关于联合国儿童基金会

联合国儿童基金会获顶级创新发展机构殊荣

UNICEF Photo
© Map Kibera & UNICEF Kenya/2010/Goldstein
22岁的里吉娜.艾维诺(Regynnah Awino)是她所在社区的数字地图的标示负责人, 这是联合国儿童基金会在肯尼亚首都内罗毕地区发起的数字地图项目的一部分。

美国纽约,2011年4月18日 —— 联合国儿童基金会被一家面向国际发展领域的从业者及救援人员的网站Devex评为领先的创新国际发展机构。

联合国儿童基金会是40家获得该殊荣的机构之一,该评选共涉及四种国际发展机构:捐赠机构及基金会,宣传机构,咨询公司以及非政府组织。评选建立于Devex数千名用户的投票基础之上。

独特的倡议

Devex已经成为了国际发展领域的商务、职业及新闻中心。该机构的座右铭:“行善,行好善”可以从其杰出的50多万救援人员、发展领域职业人的会员群体中体现,这也是世界上规模最大的专门针对该领域的网络。

联合国儿童基金会的创新历史源远流长,因其在手机运用、数字地图、联合全世界的学生等领域的出色贡献而获此殊荣。

针对急剧增加的手机用户,联合国儿童基金会开发了“即时短信”(RapidSMS),一个用于数据收集、物流协调以及信息沟通的开源系统。它能够让最基本的手机通过互联网互动。“即时短信”(RapidSMS) 系统目前正在卢旺达被用于减少新生儿和产妇死亡率。

“创新的社交和民用媒体运用既是至关重要的工具,也是催化剂。” 联合国儿童基金会青年办主任格里特.博格(Gerrit Beger)说,“通过手机和互联网来联络正在史无前例地普及中,不断让更多最受剥削压迫、从而与外界失去联系的人群获取信息,参与到为他们自己以及他们的社区创造积极的变化的进程中。”

去年,联合国儿童基金会与“开放街道地图”的基贝拉地区地图合作,在肯尼亚首都内罗毕地区的基贝拉贫民窟推出了一个青年导向的数字地图试点方案,旨在帮助年轻人,尤其是年轻女性及女童,通过使用该工具识别与健康和个人安全相关的风险和漏洞。数字地图不但帮助社区居民指出危险区域,而且也提高了对艾滋病及艾滋病病毒高发区域的警觉意识。

教育创新

“连接教室”项目是一项旨在将发展中国家学生和工业世界联系起来、针对共同面对的问题加强合作的教育创新。 参与项目学校的学生和老师 使用为集体互动和团队合作而设计的网络平台。

教学大纲是针对鼓励讨论、支持积极的、关于影响青年人的国际议题的对话而设计的,促进学校内及跨越国界的小组合作。该项目使教师们能够了解到建立在小组合作和青年新闻学基础上的最新教学方法。

特别荣誉

今年Devex 40家领先的创新国际发展机构还包括“拯救儿童”(Save the Children)、大赦国际(Amnesty International)、人权观察组织(Human Rights Watch)、绿色和平(Greenpeace)以及比尔及梅琳达基金会(Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation)等。

Devex 将于4月21日在华盛顿的瑞典大使馆为联合国儿童基金会及其它获得该殊荣的机构颁奖。英特尔公司的战略总监克里斯.托马斯(Chris Thomas)以及白宫的社会创新和公民参与办公室主任桑那.萨哈即将作为演讲嘉宾。

 


 

 
搜索

About UNICEF: Who we are

UNICEF honoured as a top innovative development organization

UNICEF Image
© Map Kibera & UNICEF Kenya/2010/Goldstein
Regynnah Awino, 22, is lead community mapper for the Kibera digital mapping project in Kenya, one of the innovative initiatives in which UNICEF is participating.

NEW YORK, USA, 18 April 2011 – UNICEF has been named as a leading innovative international development organization by Devex, a global hub for international development professionals and aid workers.

UNICEF was one of 40 organizations to receive this distinguished honour, which recognizes four different types of international development organizations: donor agencies and foundations, advocacy groups, consulting companies and non-governmental organizations. The selection was based on a poll of thousands of Devex members.

Unique initiatives

Devex has become a clearing house for international development business, careers and news. The organization’s motto – ‘Do Good. Do It Well’ – is reflected in its distinguished member community of more than 500,000 aid workers and development professionals, making it one of the largest such networks in the world.

With its rich history of innovation, UNICEF is being honoured for its distinct contribution in several areas including mobile phone use, digital mapping and connecting students around the world.

In response to the sharp increase in cell phone usage, UNICEF developed RapidSMS, an open-source framework for data collection, logistics coordination and communication. It allows even the most basic mobile phones to interact with the web. RapidSMS is currently being used in Rwanda to reduce neonatal and maternal mortality.

“Innovative social and civic media initiatives can be both an important tool and a catalyst,” said Gerrit Beger, Chief of UNICEF’s Youth Section. “Connectivity through mobile phones as well as the internet is ever expanding, increasingly allowing even the most deprived and thus far disconnected to get informed, engaged and participate in creating positive change for themselves and their communities.”

Last year, together with OpenStreetMap’s Map Kibera, UNICEF launched a youth-led digital mapping pilot programme in the Kibera slum in Nairobi, Kenya. The aim was to help young people, especially young women and girls, who used the tool to identify and map risks and vulnerabilities related to their health and protection. The mapping not only helped community members pinpoint dangerous areas, but it also raised awareness and advocacy related to the prevalence of HIV/AIDS.

Educational innovation

The Connecting Classrooms initiative is an educational innovation that was designed to bring together students from the developing and industrialized worlds in order to collaborate on common concerns.  Students and teachers in participating schools used an online platform designed for group interaction and collaborative work.

The curriculum was designed to encourage discussion, support active dialogue about global issues affecting young people, and promote small group work within schools and between different countries. The programme familiarizes teachers with cutting edge methodologies based around group work and youth journalism.

Distinguished honourees

This year’s Devex Top 40 Development Innovators also include organizations such as Save the Children, Amnesty International, Human Rights Watch, Greenpeace and Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Devex will be recognizing UNICEF and fellow honourees at a reception at the House of Sweden in Washington, DC on 21 April. Chris Thomas, Chief Strategist at Intel, and Sonal Shah, White House Director of Social Innovation, will feature as speakers.


 

 

New enhanced search