阿富汗

阿富汗偏远山区,“青少年信息联络中心”赋予年轻人更多的权利

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2010/Froutan
15岁的卡梅拉经过8个小时的长途跋涉来到阿富汗戴孔迪省省会尼里参加联合国儿童基金会支持的青年培训项目。

阿齐兹.弗洛坦报道

阿富汗戴孔迪省,2010年8月19日 - 15岁的卡梅拉住在阿富汗戴孔迪省沙赫雷斯塔地区,戴孔迪省是该国中部地区的偏远山区。卡梅拉从未出过这样的远门,她长途跋涉8个小时,坐车步行来到省会尼里,参加一个创新型的青年培训项目。

说起由联合国儿童基金会支持并由尼里市青少年信息联络中心(YICC)组织的社会心理咨询培训项目,卡梅拉说:“得知有培训项目时,我很兴奋。”

新机遇

戴孔迪省常年来一直处于边缘位置,国际和国内非政府机构干预较少,因此成为联合国儿童基金会的首选。该地区的社会经济条件很差,尤其影响到妇女和儿童的生活。然而,该地区却是阿富汗为数不多的社区承诺和参与都十分积极的安全地区。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2010/Beard
阿富汗戴孔迪省省会尼里,孩子们在联合国儿童基金会支持的培训项目中讨论性别暴力、有用的技能和一些其他问题。

在尼里开展的为期四天的社会心理咨询培训项目由联合国儿童基金会资助,并受到联合国人口基金的技术支持,共有约30名青少年参加该项目。他们讨论普遍的社会心理问题,为家庭纠纷和性别暴力接受咨询,并学习有用的技能。

这同样也为卡梅拉提供了一个与同龄人交流的机会。
 
19岁的贾姆鲁丁说:“在YICC建立以前,我们什么机会也没有。很多年轻人沉溺于毒品,也没有工作。他们应该找个工作,但是戴孔迪没有任何机遇。”

处在社会边缘的青少年

阿富汗的人口中年龄小于25岁的儿童和青少年所占比例超过65%。但是他们却被剥夺了权利,没有接受教育和被雇佣的机会,几乎不能参与社区、省市或国家的任何决策活动。

青少年部门主任曼苏尔.古拉米(Mansour Ghulami)说:“这里没有网络俱乐部,没有体育俱乐部,也没有图书馆。因此,要想激发青少年中心的活力,还需要一定的时间,但是我们正在慢慢地进步,希望我们能通过付出来改善状况。”

“青少年信息联络中心”自2008年9月开放以来,已经有80名青少年完成了4个月的计算机课程,350名青少年完成了中级英语课程。YICC还为偏远地区的青少年建立了联盟,让他们能够相互交流。在联盟的活动中,男孩和女孩们一起讨论他们的需求和问题,并寻求解决方案。

实质性的进展

戴孔迪省有约50万人民的生活极端贫困,绝大多数18岁以下儿童在农场或牧场工作,每日挣得微波的收入来贴补家用。

联合国儿童基金会支持的“青少年信息联络中心”旨在赋予年轻人更多的权利,让他们能为自己的生活作出明智且负责任的决定。他们通过在轻松、鼓励性和互动的环境中让青少年快速、方便地掌握到大量信息,帮助青少年利用机遇,发展自己的技能和潜力,解决日常生活中的问题,从而积极地参与到社会生活中来。

18岁的赛迪加.沙里菲第一次来到尼里的YICC,感到非常兴奋,她说:“如果我们的家乡也有这样的青少年中心,家长们一定会带孩子过来的。”

YICC的工作取得的另一大进展是向来代表性不强的青年女孩成员人数增多了。

贾姆鲁丁回忆到:“刚开始时,这个中心里只有10个女孩,现在大约300名女孩都是成员了,这真的是个很大的进步。”


 

 

搜索

Afghanistan

In remote Afghan mountains, Youth Information and Contact Centre empowers youth

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2010/Froutan
Kamela, 15, traveled some eight hours to Nili, the provincial capital of Afghanistan’s Daikundi province, to attend a UNICEF-supported youth training.

By Aziz Froutan

DAIKUNDI PROVINCE, Afghanistan, 19 August 2010 - Kamela, 15, lives in the Shahristan district of Afghanistan’s Daikundi province – a remote mountain area of the country’s central region. In an unprecedented journey, she recently travelled eight hours on foot and by car to reach Nili, the provincial capital, to participate in an innovative training session for young people.

“I was very excited when I heard about the training,” said Kamela, referring to a UNICEF-supported Psycho-social Counseling Training, which was organized by the Youth Information and Contact Center (YICC) in Nili.

New opportunities

Daikundi is a priority area for UNICEF, as it has been marginalized for many years and does not have strong international or national non-governmental presence. The socio-economic indicators for the area are poor, especially those affecting the women and children. However, it is one of the few safe areas in Afghanistan with strong community commitment and participation.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2010/Beard
Boys and girls discuss gender violence, useful skills and other issues during a UNICEF-supported training in Nili, the provincial capital of Afghanistan’s Daikundi province.

The four-day Psycho-social Counseling Training workshop in Nili is funded by UNICEF with technical support from the United Nations Population Fund. About 30 girls and boys are attending. During this workshop, young people discuss common psycho-social problems, receive counselling for family conflict and gender violence and learn useful support skills.

It is also a unique opportunity for Kamela to interact with girls and boys her age.
 
“Before the YICC was established there was nothing for us,” said Jamludin, 19. “Many young people are addicted to drugs. Take a look around – most young people are jobless. They should have a job or an occupation. But there are no opportunities in Daikundi.”

Marginalized youth

Afghanistan’s children and youth under the age of 25 comprise more than 65 per cent of its population. Yet young people are generally disenfranchised, lack educational and employment opportunities and rarely participate in decision-making at the community, provincial, or national level.

“There are no internet clubs, no sport clubs, and no official library,” said Youth Department Director Mansour Ghulami. “It took a while to activate this youth centre, but we are slowly progressing, and I hope we can do more to improve the situation.”

Since the opening of the YICC in September 2008, 80 young people have completed a four-month-long computer course and 350 have completed a course in intermediate English. The YICC has also established federations for youth in remote areas in order to facilitate the discussion between young people. In these federations, boys and girls gather to talk about their needs and problems and try to find solutions.

Tangible progress

Most of Daikundi’s population of about 500,000 live in extreme poverty, and the vast majority of children under 18 work in farming or shepherding for a low daily wage to supplement the income of their families.

UNICEF-supported Youth Information and Contact Centres aim to empower young people to make informed and responsible decisions about their lives. By providing fast and easy access to a wide range of information in an informal, supportive and interactive environment, they enable young people to take advantage of opportunities, develop their skills and abilities, solve their daily problems and actively participate in society.

“If these youth centres existed in our [home] district, parents would bring their children,” said Sediqa Sharifi, 18. She is excited about her first visit to the YICC in Nili.

And not least of the strides made by the YICC is the growing membership of a particularly under-represented youth group: girls.

“There were only 10 girls in this centre in the beginning,” recalled Jamuldin. “But now around 300 girls are members. This is a real progress.”


 

 

New enhanced search