关于联合国儿童基金会

联合国儿童基金会第六任执行主任安东尼.雷克带来丰富而宝贵的经验

为儿童工作

UNICEF Photo
© UN Photo/2010/Schneider
在联合国纽约总部,联合国秘书长潘基文为联合国儿童基金会执行主任主持就职仪式。新任执行主任一只手放在联合国宪章上宣誓就职。

美国纽约,2010年5月1日 – 安东尼.雷克(Anthony Lake)今日正式就任联合国儿童基金会第六任执行主任,他将在联合国儿童基金会60余年来为倡导维护儿童权利而打下的坚实基础上精益求精,并融入他自身丰富的国际经验。

联合国秘书长潘基文任命雷克为联合国儿童基金会执行主任,并称雷克的职业生涯为“长期在美国政府工作,表现卓越”。雷克一直致力于外交政策、国家安全和人权问题等多方面的工作。他将接替自2005年5月起担任执行主任职务的安.维尼曼。

数十年的职业经验

这位新任联合国儿童基金会执行主任有着五十年辉煌的职业生涯。1962年,他开始在美国国务院担任外交事务官员。2008年,在巴拉克.奥巴马(Barack Obama)总统竞选期间,雷克担任其高级外交政策顾问。在克林顿和卡特执政期间,雷克一直担任政府的高层职位。他曾任总统特使,前往海地、埃塞俄比亚和厄立特里亚;并在调整政策以维护波斯尼亚和黑塞哥维那、北爱尔兰以及其他热点地区的和平与稳定等方面,发挥了极其重要的作用。

雷克的构建和平承诺,预示着他将采取一切措施,以解决困扰世界儿童的问题,尤其是那些生活在冲突地带的贫苦而又恐惧的数百万儿童的问题。

雷克说:“和平和安全是构建适合儿童生存的世界的基础。战争不仅伤害儿童,而且传播疾病、削弱经济。说到底,真正的和平不应该是纸上谈兵,而是要让儿童过上稳定而健康的生活。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0696/Markisz
安东尼.雷克是联合国儿童基金会的第六任执行主任。

支持发展目标

尽管雷克在政府就职多年,但他非常清楚全球发展问题的复杂性。自20世纪70年代,他就开始参与非政府部门的工作,当时他负责指导“国际志愿服务”组织的工作,期间领导了这个“私营和平组织”的工作。他同时还兼任“救助儿童会”组织和“海外发展理事会” 的董事、国际红十字会委员会的国际顾问以及“马歇尔遗产学院( Marshall Legacy Institute)”的院长。

基于这种职业背景,雷克能够大力支持“千年发展目标”——即在2015年前实现改善人类发展目标的国际协议,也就不足为奇了。

正如关注和平问题一样,雷克决心努力实现的发展目标,体现了他对联合国儿童基金会未来工作的远见卓识。巧合的是,从现在到实现千年发展目标的五年时间正是这位执行主任的第一个五年任期。

雷克说:“千年发展目标的核心是为世界上最弱势的儿童提供更好的机会,并充分发挥他们的潜力。要在2015年前实现既定的千年发展目标,我们当下有很多紧迫的工作要做。我相信我们能够做到。”

与联合国儿童基金会的长期关系

尽管雷克新接任联合国儿童基金会的工作,但他与儿基会有着长期的工作关系。1993年,他与联合国儿童基金会第三任执行主任詹姆斯.格兰特(James P. Grant)合作,在白宫介绍联合国儿童基金会的旗舰出版物《世界儿童状况报告》。后来,他又担任联合国儿童基金会美国基金执行董事会的成员和主席。美国基金会是联合国儿童基金会的36个国家委员会之一,他们通过在工业化国家筹款、倡议和教育来支持儿基会的工作。

作为美国基金会的一名董事会成员,雷克参与了一些代表团实地考察联合国儿童基金会的项目。他曾前往斯威士兰,当时儿基会正在与合作伙伴致力于降低那里的艾滋病毒高流行率。美国基金会代表团慰问了一些父母死于艾滋病的孤儿,其中很多家庭只剩下年少的兄弟姐妹相依为命,或在农场单独生活。

在执行访问任务期间,雷克在美国基金会的官方网站上发布了他拍摄的照片,展示他所遇见的年轻人所具有的适应能力。

他对照片评论说:“我们很钦佩护理人员及联合国儿童基金会工作人员所做的努力,但最让我们受鼓舞的是孩子们。”雷克深受感动,他说斯威士兰的孤儿展现了“巨大的勇气和非凡的能力来应对不寻常的外部环境。

秉承雷克先生大力赞扬的斯威士兰的孤儿所展现出的勇气和希望,联合国儿童基金会欢迎他的就职,希望他在积极应对未来各种挑战的工作中,把儿童工作放在优先的地位。


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会第六任执行主任安东尼.莱克在联合国秘书长潘基文面前宣誓就职。
 视频  |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

About UNICEF: Who we are

Anthony Lake, sworn in as Executive Director, brings a wealth of experience to UNICEF

An agenda for children

UNICEF Image
© UN Photo/2010/Schneider
At United Nations headquarters in New York, UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon officiates as UNICEF Executive Director is sworn in, taking his oath of office with one hand on the UN Charter.

