童问题特别会议的后续会议 — 来自50多个国家的90多位青年人,作为各自国家政府和非政府组织的代表齐聚一堂。来自各国的儿童代表有机会在纽约联合国总部发言并出席圆桌讨论会。

“我很高兴,至少我们谈论了使我们激情澎湃的事情,”来自博茨瓦纳的青年代表盖拉雷桑.麻窦哈嘎说。“为了实现给儿童一个更加美好的世界这一目标,我们来到这里。”

个人历史记录的展开

在联合国会议期间,联合国儿童基金会征询儿童对他们生存的世界和对联合国儿童基金会的工作的看法的意见,该组织不懈努力使青年人参与明确自己的特殊需求的活动。

我们的故事’,一个新启动的在线记录活动,记录了数十位青年代表的想法和观点。这个项目由联合国儿童基金会和谷歌公司、每个儿童一台笔记本电脑组织共同合作,记述纽约青年的感想、他们创作的歌曲、家庭的故事、世界领导人的消息。许多儿童用本民族的语言为家乡的听众记录故事,有些人采访其他民族的代表。

“分享的做法让我们建构了常常被我们遗忘的、必要的人类联系,”前儿童兵,畅销传记《漫漫长路》的作者伊斯梅尔.比亚说。“我生命中最有意义的改变之一是讲述我自己的故事给他人提供帮助。”

通过确定每个儿童自己祖国的故事,联合国儿童基金会希望帮助年轻人描绘全球的景象和每天在世界发生的不同人的个人历史图像。

讲出自己的想法,付诸实践

通过联合国儿童基金会,年轻人有机会和来自不同国家的同伴交流他们想法。例如,联合国儿童基金会的青年之声计划,为年轻人提供了一个安全和可靠的全球网络空间,在这里他们探讨对他们来说很重要的问题,对人权和社会变革展开讨论并付诸实践。

与此相关的倡议——青年之声“数码日记”要求以第一人称的方式,记录世界各地年轻人的生活。联合国儿童基金会支持的 国际儿童广播日 (ICDB) 与年轻人和广播电视工作者共同合作,每年的国际儿童广播日奖表彰在媒体领域对青年活动作出贡献的广播电视工作者。

如此多的儿童参与方式,使联合国儿童基金会不仅是一个提供人道主义援助和给年轻人发展提供帮助的组织,而且是融汇思想,对世界充满关注的组织。像来自德国的青年代表玛丽亚.布莱茉在上个月联大发言中指出:“我们不是问题的来源,我们是解决问题的资源。”


 

 

视频(英文)

2008年1月:
联合国儿童基金会青年记者索尼.鲁科胡报道了上个月“适合儿童生存的世界5周年”论坛和年轻人在联合国大会上发言的经历。

艾米.贝内特和马修.维斯制作。


 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

青年之声

国际儿童广播电视日

搜索

Adolescents and youth

UNICEF and youth: Working together for 'A World Fit for Children'

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HQ07-1923/ Markisz
Youth delegates attending the first day of the Children’s Forum at UNICEF House in December 2007.

By Amy Bennett

NEW YORK, USA, 15 January 2008 – The year 2007 marked the five-year anniversary celebration of the UN plan of action, ‘A World Fit For Children’ – a commitment by world leaders to protect and promote child rights. It was also in year in which UNICEF further expanded its efforts to empower children and let their voices be heard.

In December, ‘A World Fit For Children Plus 5’ – the follow-up meeting to the 2002 UN General Assembly Special Session on Children – gathered together more than 90 youth participants from over 50 countries to act as representatives of their respective governments and non-governmental organizations. Child delegates from many countries got the chance to speak at United Nations headquarters in New York City and attend roundtable events.

“I’m happy because at least we’re going to talk about something that we all feel passionate about,” said Galaletsang Matlhaga, a youth delegate from Botswana. “We are here to achieve a goal that is to get a better world for children.”

Personal histories unfolding

During the UN meeting, UNICEF asked children to voice their opinions about the world they live in and the work UNICEF is doing, as the organization continues working to get young people involved in identifying their own unique needs.

Our Stories’, a newly launched online archive, documented the thoughts and opinions of dozens of these youth delegates. The project, which is supported by UNICEF in partnership with Google and One Laptop Per Child, chronicled the youths’ impressions of New York, songs they composed, stories of home and messages to world leaders. Many children recorded stories in their native languages for audiences at home, while others interviewed fellow delegates from other nations.

“The act of sharing allows us to form that necessary human connection that is often missing,” said former child soldier and author of the best-selling memoir, ‘A Long Way Gone’, Ishmael Beah. “One of the most significant changes in my life has been the ability to tell my story for the benefit of others.”

By identifying each child’s story with his or her home country, UNICEF hopes to help young people visualize the global landscape and imagine the multitude of personal histories unfolding worldwide each day.

Speaking out and taking action

Through UNICEF, young people have the opportunity to take part in sharing ideas with their peers from many different countries. UNICEF’s Voices of Youth programme, for example, offers a safe and supportive global cyberspace within which they can explore issues important to them, and discuss and take action on human rights and social change.

In a related initiative, the Voices of Youth Digital Diaries provide first-person accounts of the lives of young people around the world. And the UNICEF-supported International Children’s Day of Broadcasting (ICDB) partners young people with broadcasters, while the yearly ICDB Awards recognize broadcasters for their dedication to youth participation in media.

With so many ways for children to get involved, UNICEF becomes not just an organization that provides humanitarian and development assistance to young people, but one that incorporates their ideas and concerns about their world. As Marian Brehmer, a youth delegate from Germany, told the UN General Assembly last month: “We are not the source of the problems, we are the resources that are needed to solve them.”


 

 

Video

January 2008:
UNICEF youth reporter Sonny Loorkhoor reports on last month's 'World Fit For Children Plus 5' forum and the experiences of young people who addressed the UN General Assembly.

Produced by Amy Bennett.


 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

Voices of Youth

New enhanced search