NEW YORK, USA, 3 May 2010 – As Anthony Lake assumes his new role as UNICEF's sixth Executive Director, he builds upon a solid foundation formed by the organization's 60-plus years of child-rights advocacy, as well as his own wealth of international experience.

Appointed by UN Secretary General Ban Ki-moon following what Mr. Ban called "a long and distinguished career with the United States Government," Mr. Lake has worked on a wide range of foreign policy, national security and humanitarian issues.

During a ceremony this morning at UN headquarters in New York, Mr. Lake was sworn into office by Mr. Ban. He succeeds Ann M. Veneman, who had served as Executive Director since May 2005.

Decades of service

The new UNICEF chief's accomplishments span five vigorous decades. In 1962, he started out as a Foreign Service Officer with the US State Department. In 2008, he was a senior foreign policy advisor to Barack Obama's presidential campaign. In the intervening years, he held high-level posts in the Clinton and Carter administrations; was a presidential envoy to Haiti, Ethiopia and Eritrea; and played a key part in shaping policies that led to peace in Bosnia-Herzegovina and Northern Ireland, among other hotspots.

His commitment to peace-building informs Mr. Lake's approach to the problems facing the world's children – especially the millions who live, often in poverty and fear, in zones of conflict.

"Peace and security are the foundation of a world fit for children," he said. "Wars not only kill children, they breed disease and destroy economic hope. And in the end, real peace is not found in a piece of diplomatic paper. It is found in the secure and healthy lives of girls and boys."

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0696/Markisz
Anthony Lake is UNICEF's sixth Executive Director.

Support for development goals

Even beyond his long record of government service, Mr. Lake is well-versed in the intricacies of global development. His involvement in the non-governmental sector began in the 1970s, when he directed International Voluntary Services, a 'private Peace Corps' operating in impoverished communities. He has also served on the boards of Save the Children and the Overseas Development Council, as an adviser to the International Committee of the Red Cross and as Chair of the Marshall Legacy Institute.

Against this backdrop, his strong support for the Millennium Development Goals – the internationally agreed improvements in human development that are meant to be reached by 2015 – comes as no surprise.

Like his emphasis on peace, Mr. Lake's determination to help achieve the development goals is integral to his vision for UNICEF's immediate future. Fittingly, the period between now and the MDG target date coincides with the Executive Director's initial five-year term.

"At their heart, the Millennium Development goals are about giving the world's most vulnerable children a better chance to reach their full potential," he said. "We've got a lot of urgent work ahead, leading up to, and beyond, the 2015 MDG targets we've set for ourselves. And I believe we can do it."

Long-standing UNICEF ties

Although he is new to the helm at UNICEF, Mr. Lake's ties with its work are long-standing. In 1993, he collaborated with UNICEF's third Executive Director, James P. Grant, on the White House launch of the flagship publication, 'The State of the World's Children'. He later served as an active Executive Board member and Chair at the US Fund for UNICEF – one of 36 national committees that support the organization through fundraising, advocacy and education in industrialized countries.

As a US Fund board member, Mr. Lake embarked on several missions to observe UNICEF's programmes in the field. One trip took him to Swaziland, where UNICEF was working with its partners to address the impact of a tragically high HIV-prevalence rate. The US Fund delegation met children and adolescents who had been orphaned by AIDS; many were heading households composed of younger siblings, or living alone, on their family homesteads.

During the mission, Mr. Lake sent the US Fund website a slideshow  of photographs depicting the resilience of the young people he encountered.

"We were inspired by the caregivers and inspired by the works of the UNICEF staff," he said in his commentary on the images. "But most of all, we were encouraged still more by the children." Clearly moved, he added that the Swazi orphans showed "tremendous courage and an extraordinary ability to cope with these extraordinary circumstances."

UNICEF welcomes its new Executive Director in the spirit of courage and hope that he honoured in Swaziland, placing an agenda for children front and centre in our responses to the extraordinary challenges ahead.


 

 

Video

3 May 2010: UNICEF's sixth Executive Director, Anthony Lake, is sworn into office by UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search